BBI Politics, objectively

Masgwembe

So it's tribal when I talk about my own interests? What is wrong with being a Kikuyu? Why are other ethnic groups "allowed to be tribes" but it's a taboo to be Kikuyus and push for own interests?
Being Kikuyu means nothing to me. It just imparts an association and even more political baggage. Besides, we should be looking at national interests and not some puny tribal interest.

Montecarlo

Marginalisation needs a whole convention to interrogate and correct

@Clemens , zero in further you will find that marginalisation is more than a regional or ethnic issue, it is a class issue, the poor are cannon fodder for our crony capitalistic system. The poor of Central Kenya are targets just like those in West Pokot or Migori

View attachment 30494

Today's front-page offers a perfect illustration:

MCAs who by virtue of their central role in making BBI pass have become cronies of the ruling elite are (in an impulsive move) granted a car grant, that in the backdrop of looming higher taxation and job cuts, so who takes the hit? The poor whose children have to bear with understaffed and under-equipped schools, now that is marginalisation

The poor of Kenya are the most marginalised regardless of ethnicity or the region they hail from or reside in, think of the insecurity in Mathare yet right across the road in Muthaiga you have security tighter than any puthy you have ravaged!

We would all be better off if we attacked poverty rather than marginalisation which is quite easy to mask, let us have pro-poor initiatives and laws instead
To attack poverty you much end the current governance system and by system I mean both the human resource and the infrastructure...what you have written is common knowledged (I mean this in a good way) but people with a limited ability to assess situations will think its a brand new idea. Infact were it not that Ruto is insincere in his hustler - dynasty ideology, he would actually by now have most of the country behind him...but he doesn't want to severe his economic and social ties with the earlier thieving class...he wants acceptance from them...

Pamba 1

1. It does not address any of ordinary Kenyans problems, on the ground what needs major corrective surgery is the Economy, Healthcare, education and the Police

You talk of Mt. Kenya getting more constituencies, trust me we do not need them, we need a Cancer Centre and a national referral hospital not more MPs

2. Inclusion BBI style is a disaster, we cannot go back to having a President with top positions to dish out (PM, DPMs, CS slots for sitting MPs) and consolidate incredible political power, we are courting disaster with that new-look executive

3. We need fewer constituencies or maintain the current ones, there is no value in having more, and please do not mention more CDF getting to the ground because that money shouldn't even be in MPs custody, CDF is nothing but a cash cow for MPs

4. Ward Fund is nonsense, the county assembly should be able to oversee fair governance by the county governments with each ward benefitting without some fund to guarantee it

5. Who knows if 35% is sufficient to run counties? What if it is excessive? I say let us cost devolved functions and send money based on need not just throwing figures around, it is a proper dumb move.

6. The absolute disaster that awaits us after BBI is government machinery being used to amend the Constitution, a Raila Odinga or Mudavadi or Joho adminstration will launch another initiative that favours their people the same way BBI purportedly favours Central Kenya, at some point we will have our version of Pombe and senseless amendments will be floated, finally someone will propose abolishing of term limits and insert a "President for life" clause, with BBI having granted them unprecedented political power it will be a slumdunk and we will have gone back to dictatorship, is that your wish? Is that the nation you want your grandchildren to inherit?

BBI is not good for Kenya
Marginalisation needs a whole convention to interrogate and correct

@Clemens , zero in further you will find that marginalisation is more than a regional or ethnic issue, it is a class issue, the poor are cannon fodder for our crony capitalistic system. The poor of Central Kenya are targets just like those in West Pokot or Migori

View attachment 30494

Today's front-page offers a perfect illustration:

MCAs who by virtue of their central role in making BBI pass have become cronies of the ruling elite are (in an impulsive move) granted a car grant, that in the backdrop of looming higher taxation and job cuts, so who takes the hit? The poor whose children have to bear with understaffed and under-equipped schools, now that is marginalisation

The poor of Kenya are the most marginalised regardless of ethnicity or the region they hail from or reside in, think of the insecurity in Mathare yet right across the road in Muthaiga you have security tighter than any puthy you have ravaged!

We would all be better off if we attacked poverty rather than marginalisation which is quite easy to mask, let us have pro-poor initiatives and laws instead
Weka paybill omwami, umeongea kama senators kumi.

To some people opposing the official government position is the epitome of enlightenment, well akina Orengo, Raila, Kiraitu, Muite were there and they changed, they paid through beatings and serving jail terms, beating your puny chest online doesn't qualify as activisms.

Tiger Bone

To some people opposing the official government position is the epitome of enlightenment, well akina Orengo, Raila, Kiraitu, Muite were there and they changed, they paid through beatings and serving jail terms, beating your puny chest online doesn't qualify as activisms.
We're in a democratic country Mdau, kwani anybody aki differ na your thinking anakua activist?

There you go again, being tribal and stuff, can't you talk about politics without going back to your tribal cacoon? In that same tongue are you also saying that you are uncomfortable because kikuyus are not well represented?
Politics is about interests. The reason we have this entire big BBI debate now is because of interests: personal, communal, tribal, county, regional and so on. Stop trying to guilt trip the poster by branding his post tribal. He's 100 per cent within his rights to bring his "interests" forth for debate without holy joes bringing forth politically correct bullshitry.

Most counties in Kenya are ethnic cacoons. They have a major ethnic group that dominates their politics. Its rare to have a governor elected from a minority groups, count them! Saying that we don't have tribalism is burying your head in the sand.

The issues that affect me directly are mostly local. Do I have security, a well maintained road, access to education, medical care etc. All those services need funding from my taxes. I will feel marginalized when those services cannot be delivered in my area because we are being robbed off our taxes. It doesn't matter whether I'm a Turkana, Teso, or Kikuyu. It's unfair and wrong.

I understand those that want a smaller government. It makes sense and would save us a lot of money. However, how many people would accept that their counties be abolished so that we created 12 regional governments? How would you balance tribal interests? For example, is it possible to merge Turkana, West Pokot, Samburu and Baringo? I bet not! Political decisions don't necessarily make good economic sense. Don't expect us to reduce the number of politicians any time soon.

You have articulated your points very well. I will however say that this statement is contradictory. You cannot separate marginalization and poverty. They are hand and glove.
@bigDog gave the example of under-representation and bursaries and perhaps failed to point out some data that will demonstrate the marginalization of the child in mt Kenya.
At the outset let's agree that education is one of the interventions that help poor families break the vicious cycle of poverty.
Now, when constituencies get a flat rate shs 137.4 million allocation for bursary there is no parity/equity between the children in the Mountain and in Northern Kenya. The child in the mountain will get a tiny fraction of what Northern Kenya students get...in fact it has been said northern kenya counties are even able to pay fees for their students abroad. Take Garissa and Nyandarua counties as examples.
Garissa - 6 constituencies X 137.4 million =824.4 million

Nyandarua - 4 Constituencies X 137.4 million =549.6

Garissa has 6580 students in 18 secondary schools
Nyandarua has 62000 students in 171 secondary schools

Assuming the proportion of poor students needing bursaries is the same, then '
A child in Garissa will get 824 400000/6580= Shs 124,288
A child in Nyandarua will get 549600000/62000 = Shs 8,864

Where is the fairness in these figures? Don't you think the calls for allocation based on population are justified?

If the constituency is the basis for allocation then I should also have a proportionate number of constituencies

Politics is about interests. The reason we have this entire big BBI debate now is because of interests: personal, communal, tribal, county, regional and so on. Stop trying to guilt trip the poster by branding his post tribal. He's 100 per cent within his rights to bring his "interests" forth for debate without holy joes bringing forth politically correct bullshitry.
Now even you are supporting tribal politics? Hehe maajabu haya, and they way you have been acting holier than thau...i expected better from you

That doesn't bother me because your standards are unrealistically high anyway.
Do you recall this?
The perception will take long to be erased.

I really would want to know how this informs people. I have been on twitter for a year now and have tried to follow the people whose opinions of things I thought I would want to hear but let me say I am very disappointed. Kenyan "intellectuals" sacrifice their intellectualism at the altar of their political and tribal bias.
Hasn't the poster sacrificed his intellectualism at the alter of tribal politics, ama your goal posts change everytime?

Do you recall this?

Hasn't the poster sacrificed his intellectualism at the alter of tribal politics, ama your goal posts change everytime?
No, he has not if only you would try to understand him rather than fight his position from a predetermined position. Kindly let's end this sideshow.