Sasa hizi ni quagmire gani jayden anatuingiza?

Hehehehe, dude, mumenunua Suzuki Samurai sasa unaona mnaweza pimana nguvu na Unimog?

A C-27J is no match for a C-130. The 10 tonne payload of the C-27J is dwarfed by the 19-tonne capability of a C-130, which can carry it 800 NM further at full load.

Hii yako ni jokes bana. There is a reason the C-27j were retired from active USAF service and handed to Coast Guard and SOCOM. The C-130 is just too good. In fact, it's the oldest aircraft still in active development and production.

The C-27 is meant to replace the series of aging turboprop aircraft that many militaries still have in use. Aircraft like the DeHavilland DHC-5 Bufallo like what KDF had.

We are getting lost on the topic at hand sir.

Wacha speculations.
There are things they won't come out to say in the open. If you are not lucky enough to be in contact with people in the know, it does not mean the rest of us aren't. I come from a military family. By default, I'm in contact with KDF even if it is not official ama ni fununu za hapa na pale.

Did you know when Somalia and Ethiopia were fighting, Kenyan intelligence was very much in the mix in an active war zone? You will never hear of such stories officially.

There are too many actors. The most overt are Uganda and Rwanda. The people who benefit most are the tech giants like China, Germany, UK, US and Japan.

We all know western countries are not above sponsoring terrorists to ensure their interests are protected. Interests such as keeping the prices of these minerals dirt cheap and flowing to them only, and not to the highest bidder that a functional system would want.

Guerillas with local knowledge will always have the tactical advantage. Ask the Afghans and the reason why they are called the graveyard of empires.

In country, South Africa. They have SF, Paras, Intelligence and long range fire support in the form of snipers and artillery alongside conventional troops. They also have their Rooivalks for fire support and Super Pumas for point to point logistics. They also have regular resupply via their C-130s.

Where are they deployed in DRC? The last time I checked, they were in the east encamped.

Happy hunting for our boys!

There are things they won't come out to say in the open. If you are not lucky enough to be in contact with people in the know, it does not mean the rest of us aren't. I come from a military family. By default, I'm in contact with KDF even if it is not official ama ni fununu za hapa na pale.

Did you know when Somalia and Ethiopia were fighting, Kenyan intelligence was very much in the mix in an active war zone? You will never hear of such stories officially.

I don't know.

We are getting lost on the topic at hand sir.
The original point was, yes, new aircraft have been bought which in itself is a step in the right direction. However, to have the kind of influence, or Pax Kenyana as it is known in some circles, it would need proper logistical capabilities that can, realistically, only be provided by a C-130, A-400, CASA 295 or larger aircraft.

Inserting and supporting a Spec Ops unit is not a matter of sending soldiers alone. There has to be a headquarters component, they have their vehicles and related equipment as well as intelligence, communication and medical support. Those three aircraft, for them to be able to move all these people and equipment will have to do it over various flights

You also have to think about the maintenance intervals of those aircraft. Wakichapa hizo lap, halafu ziingizwe hangar for maintenance. What happens to the other services that those three aircraft are to perform?

The absence of evidence should not be construed for evidence of absence. Those mines mean a lot to people and corporations with vested interests. They will always hire mercenaries, whether local or foreign, to protect their interests. There is no active conflict zone that does not have mercenaries or partisans.

That's why we (KE) are supporting them to create rule of law in all of the country.

Imagine living under a Mungiki militia, only that it's 20 times worse!

I don't know.
Exactly. KDF is so tight lipped that the little crumbs of info we get here and there, tunashukuru. One thing can happen in one corner that people in another corner do not know of. So ni sisi tushikane tujaribu kushikanisha what is going on kwa sababu hakuna official reports ama announcements tutawahi ona.

The original point was, yes, new aircraft have been bought which in itself is a step in the right direction. However, to have the kind of influence, or Pax Kenyana as it is known in some circles, it would need proper logistical capabilities that can, realistically, only be provided by a C-130, A-400, CASA 295 or larger aircraft.

Inserting and supporting a Spec Ops unit is not a matter of sending soldiers alone. There has to be a headquarters component, they have their vehicles and related equipment as well as intelligence, communication and medical support. Those three aircraft, for them to be able to move all these people and equipment will have to do it over various flights

You also have to think about the maintenance intervals of those aircraft. Wakichapa hizo lap, halafu ziingizwe hangar for maintenance. What happens to the other services that those three aircraft are to perform?

What better test than this mission? If I were the boss that ticks all the boxes!

Exactly. KDF is so tight lipped that the little crumbs of info we get here and there, tunashukuru. One thing can happen in one corner that people in another corner do not know of. So ni sisi tushikane tujaribu kushikanisha what is going on kwa sababu hakuna official reports ama announcements tutawahi ona.

I think we get to know about the larger geopolitical goals of our politicians. That's where our effort should be.

We cannot and must never publicly discuss strategic and tactical plans of our defenses even when we know them. Unless that information is in the public domain.

That's why we (KE) are supporting them to create rule of law in all of the country.

Imagine living under a Mungiki militia, only that it's 20 times worse!
Enhe!! Sasa, hao militias getting supported by your largest trading partner. Wakiona umekuja sana, watakuambia kanyagia, ama waamue kusponsor wahuni closer home to ease the pressure KDF is placing on them.

On another side, you have countries operating in there, but they also have their vested interests that conflict with what these other neighbouring countries want. SANDFSF are the most experienced on the continent. If they wanted, they would have rolled in with their Rooikats and routed everyone.

It's a diplomatic minefield out there. Eight years in, SA and the SADC Brigade still haven't done defeated the militia there. Will adding KDF Specops there improve the situation?

Enhe!! Sasa, hao militias getting supported by your largest trading partner. Wakiona umekuja sana, watakuambia kanyagia, ama waamue kusponsor wahuni closer home to ease the pressure KDF is placing on them.

On another side, you have countries operating in there, but they also have their vested interests that conflict with what these other neighbouring countries want. SANDFSF are the most experienced on the continent. If they wanted, they would have rolled in with their Rooikats and routed everyone.

It's a diplomatic minefield out there. Eight years in, SA and the SADC Brigade still haven't done defeated the militia there. Will adding KDF Specops there improve the situation?

Chief, it's hard to answer "the probable". There are so many(false) probables and probabilities that I could (also) claim to be your son.

What better test than this mission? If I were the boss that ticks all the boxes!
They will always improvise, even if it means having a land based logistics train, or even whether logistics will be handled by the UN. But with what @Field Marshal was saying, KDF by itself is still missing that logistical component to effectively spread influence to the countries around us.

Look at what India is doing with C-17s, Il-76s and Chinooks. If this was KDF I'd be having a wet dream.

Chief, it's hard to answer "the probable". There are so many(false) probables and probabilities that I could (also) claim to be your son.
That is the exact situation on the ground. The overt players can be pointed at, but the people pulling the strings are a big unknown. This might turn out to be one of the best missions the Rangers ever do. It might also turn out to be the cause of a nightmare, either directly or indirectly. So sending them in is fine. It is what any military leader would want to do. However, uhunye had better be sure that war won't be brought back home in one way or another.

They will always improvise, even if it means having a land based logistics train, or even whether logistics will be handled by the UN. But with what @Field Marshal was saying, KDF by itself is still missing that logistical component to effectively spread influence to the countries around us.

Look at what India is doing with C-17s, Il-76s and Chinooks. If this was KDF I'd be having a wet dream.

Chief, we got to start with what we have. Learn without exposing our rear end.

I think @shocks talked about that. All equipment is under the UN care/lease.

I think we get to know about the larger geopolitical goals of our politicians. That's where our effort should be.

We cannot and must never publicly discuss strategic and tactical plans of our defenses even when we know them. Unless that information is in the public domain.
Very true. On an actual confrontation, every military has its own ways to get things done. But at this point, there is nothing new under the sun. We know the tools KDF have, and how they can be used. All we can do is speculate and hope one of us is right.

Since you have dragged me in, let me contribute.

You keep talking about the KDF's lift capability. Dude, it's not only c-130s that have that capability. They may be among the big aircraft, but even smaller planes are capable. In any case, Kenya has other options of lifting equipment and personnel. It can use KQ to lift personnel and hired planes from say Ukraine to lift equipment. It has been done before.

You want to tell me we don't have both military and civilian trucks that can reach the DRC through Ug. I can bet my last penny that's what's gonna happen any way, just as Ug's troops routinely pass through Kenya enroute to Somalia.

I really don't understand why you think that a unit of say 800 KDF personnel in eastern congo under the UN must have c-130s on standby. For what? They will not be doing any para drops all over the place - that happens only in movies. Watapatiwa sector to hold, and that's it, just like Somalia.

I also keep wondering why you keep thinking that any East African country would be against Kenya's deployment. Kenya is deploying under the UN, authorised by the SC in which we seat. Going against Kenya will be going against the SC. Who'll do that?

That is the exact situation on the ground. The overt players can be pointed at, but the people pulling the strings are a big unknown. This might turn out to be one of the best missions the Rangers ever do. It might also turn out to be the cause of a nightmare, either directly or indirectly. So sending them in is fine. It is what any military leader would want to do. However, uhunye had better be sure that war won't be brought back home in one way or another.

We have had worse sir. Al-Shaitan is right next door. They have an extremist islamic insurgency group, so named ADF in the east of the DRC.

Sounds familiar?

Since you have dragged me in, let me contribute.

You keep talking about the KDF's lift capability. Dude, it's not only c-130s that have that capability. They may be among the big aircraft, but even smaller planes are capable. In any case, Kenya has other options of lifting equipment and personnel. It can use KQ to lift personnel and hired planes from say Ukraine to lift equipment. It has been done before.

You want to tell me we don't have both military and civilian trucks that can reach the DRC through Ug. I can bet my last penny that's what's gonna happen any way, just as Ug's troops routinely pass through Kenya enroute to Somalia.

I really don't understand why you think that a unit of say 800 KDF personnel in eastern congo under the UN must have c-130s on standby. For what? They will not be doing any para drops all over the place - that happens only in movies. Watapatiwa sector to hold, and that's it, just like Somalia.

I also keep wondering why you keep thinking that any East African country would be against Kenya's deployment. Kenya is deploying under the UN, authorised by the SC in which we seat. Going against Kenya will be going against the SC. Who'll do that?

Hata hajui what will be deployed. Let me shut my mouth.

Mūthuri thaai.

So you think we don't have eyes in the DRC?