BBI Politics, objectively

Mzichi

1. We should be reducing representation not increasing it.

2. How can you devolve 35% when you don't even collect enough as a country to devolve a minimum of 15%?

3. Everything in the BBI except the changes in the executive i.e PM, and 2 DPM's do not require a referendum. It is a trojan horse. If it says it is not a virus...it is a virus!
The DPMs, increased MPs, and Ombudsman need a Referendum... I believe

And there my friend is where we will experience the worst service delivery in most counties .Some Governor's seem to lose their thinking caps after being elected .During Kabogos tenure parking attendants had a small machine where after you pay you get a receipt .When Waititu took over he scrapped the system and introduced MPESA system and the fee was revised from 60 to 100 .This system means you must have MPESA funds otherwise the attendants will ensure you pay in cash ( money goes into their pockets) and if you insist you want to find MPESA agent to topup your MPESA account you will come back and find clamps .
Most counties are money pits .Look at the vast Juja area , the place has many quarries that earn the county cess but the road network which requires just the readily available quarry chips are in pathetic state .
Who says the central government won't be as corrupt? Si umeona hii kalasinga ya vitendawili na hoteli yake?

Hii kitu imepita. @Meria umekataa pinning hii thread. Mungu anakuona.

Now I want to start discussing individual BBI articles by thread. Do you guys care to discuss them?
What do you understand by pinning?
Sometimes peanga Muthokoi Midia some credit...
Untaka akuletee picha za pins ndo uone ya thread is pinned...typical Kenyan. Creating a reason to cry where there is none.

What do you understand by pinning?
Sometimes peanga Muthokoi Midia some credit...
Untaka akuletee picha za pins ndo uone ya thread is pinned...typical Kenyan. Creating a reason to cry where there is none.
kua mpole, My MP huko subcounty amesema iwe huru.
DAGORETTI South MP John Kiarie renews calls for Parliament to craft a law legalizing industrial and medicinal use of marijuana saying the country can no longer be blind to its economic benefits.

You and who? County assemblies have been bought let's see if the citizens will be bought
Ubaya ya Tangatanga is chest thumping. They should have participated in formulating BBI to take care of their interests.

Take this to the bank, you will never hear Tangatanga talk about BBI ever again. BBI is punctured tire that's a liability to their campaign.

Montecarlo

Ubaya ya Tangatanga is chest thumping. They should have participated in formulating BBI to take care of their interests.

Take this to the bank, you will never hear Tangatanga talk about BBI ever again. BBI is punctured tire that's a liability to their campaign.
Uhuru confirmed that they were involved and actually they aren't interested in campaigning against it they just have an issue with Uhuru's love affair with Raila....Ruto should've talked to Maggie. The heartbreak wouldn't be as painful as it is

ShakaZulu

1. It does not address any of ordinary Kenyans problems, on the ground what needs major corrective surgery is the Economy, Healthcare, education and the Police

You talk of Mt. Kenya getting more constituencies, trust me we do not need them, we need a Cancer Centre and a national referral hospital not more MPs

2. Inclusion BBI style is a disaster, we cannot go back to having a President with top positions to dish out (PM, DPMs, CS slots for sitting MPs) and consolidate incredible political power, we are courting disaster with that new-look executive

3. We need fewer constituencies or maintain the current ones, there is no value in having more, and please do not mention more CDF getting to the ground because that money shouldn't even be in MPs custody, CDF is nothing but a cash cow for MPs

4. Ward Fund is nonsense, the county assembly should be able to oversee fair governance by the county governments with each ward benefitting without some fund to guarantee it

5. Who knows if 35% is sufficient to run counties? What if it is excessive? I say let us cost devolved functions and send money based on need not just throwing figures around, it is a proper dumb move.

6. The absolute disaster that awaits us after BBI is government machinery being used to amend the Constitution, a Raila Odinga or Mudavadi or Joho adminstration will launch another initiative that favours their people the same way BBI purportedly favours Central Kenya, at some point we will have our version of Pombe and senseless amendments will be floated, finally someone will propose abolishing of term limits and insert a "President for life" clause, with BBI having granted them unprecedented political power it will be a slumdunk and we will have gone back to dictatorship, is that your wish? Is that the nation you want your grandchildren to inherit?

BBI is not good for Kenya
So well summarised, to me the process of getting to a destination is important than getting there. We are about to open a can of worms, sad citizens has been lied that it is political competition of raila vs ruto. Then the open bribing and intimidation to change constitution will become the norm. Some still believe elections are won by rigging and are hoping a major change in our constitution to be rigged in. Heko kwenu!

I am supposed to believe that this BBI is good for the common citizen when even after the Baringo MCAs exercised their constitutional duty wameanza kufunguliwa cases. Why is this thing being forced down our throats? Tuliambia ni panadol. Tukaambiwa reggae cannot be stopped.

Mtajua hamjui!

1613750404481.png

1613750425059.png

Uhuru confirmed that they were involved and actually they aren't interested in campaigning against it they just have an issue with Uhuru's love affair with Raila....Ruto should've talked to Maggie. The heartbreak wouldn't be as painful as it is
You have ears and eyes but you don't hear and you don't see.

Ruto is a political genius and that you have to give to him. He is neither for the BBI or against. He has always talked about consensus.

Why? That denies the 'YES' side a polar opposite therefore it is almost impossible to prescribe sides to the electorate which would put this country in a full blown campaign mode more than it is now. It would also put him concretely against the government agenda which undoubtedly would be used against him.

I have no doubt Ruto has a hand in financing the 'NO' campaign under Linda Katiba but he will never come out straight until the time is right for him.

Ruto is a political genius and that you have to give to him. He is neither for the BBI or against. He has always talked about consensus.
Leaders should NOT sit on the fence. Leaders show the way and the consequences be damned.
But then, sadly, the nature of our tribal politics is that one has to please all parties, muttering such inanities as WIN-WIN. This leaves the followers stranded because the supposed leader is also watching the windsock.

Leaders should NOT sit on the fence. Leaders show the way and the consequences be damned.
But then, sadly, the nature of our tribal politics is that one has to please all parties, muttering such inanities as WIN-WIN. This leaves the followers stranded because the supposed leader is also watching the windsock.
The other thing Ruto has said is that we can have a multiple choice referendum. You can say yes or no to different issues. That way if you don't want a bloated executive you can say no.

That way we won't have this contest of chungwa and banana, but instead we discuss the issues.

But the BBI proponents don't want that. Why? They say we are too dumb to handle multi-choices. Hehe.

So it is either we pass the maggots with the meat or it will be forced down our throats regardless.