BBI Politics, objectively

Uhuru confirmed that they were involved and actually they aren't interested in campaigning against it they just have an issue with Uhuru's love affair with Raila....Ruto should've talked to Maggie. The heartbreak wouldn't be as painful as it is
They were invited but behaved like a jilted lover. If Ruto behaved like Moi did with the other Kenyatta, he would have had it easy. Sasa Ile antagonism he created with his boss is irreparable.

Ha
You have ears and eyes but you don't hear and you don't see.

Ruto is a political genius and that you have to give to him. He is neither for the BBI or against. He has always talked about consensus.

Why? That denies the 'YES' side a polar opposite therefore it is almost impossible to prescribe sides to the electorate which would put this country in a full blown campaign mode more than it is now. It would also put him concretely against the government agenda which undoubtedly would be used against him.

I have no doubt Ruto has a hand in financing the 'NO' campaign under Linda Katiba but he will never come out straight until the time is right for him.
Lootall position is very obvious. Just listen to what his sycophants and keyboard army have been saying.

They were invited but behaved like a jilted lover. If Ruto behaved like Moi did with the other Kenyatta, he would have had it easy. Sasa Ile antagonism he created with his boss is irreparable.

Ha

Lootall position is very obvious. Just listen to what his sycophants and keyboard army have been saying.
That is exactly my point. But he won't say it out loud because he is on the journey there. He knows very well the BBI gang does not want multiple choice because the shit will be sieved out at the ballot. Instead they want have sprayed some perfume on the shit and served it to you because they know once it comes to watu wetu syndrome campaigns mtapitisha tu.

Again, shauri yenu.

Montecarlo

You have ears and eyes but you don't hear and you don't see.

Ruto is a political genius and that you have to give to him. He is neither for the BBI or against. He has always talked about consensus.

Why? That denies the 'YES' side a polar opposite therefore it is almost impossible to prescribe sides to the electorate which would put this country in a full blown campaign mode more than it is now. It would also put him concretely against the government agenda which undoubtedly would be used against him.

I have no doubt Ruto has a hand in financing the 'NO' campaign under Linda Katiba but he will never come out straight until the time is right for him.
Off course he has....but what has made him do so is Uhuru's new found love...but I also think that as a person Ruto is not as politically courageous as he pretends to be. Jaramogi walked out, Kibaki resigned, Matiba & Raila walked out...Ruto is a political slay queen

Montecarlo

Ha

Ruto can't primarily because of his inherent nature...he has a dark heart....

Eng'iti

Quite true, lakini ameonea kamelon sana 😁

Don’t be surprised if Raila and Kalonzo vie for MP in 2022

By Michael Ndonye

I must quickly warn that my ideation today might cause finger-clicking, head-shaking and cursing. Thus says the political heavens: The political honchos will laugh all the way to power should BBI pass. Thus, Raila Odinga, Kalonzo Musyoka, Musalia Mudavadi and other politicians who might be eyeing premier positions, including the prime minister position, will have to vie for MP.

The fact that our kingpins will have every good reason to start as MPs is a political relief. Assuming that the BBI copies, released in October 2020, haven’t undergone political transfiguration in the background, we will have the prime minister’s office should the BBI go through.

Courtesy of the BBI, precisely seven days after assuming office, the president will be required to appoint the premier. The BBI proposes that the premier will come from among the Members of Parliament. He will be the Leader of the majority party or a coalition of parties in the National Assembly.

In my layman’s interpretation of this provision, to qualify to be prime minister one must first be an MP. In short, the prime minister will be the leader of the majority in Parliament.

However, the two deputy prime ministers will be picked from among the Cabinet ministers. As such, the kingpins must do their math on the table if they want to get hold of these prime political seats after 2022.

Since the launch of the 2010 Constitution, it has been hard for political kingpins post-election. There is no place for runners-ups and leaders of the minority are sourced from Parliament’s elected members. This forces the heavyweights to work through proxies. Sometimes, the brokers are disloyal and sell them out, triggering members’ sacking in the party’s leadership.

Moreover, the 2010 Constitution’s rigidity makes the kingpins broke, vulnerable and politically malleable. Since the bigwigs lose touch with the people, they lead while outside politics, they are easily deflated to beggars’ positions.

We have seen them rely on well-wishers to finance the running of their parties. Sometimes they fund-raise through pay bill numbers to enable the smooth running of their politics.

High firewall

Moreover, the political honchos suffer shame if they want to vie for lower positions since the 2010 Constitution does not allow them to try various positions simultaneously.

In the previous constitution, they could comfortably contest for parliament seat, as the entry cadre to more senior positions such as the vice presidency, ministerial positions, and leader of minority for the runners up. The 2010 Constitution has denied them this political luxury.

Moreover, the 2010 Constitution placed a high firewall for the kingpins if they lose elections; our brothers and sisters have suffered political cold. That is why they must support BBI. The kingpins such as Kalonzo, Raila, Mudavadi and Wetangula have suffered. Their wailings have been heard, and BBI comes as biblical Moses to get them out of the ‘pharaoh’ stranglehold that they created. The BBI will thus redefine and return the river to its course.

Apart from Raila who has devised ways of sailing through turmoils, the rest have agonised political depreciation. Kalonzo has, for instance, been abandoned by his own; he has suffered humiliation especially from lowly politicians such as Johnson Muthama, governor Alfred Mutua, sometimes Kaluki Ngilu and even ‘small league’ politicians like MCAs.

This time around, he will be lucky if BBI passes because he can vie as MP without feeling debased or suffering from such a stigma.

The same shock has rocked Wetangula; he was almost ousted from the party that he leads. He has had his fair share of chagrin.

BBI allows him to vie for MP without the false feeling of demotion—he will either go for it or get assured that he will be appointed Cabinet Minister, thus having the potential to be deputy premier.

To conclude, the politics that goes round comes round. We are likely to go back to where we started—whether the BBI goes through or not, the conversation on the constitutional amendment will endure. Political honchos must come back to power!

Dr Ndonye is a political economist of Media and Communication

Doc oga

Brilliant idea , I am sure this doesn't require constitutional amendment.
Let's scrap off fees all together, fully fund our institutions of learning in the research and development areas. That is the only way to teach people how to fish. Hizi kelele zingine unasikia ni za kizubaisha Raiyaa and have them fixated to the notion that something meaningful is being done but all is a scum 😁😁.
Allocate resources equally to all learning institutions, fuck those "National" schools and scrap private fuckin schools and finally watu wapate Akili timamu when dealing with politicians juu Wanjiku is the boss not those fucking elected dimwits.
Na msisahau politicians are a reflection of the society.

Being Kikuyu means nothing to me. It just imparts an association and even more political baggage. Besides, we should be looking at national interests and not some puny tribal interest.
Why should you talk about your tribal interests? Are you a Kikuyu citizen or Kenyan citizen?
YES! I 100% Agree! True National cohesion and solidarity will only arise if we as Kenyans are able to see ourselves as Kenyans first before seeing ourselves as belonging to this ethinc group or that ethnic group, or this region or that region, and so on.

Ndovukubwah

What's wrong with that?, coasterians, North Eastern, the maa's, Have for a longtime talking about their regions being marginalized, and it has never been tribal, does it only become tribal when his region is affected?
Then everyone is disenfranchised in one way or another. A common solution for a common problem is the way forward. Representation has never been the problem.

Razzi

The incongruent elucidation of the BBI proposal is a down the hatch dictatorship. I refuse to be assuaged by the charlatans of doom named Raila and Uhuru. My vote goes where Ruto directs it. He stood against the current constitution not a decade ago and his position was right. He remain my political compass since then. In short, Ruto juu.

YES! I 100% Agree! True National cohesion and solidarity will only arise if we as Kenyans are able to see ourselves as Kenyans first before seeing ourselves as belonging to this ethinc group or that ethnic group, or this region or that region, and so on.
What about the little inconvenience of "all animals are equal, but some are more equal than others"?

I have steered clear of this debate for a while but my final contribution is Kenyans you will rue the day you pass that pile of dung! whether you voted thrice or boycotted it doesn't matter, that's a poisoned chalice spearheaded by two captains who don't give a bats ass fuck about you ! one is determined to take the titanic down with him(for failing to reward him) while the other is on a business spree and strengthening the family's position(can't blame him for that), ya'll caught in the middle and like moths drawn to light you gladly walk yourselves to the slaughter!!! tutakua hapahapa tu when it finally hits the fan!..... and like always we will tell you 'you made your bed you must lie in it!'......
Imagine hakuna kitu kama hiyo cataclysm umedescribe itafanyika. take this to the bank.

I invited you guys to come here with fact based arguments. When you make a claim, back it up with some evidence. In lister lingo, it's bringing effidense, some thermal image!

When you make a claim, you need to reference a source, a credible source and not some tweet by a keyboard worrior(so?). Use verifiable statistics to support your case. Use a logical argument.

We are here to learn from each other. It's argument like the ones I'm suggesting that can make us learn.

Im not perfect. I have biases and make errors in arguments. Alert me when you spot them.

I invited you guys to come here with fact based arguments. When you make a claim, back it up with some evidence. In lister lingo, it's bringing effidense, some thermal image!

When you make a claim, you need to reference a source, a credible source and not some tweet by a keyboard worrior(so?). Use verifiable statistics to support your case. Use a logical argument.

We are here to learn from each other. It's argument like the ones I'm suggesting that can make us learn.

Im not perfect. I have biases and make errors in arguments. Alert me when you spot them.
I am sorry to say, you are just becoming like a broken record singing about needing facts and figures.

Even after I personally have indicated to you the economic situation of the country based on 2021/2022 BPS, it is like it is not even registering in your brain.

Even simple figures quoting just how much it will cost us to run senate + national assembly with the additional 200+ new mps (from additional constituencies and nominated 180 women to fulfill the gender rule) hutaki kuskia.

IMG_20210224_171133.jpg

You, sir, don't want to hear. You don't want to acknowledge. You don't want to discuss factual, cold hard statistics.

So, kindly, give us a break!

imei2012

I am sorry to say, you are just becoming like a broken record singing about needing facts and figures.

Even after I personally have indicated to you the economic situation of the country based on 2021/2022 BPS, it is like it is not even registering in your brain.

Even simple figures quoting just how much it will cost us to run senate + national assembly with the additional 200+ new mps (from additional constituencies and nominated 180 women to fulfill the gender rule) hutaki kuskia.

View attachment 30874

You, sir, don't want to hear. You don't want to acknowledge. You don't want to discuss factual, cold hard statistics.

So, kindly, give us a break!
Selling ice to the eskimos...