Saba Saba 2025

Do you support Saba Saba rally tomorrow?

• Yes

Votes: 26 81.3%
  • No

Votes: 5 15.6%
  • I don't care

Votes: 1 3.1%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
I took this screenshot on 26th. Before you all shout ati govt- sponsored goons. These demos only make sense when your business is not targeted. Kesho shetani mwingine akiitana demos, the surviving supermarkets know they'll be the target. Where on earth is hooliganism allowed in the name of protest? I swear I have never been so tired of this country as I am right now.
View attachment 107226
These goons were celebrated when they invaded parliament, but the goverment is taking charge now today they were restricted to the outskirts Next is to find out who the financiers are, like this guy with the range

They are just stealing for the sake of stealing. There is a Naivas huko downstairs which is probably what they are targeting. And again, they are wearing face masks.

GvRvyjYWUAAJtsk.webp
GvRvCPyXwAACNxW.webp

Makes you wonder what’s so broken with this regime that people are once again rallying behind the clarion call of resistance. Saba Saba wasn’t just a date, it was a symbol of fighting repression. And yet, during Kibaki’s and Uhuru’s tenures, flawed as they were, we didn’t see this kind of mass yearning to revive that spirit. So why now? What is it about this administration that has pushed people back into the streets, back into the old songs of defiance? Maybe it’s not just nostalgia. Maybe it’s survival.
The emasculation and acquiescence of Parliament to begin with.

Look at the comments here.
Anyone trying to bring common sense is easily shouted town. Even if they call for demos daily, results will be the same: Deaths, destruction, loss of livelihood, economic shutdown. To whose benefit? And Ruto will go nowhere.

What was the symbol of national unity supposed to do after last year's demos that he failed to do? He went back to business as usual after he thought he had contained the demos?

Look at the comments here.
Anyone trying to bring common sense is easily shouted town. Even if they call for demos daily, results will be the same: Deaths, destruction, loss of livelihood, economic shutdown. To whose benefit? And Ruto will go nowhere.

The media pushed for some reason pushed hard for saba saba this year for reasons known to them .Have we ever seen a headline like this in the 35 years since saba saba.

1751923119130.webp

After arresting 100's if not 1,000's

Bado kutakuwa na maandamano.

Hii kitu inakuja.

And there is nothing you or your demigod can do about it.

NOTAM!

What was the symbol of national unity supposed to do after last year's demos that he failed to do? He went back to business as usual after he thought he had contained the demos?
And what amount of destruction and deaths will force him to act? read comments here.

Different opinion is not allowed. It's that kind of intolerance that has led us where we are, and I'm afraid it will continue till 2027. Who is the loser and what are people gaining from all this?

I absolutely agree with his sentiments. The unfortunate thing about this, is that the people he describes are in the minority but are very vocal. Most of them are even getting paid. If you even just take the example of Karatina, I am told that some of the people we give casual jobs, watu wa mkono, were there lighting bonfires on the road. They are being paid to do it by those jostling for political relevance in Mathira.

I keep saying this, what is this great sin Ruto has committed?

Immediately he got into power and removed the subsidies on fuel and electricity, Azimio people went to the streets with sufurias on their heads. Shortly after those protests morphed into "niliibiwa kura" with propped up whistle blower who has since disappeared. This bred the NADCO talks and report.

Then there was quite for a while. Then came the finance bill 2024. People came out to the streets with legitimate but misguided intent. They burnt parliament, CJ's office and Nairobi County offices and people died. Ruto wakakosana na Gachagua and Raila, always the opportunist, found himself in government. Raila called Luos to order and the finance bill protests fizzled out. 90% of the clauses in the finance bill were later passed in the Tax Amendment 2024 in December.

Then Ojwang was killed in a police cell. People went to the streets again to call for Ruto's head. I am still not sure how Ruto was involved in Ojwang's death. Boniface was then critically shot in the head selling face masks. More people died.

Then came June 25th, 2025. A commemoration day meant for the parents and loved ones of those who died in the finance bill protests. Social media mobilization turned it into a Occupy Statehouse day. SiriniNumbers. More people died.

Then SabaSaba came. A day that was meant to be of protests became purely a day of looting. Thankfully the CBD cordon made it so that Nairobi was spared. Yet again, more people died.

Yet again I ask, what great sin did Ruto commit?

Or is it there are a few big men, with immense resources, who want to cause such great acrimony in the country that they are willing to precipitate a crisis, which will then lead to 'talks' and then to a handshake? Doing this whilst riding on the backs of those who are legitimately angry?

I absolutely agree with his sentiments. The unfortunate thing about this, is that the people he describes are in the minority but are very vocal. Most of them are even getting paid. If you even just take the example of Karatina, I am told that some of the people we give casual jobs, watu wa mkono, were there lighting bonfires on the road. They are being paid to do it by those jostling for political relevance in Mathira.

I keep saying this, what is this great sin Ruto has committed?

Immediately he got into power and removed the subsidies on fuel and electricity, Azimio people went to the streets with sufurias on their heads. Shortly after those protests morphed into "niliibiwa kura" with propped up whistle blower who has since disappeared. This bred the NADCO talks and report.

Then there was quite for a while. Then came the finance bill 2024. People came out to the streets with legitimate but misguided intent. They burnt parliament, CJ's office and Nairobi County offices and people died. Ruto wakakosana na Gachagua and Raila, always the opportunist, found himself in government. Raila called Luos to order and the finance bill protests fizzled out. 90% of the clauses in the finance bill were later passed in the Tax Amendment 2024 in December.

Then Ojwang was killed in a police cell. People went to the streets again to call for Ruto's head. I am still not sure how Ruto was involved in Ojwang's death. Boniface was then critically shot in the head selling face masks. More people died.

Then came June 25th, 2025. A commemoration day meant for the parents and loved ones of those who died in the finance bill protests. Social media mobilization turned it into a Occupy Statehouse day. SiriniNumbers. More people died.

Then SabaSaba came. A day that was meant to be of protests became purely a day of looting. Thankfully the CBD cordon made it so that Nairobi was spared. Yet again, more people died.

Yet again I ask, what great sin did Ruto commit?

Or is it there are a few big men, with immense resources, who want to cause such great acrimony in the country that they are willing to precipitate a crisis, which will then lead to 'talks' and then to a handshake? Doing this whilst riding on the backs of those who are legitimately angry?
Time for keshekeshe ilishapita

Saa hii tuko ground.

Tunazoza!

MAANDAMANO!!!!!

NOTAM!

I am in Central, and all I have witnessed in the last 2 demos is just pure chaos in the name of demos. On 25th, the ''peaceful protestors' were throwing stones at my residence coz I was not joining them. They then went to county commissioner's office where they torched 3 cars. Later, they went to the local supermarket and bakery and looted it dry. One fool was shot dead and few were injured.
Today, they were targeting police station. Police shot one, and one police was badly injured after getting stoned. Had it been restraint, I swear police could have killed many here. The protestors then descended on the next supermarket/wholesale shop and looted it dry. Hii ni nchi gani? Where on earth is this allowed? And dont say anything like ati govt is sponsoring the looters. No. These are the ordinary guys protesting. They did the same to Kagio, Nyeri Naivas, Nanyuki etc. So how is this kind of chaos bringing justice to the departed? How will it help force Ruto out? How will they bring reforms? Who is the loser here? Have you people ever sat down and reflected?
You raise valid concerns, what you've described isn’t the ideal of peaceful protest, and the violence in Central Kenya, from stone-throwing to looting and arson, undoubtedly harms local livelihoods and community trust. But to simply dismiss it as “chaos” misses a deeper pattern. These are the actions of citizens whose avenues for peaceful dissent have been closed by the state.

The government, rather than open dialogue, has chosen to unite Kenyans by playing the ethnic card, blaming the unrest on Kikuyus, insinuating that the violence is driven by one ethnic group to marginalize the rest. That narrative shifts attention away from the root grievances (tax injustice, police brutality, accountability) and inoculates the administration against meaningful compromise.

As for your questions:

Does this chaos bring justice to Albert Ojwang or others killed?

Not directly—but without addressing why some protesters feel they have nowhere else to go, repression only pushes marginalized voices into frustration and desperation. Accountability remains elusive.

How does it force Ruto out or bring reforms?

When protest becomes the only language the government hears, especially after banning media coverage, criminalizing assembly, and deploying live fire, it signals deep failure. Sustained pressure can force at least grudging concessions: meaningful investigations, police reform, repeal of anti-protest laws, but only if the public refuses to be silenced.

Who loses, who gains?

In the short term, those on the frontlines, residents, shopkeepers, protestors, police, are losing lives, property, legitimacy. In the longer view, the winners are those in power who frame dissent as ethnic or criminal and thereby delay dialogue and preserve their control.

In Central, your community suffered real damage, so the anger and fear are justified. But if we step back, the violence is as much a symptom as a cause: a reaction to systematic suppression, a vacuum created by a state unwilling to address concrete demands. Blaming Kikuyus, itself a diversion, is precisely the tactic that keeps the cycle going. Only dialogue, respect for constitutional rights, and honest reckoning with abuses can break it. Otherwise, chaos becomes both the symptom and the strategy of a government that refuses to capitulate or connect.