Kariobangi Misery

Deep Sea

I'll start by saying evicting people in this manner at the current time was stupid and an ill thought move. But from a few first hand stories I've heard hizi eviction za slum are never what they look like. A friend is involved in the westlands ring road project that caused the eviction of "deep sea" slum in parklands. Guys were paid for relocation, some moved, landlords continelued renting the house to new occupants...... ile siku walibomolewa ilikuwa same story, oh, no compensation, no notice
You've brought tears to my eyes.
Sad memories

Kdawg254

The National Assembly Environment and Natural Resources Committee has saved the multi-million shilling Seefar Apartments in Nairobi from demolition.
The Committee has ordered the immediate withdrawal of a notice of demolition issued to the owners of the multi-story residential building in Nyayo Highrise.
The notice was served last year by the Water Resources Management Authority (Warma) and the National Environment Management Authority (Nema) for allegedly standing on riparian land.
The Parliament Committee says the fate of the structure will be decided by the government’s multi-agency team.
“It is hereby ordered that the demolition notice issued for the demolition of Seefar apartments be vacated,” the committee chair Kareke Mbiuki says.
The Mbiuki-led team questioned how the two agencies issued the notice without reference to any technical report.
“How was the decision to demolish Seefar apartments arrived at, when this committee has not received any report recommending the same?” poses Mbiuki.
Appearing before the Committee, the secretary of the National Buildings Inspectorate Moses Nyakiongora told the MPs that Seefar apartments are "structurally safe."
He, however, says part of the structure stands on the course of the Ngong River.
“The building can remain, but something must be done to the dam for the safety of the apartments,” Nyakiongora says.
Late last year, the committee proposed the nearby Nairobi dam is destroyed in order to save the apartments.
MPs who toured the site said the dam is no longer useful and it would be logical to sacrifice it to save the apartments.

Mfalme

Nobody is mentioning this; THERE WAS A COURT ORDER STOPPING THE DEMOLITIONS. Whether it was moral or not, it depends on where you're sitting but to not respect a court order sets a bad precedent.

Was it supposed to be a mourning thread? Why have you been trying so hard to compartmentalize me?
Who said it was supposed to be a mourning thread?

All I'm pointing out is that you invariably, instinctively jump in in defence if 'authority', so-called law-and-order, even when there are clear political undertones at play or reasons to put compassion before rules.

If we are sincere about social distancing, lock downs and reductions of economic opportunities for hustlers, there are NO curcumstances where we can rationalize putting families out in the streets and flattening their meagre belongings in the April rains. Even court orders do not justify that.

Who said it was supposed to be a mourning thread?

All I'm pointing out is that you invariably, instinctively jump in in defence if 'authority', so-calked law-and-order, even when there are clear political undertones at play or reasons to put compassion before rules.

If we are sincere about social distancing, lock downs and reductions of economic opportunities for hustlers, there are NO curcumstances where we can rationalize putting families out in the streets and flattening their meagre belongings in the April rains. Even court orders do not justify that.
At least now you seem to be addressing the issues instead of going for my person.

I believe we all get richer if we can debate all the legal and other issues surrounding the demolitions rather than jump into a lamentation festival. As @shocks has pointed out up there, sometimes the demolitions are shrouded in ukora with landlords hiding behind the tenants. We saw a similar thing in Mau evictions where grabbers allocated themselves hundreds of acres and a human shield of peasants with five acres each.
As @Cazorla has pointed out up there, Nairobi City sewer bursts are common coz of an outdated system that cannot be upgraded because the land was grabbed by our friends who are happy to have the water company in merry go rounds in courts as they make money.
I may sound dispassionate to the affected people but I think we (the members here) are all better off if we deal with facts rather than political shenanigans.
I have said before that facts are cold.

Why didn't you bold the above?
Because there are two claims - Water Company claims court gave them go ahead to demolish without further stays.
The residents say no notice but also say the DCC was there last week to tell them demolitions are coming. Do not forget the landlords (not the tenants) were party to the suit and knew the outcome.

Makavelli

Nobody is mentioning this; THERE WAS A COURT ORDER STOPPING THE DEMOLITIONS. Whether it was moral or not, it depends on where you're sitting but to not respect a court order sets a bad precedent.
Kelele za chura haziwezi zuia ngombe kunya maji. A Precedent was set long ago. Look at Miguna's(athough hajui kunyamazisha mdomo) case for example. Lakini kubomoa saa hii is totally inhumane

I may sound dispassionate to the affected people but I think we (the members here) are all better off if we deal with facts rather than political shenanigans.
When do you suggest that we deal with political shenanigans? As you may have noticed through the years, I prefer to address so-called facts as well as the politics behind them and the effects for those affected. For example, the cop whose job is to clear the way for the bulldozer, sent to battle without a mask, gloves or something to soothe his victims' souls.

Good for you that you can say 'cold' and mosey on.

Having worked in the slums of Nairobi for 3 years, I noticed that, there are several categories of slum dwellers:

:- Brokers, who worked closely with the elected officials and government officials at both the national and County level. They are the ones who 'Surveyed' 'sold' 'processed allotment letters' and paid all those whose arms were greased to allow occupation of the public land. They also 'own' some of the structures.

:- Landlords, this guy's are well connected to the area representatives. MPs, MCAs .

:- Tenants this are guys who work hard to eke a living and usually wake up very early in the morning and come back in the evening. They are not aware of the happenings in the area. And they are the ones who bear the brunt of evictions.

Having said that, an eviction notice was given to the landlords, who kept mum and continued to receive rent from the tenants. The tenants were only aware of the eviction notice, when the DCC and SCPC had a Baraza in the area.