Effects of IMF SAPs zimeanza: Kenya is officially Fvck*d

Magreb

Sometime back last month David Ndii said that Kenya is officially broke and the young people are going to suffer

Well I guess after fuel price increase, other new effects now are in place. Post grad Medicine students from UON woke up to the news that the fees has tripled

View attachment 36428

well apparently IMF waliamua our school fees are way too low na lazima tuongeze pesa.

View attachment 36429

View attachment 36430

And now despite having a shortage of consultants we are going to lose prospective one's to other countries.

Welcome back to the 80's and 90's
Wooi! Na vile nilikuwa nafanya mpango wa kwenda kusomea obstetrics and gynecology

Mishale

Such courses are not cheap. Instruments, equipment, samples, research labs. Kwani unataka uon itoe wapi pesa ya kununua all those things?
unless things have changed in the few years sija kua Uni, no new machines or instruments will be bought.
sisi lecutrers walkua wana tuambia walitumia hizo instruments wakiwa uni. na sahi wako na watoi wako uni wanatumia hizo equipments.

shida yetu ni duplication of roles in every sector. thats why most of the money will always go to salaries and not buying modern equipment's/ buildings.....

Luther12

Wooi! Na vile nilikuwa nafanya mpango wa kwenda kusomea obstetrics and gynecology

In some counties the governor personally decides who goes for post-graduate studies and what courses they take. In Meru none other than the governor refused to release those wishing to study Obstetrics & Gynecology. Next door in Tharaka-Nithi, they declined gynecologists posted to them saying they have enough.

Magreb

unless things have changed in the few years sija kua Uni, no new machines or instruments will be bought.
sisi lecutrers walkua wana tuambia walitumia hizo instruments wakiwa uni. na sahi wako na watoi wako uni wanatumia hizo equipments.

shida yetu ni duplication of roles in every sector. thats why most of the money will always go to salaries and not buying modern equipment's/ buildings.....
It is only in Africa where a university vice chancellor will invest in real estate and get praised for it. Magoha na ile mama ya KU Olive Mugenda only have humongous buildings to account for their legacy at the universities they headed.

Luther12

@Luther12 when you were a registrar did the government pay your fees ama you paid for yourself?

Anza na undergraduate. Used to get Chacha (that’s what we called HELB, after it’s then head, Chacha Nyaigoti Chacha) ya 25k p.a. From this, 8k was deducted and paid directly to the university as part of tuition fee. The balance of 17k was then disbursed in two installments of 8.5k per semester. A typical semester then was about 32-36weeks; shared hostels (Halls 1-8 in Main) were at the time charged at Ksh. 28 (?) per student per day. Fanya hesabu. That, my friend, is how I became a fan of Neighbours on KTN and Home & Away on Nation Tv.

For post-graduate studies, it has always been a 50-50 split with Afya Hse and the post-grad students. Total often comes to >250k p.a. tuition fee only. Afya Hse often delays remitting it’s portion of the fee so, as a way of exerting pressure, UoN often bars those with tuition fee arrears from sitting their exams, forcing them to then hustle and pay then claim a refund later when Afya Hse comes through.

Besides tuition fees, there’s living expenses and costs that go into their research projects which then forms the rationale of study/ academic leave: you remain on pay during your study so that you can afford these costs and in return you’re bonded to work for the gov’t for a certain no. of years after graduation. The only way to obtain release from this bonding is to refund your nett salary that was paid during the duration of your study leave.

Challenge sasa kwa many counties ni eti wanaona paying people a salary while they’re on study (and therefore not actually working at the various county hospitals) is a waste of funds. They’d rather use those funds to hire mostly diploma and certificate cadres on lower pay and/ or offer substandard contracts (hakuna P&P terms) to degree cadres as well. So in a very short period we’re beginning to see a scenario where many counties have lotsa senior consultant doctors but no junior medical officers. Remember that medical practice is to a large extent a sort of hierarchical apprenticeship. So if the juniors aren’t there (by virtue of not being employed), from whom will they learn? Then the mess in succession planning within the public service rears its ugly head: as the seniors retire or resign, who’ll take over from them? With all these gaps cropping up, can you now begin to see why issues of medical malpractice are suddenly mushrooming all over the place? Every once in a while you see some counties advertising for consultants in various fields. If you interrogate keenly you’ll see those are counties who, 4-5yrs ago, refused to release their junior doctors for post-graduate study in those same fields. Sasa, nani huyo atatoka kwa private practice yake aje achukue contract ya miezi sita (I kid you not!) and put up with delayed salaries and all manner of frustrations?

Luther12

It is only in Africa where a university vice chancellor will invest in real estate and get praised for it. Magoha na ile mama ya KU Olive Mugenda only have humongous buildings to account for their legacy at the universities they headed.

It’s the norm all around. Grand monuments into which we sink millions and billions of shillings coz of vested interests.
Admittedly, some are essential (e.g lecture halls) but costs are way inflated.

Luther12

shida yetu ni duplication of roles in every sector.

On this, I dunno who decided that any and every public university should offer any and every course under the sun. I’d rather have a system where universities and colleges are centres of excellence in their chosen field. Yaani if I wanna train as a teacher najua hapo K.U has me sorted, nikitaka agricultural courses najua Egerton is the place to be, nikitaka IT-based courses najua JKUAT got my back, etc etc. What we have at the moment is a thoroughly wasteful duplication and mis-allocation of otherwise scarce resources.

Though I know in days gone by this was done with an eye on income from Module-II students.

Magreb

It’s the norm all around. Grand monuments into which we sink millions and billions of shillings coz of vested interests.
Admittedly, some are essential (e.g lecture halls) but costs are way inflated.
Nilicheka mpaka nikanyamba ile siku JKUAT, an agriculture and technology university, bought a building in the CBD in the name of expansion and development.

Mr Black

are we really trying to make universities turn a profit, what next, high schools, kenya police?
Yaani hata hawa watu wa IMF who authored such a report hawaoni lifetime earnings na PAYE that come from the trained people will cover many times over the investment in educating them

AU5

Administrator
Anza na undergraduate. Used to get Chacha (that’s what we called HELB, after it’s then head, Chacha Nyaigoti Chacha) ya 25k p.a. From this, 8k was deducted and paid directly to the university as part of tuition fee. The balance of 17k was then disbursed in two installments of 8.5k per semester. A typical semester then was about 32-36weeks; shared hostels (Halls 1-8 in Main) were at the time charged at Ksh. 28 (?) per student per day. Fanya hesabu. That, my friend, is how I became a fan of Neighbours on KTN and Home & Away on Nation Tv.

For post-graduate studies, it has always been a 50-50 split with Afya Hse and the post-grad students. Total often comes to >250k p.a. tuition fee only. Afya Hse often delays remitting it’s portion of the fee so, as a way of exerting pressure, UoN often bars those with tuition fee arrears from sitting their exams, forcing them to then hustle and pay then claim a refund later when Afya Hse comes through.

Besides tuition fees, there’s living expenses and costs that go into their research projects which then forms the rationale of study/ academic leave: you remain on pay during your study so that you can afford these costs and in return you’re bonded to work for the gov’t for a certain no. of years after graduation. The only way to obtain release from this bonding is to refund your nett salary that was paid during the duration of your study leave.

Challenge sasa kwa many counties ni eti wanaona paying people a salary while they’re on study (and therefore not actually working at the various county hospitals) is a waste of funds. They’d rather use those funds to hire mostly diploma and certificate cadres on lower pay and/ or offer substandard contracts (hakuna P&P terms) to degree cadres as well. So in a very short period we’re beginning to see a scenario where many counties have lotsa senior consultant doctors but no junior medical officers. Remember that medical practice is to a large extent a sort of hierarchical apprenticeship. So if the juniors aren’t there (by virtue of not being employed), from whom will they learn? Then the mess in succession planning within the public service rears its ugly head: as the seniors retire or resign, who’ll take over from them? With all these gaps cropping up, can you now begin to see why issues of medical malpractice are suddenly mushrooming all over the place? Every once in a while you see some counties advertising for consultants in various fields. If you interrogate keenly you’ll see those are counties who, 4-5yrs ago, refused to release their junior doctors for post-graduate study in those same fields. Sasa, nani huyo atatoka kwa private practice yake aje achukue contract ya miezi sita (I kid you not!) and put up with delayed salaries and all manner of frustrations?

Mimi hiyo Helb ilikuwa inalipa fees 100% then those fvckers added me to CRB for failing to repay their loan in 2 years because I did not have a job. Nilikuwa punished for being jobless.

Halafu when you apply for a job the employer asks for CRB clearance and wanaweza kukunyima for being listed hence keeping you in the cycle of poverty.

Mimi hiyo Helb ilikuwa inalipa fees 100% then those fvckers added me to CRB for failing to repay their loan in 2 years because I did not have a job. Nilikuwa punished for being jobless.

Halafu when you apply for a job the employer asks for CRB clearance an wanaweza kukunyima for being listed hence keeping you in the cycle of poverty.
a certain government PS once said it is impossible for people not to have a couple of thousand shillings in your pocket while walking in town