Effects of IMF SAPs zimeanza: Kenya is officially Fvck*d

AU5

Administrator
Sometime back last month David Ndii said that Kenya is officially broke and the young people are going to suffer

Well I guess after fuel price increase, other new effects now are in place. Post grad Medicine students from UON woke up to the news that the fees has tripled

1622023275492.png

well apparently IMF waliamua our school fees are way too low na lazima tuongeze pesa.

1622023386763.png

1622023405255.png

And now despite having a shortage of consultants we are going to lose prospective one's to other countries.

Welcome back to the 80's and 90's

Montecarlo

Actually in most developed nations university fees is not a joke....check fees for Havard, Oxford etc.....scholarships are also very few.
Though the these measures appear to be precipitated by a weak economy, ideally the government should've have stopped subsidizing education and instead made students loans available. Welfarism is not sustainable even for developed nations.

Actually in most developed nations university fees is not a joke....check fees for Havard, Oxford etc.....scholarships are also very few.
Though the these measures appear to be precipitated by a weak economy, ideally the government should've have stopped subsidizing education and instead made students loans available. Welfarism is not sustainable even for developed nations.
You must be joking. If you go to a campus like Kenyatta University it is very easy to recognize that a big population constitutes students who are in the lower class on the economic pyramid. Most of these survive on Helb. Helb money is sourced from the government coffers because despite what people say, many struggle to repay it after finishing school since there are no jobs.

How would increasing the fees by three times help JAB students acquire an education? How is burdening them with more loans going to help them pay in the future.

AU5

Administrator

wewe inakaa you live in your own reality that is not Kenya. A good chunk of us hata hiyo current 16k + accomodation hatungeweza lipia without HELB.

Also, you are mentioning Harvard here yet it's a Private University

Mr Black

Last I checked student loans have caused such furore in the states with claims they saddle graduates with dilabitating debt for decades, I am not sure we want to replicate the American model, we already have too many problems.

Pseudonyms

Actually in most developed nations university fees is not a joke
Lie number 1

scholarships are also very few.
Lie number 2

measures appear to be precipitated by a weak economy
Lie number 3

Welfarism is not sustainable even for developed nations.

Hii kitu unatusi welfarism has made Cuba, Chile, and the Korea rich. Several European countries like Sweden and Finland where you get a degree for a song would cringe to read your reply.

What are the fees at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam or a random Swedish institution? The USA is not the global yardstick.

are we really trying to make universities turn a profit, what next, high schools, kenya police?
Yaani hata hawa watu wa IMF who authored such a report hawaoni lifetime earnings na PAYE that come from the trained people will cover many times over the investment in educating them

Montecarlo

are we really trying to make universities turn a profit, what next, high schools, kenya police?
Yaani hata hawa watu wa IMF who authored such a report hawaoni lifetime earnings na PAYE that come from the trained people will cover many times over the investment in educating them
How are they supposed to sustain themselves? Your kid gets an education but the university staff and facilities will be maintained by the 'holy spirit's ama?

Ubongo

wewe inakaa you live in your own reality that is not Kenya. A good chunk of us hata hiyo current 16k + accomodation hatungeweza lipia without HELB.

Also, you are mentioning Harvard here yet it's a Private University
Kupata hiyo 16k ilikuwa shida.....I can attest to this

Montecarlo

Lie number 1

Lie number 2

Lie number 3

Hii kitu unatusi welfarism has made Cuba, Chile, and the Korea rich. Several European countries like Sweden and Finland where you get a degree for a song would cringe to read your reply.
Welfarism is not sustainable. A society has to sustain itself with the government providing an enabling environment.....

Sambamba

America is not the barometre .Higher Education is free in most of Europe and other developed countries .

AU5

Administrator
What are the fees at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam or a random Swedish institution? TheUSA is not the global yardstick.

Kuna mtu aliuliza why University education in Germany is free even for international students. Akaambiwa " you think most of those international students will go back to their countries? Once done most probably they will stay in Germany, get jobs in Germany, develop Germany, help Germany with RnD and Pay taxes in Germany. It's a minor investment by the German government for a greater good for their country"

Last I checked student loans have caused such furore in the states with claims they saddle graduates with dilabitating debt for decades, I am not sure we want to replicate the American model, we already have too many problems.
We already have replicated the American version of university education financing in our own way.

Many years later,despite trying to pay what I could,I am still in HELB rolls as a defaulter.