Potatoe crisix growing

You really are an educated fool if at your big age, you still cannot comprehend how to make a point without insults. Umeona wapi farmers wakifurahia hii story na tutawaambia mara ngapi that packaging regulation is welcome but the other aspects of the bill are backward?
I stand by my statement. Like Mwarimo, I am tired of seeing this senseless knee-jerk reactions to government policy every time. A law has not even lasted a month and bonoboz are all over the place acting royal. Ulikuwa wapi sheria ikidebatiwa Parliament? How many memos did you write? how many letters to the editor? Tweets to your MP?

Give me a ferking break bonobo!

Bonoboz-b-bonoboz. They complain when something is done and when something is not done.

Virtually all crops have to be regulated going forward. Anybody from the Waru Belt (Molo, Nyandarwa, North Kiambu, Meru, Narok etc) knows the kind of pain waru, cabbage and carrot farmers have been going through. Yaani what is outside a standard sack is more than what is in the sack. Total exploitation.

A new policy will always have teething problems anywhere on earth, but bonobz must show they are bright enough to criticise...................

Except these regulations will not give farmers the upper hand, they remain in a weak position for as long as they still need middlemen to deliver to the market.

What should follow is support for farmers' cooperatives (in terms of capital, technical expertise and especially oversight by SASRA to stem fraud which is killing confidence in cooperatives) to put up their own storage facilities which will naturally encourage grading, packaging and branding.

That would give them control of the supply-chain and guarantee higher returns for farmers, this is so very do-able and should be the priority for county governments

Except these regulations will not give farmers the upper hand, they remain in a weak position for as long as they still need middlemen to deliver to the market.

What should follow is support for farmers' cooperatives (in terms of capital, technical expertise and especially oversight by SASRA to stem fraud which is killing confidence in cooperatives) to put up their own storage facilities which will naturally encourage grading, packaging and branding.

That would give them control of the supply-chain and guarantee higher returns for farmers, this is so very do-able and should be the priority for county governments

Brilliant!

This is the kind of contribution I keep pressing people here to make. Not whining against a law they haven't read, but making practical, workable solutions. Asante sana.

Nikiwaita bonoboz wana-catch..................

Told you guys that behind the scenes, a lot of lobbying must have taken place by big-farma (see what I did there kikiki) corporations and I am not shocked if Twiga is one of the long-necked ones (damn, I should stop).
On a serious note, this trend is what makes capitalism so unfair to the masses while benefitting a few honchos.
Come on man. Govt regulation of markets is in the realm of socialism. Capitalism is all about free markets

The hiccups we are experiencing at the moment will eventually go away, and we will all wonder why it took so long to discover the new format of quantifying produce.

Hii kelele ni birth pangs za a new era.

Once upon a time, M.O-1's gov't introduced standardized metallic containers (in my locality they were called Nyayo) for use in cereal markets to replace the then ubiquitous Kimbo, Cowboy, Blueband tins.

Read the article sir.
I did and wondered why they had to use a file picture of local onions. Remember another time a creative reporter published a story that merchants were buying back masks from chemists for re-eport to China? It's time Kenyans learnt to identify planted stories - disinformation.

But the fact that we've been supplementing our national onion production with imports from TZ should be a wakeup call to the youth that there is still an opportunity in the crop.

Edit: And by the way @Nameless we also discussed another story here juzi that alleged that China tilapia was being sold on the Lake Victoria beach at Mihuru Bay, Migori county.

Come on man. Govt regulation of markets is in the realm of socialism. Capitalism is all about free markets
There is no such thing as free markets when it comes to food matters because food security is a critical aspect that impacts all others. A free market will easily kill off farmers in one season but offer no solution when shortages arise in the next.

Qualify that as staple food matters.

The policy is a replica of the potato farming by-laws made in a synchronized effort by potato growing counties and which followed extensive public participation.

But this kind of talk is expected from brokers....

This
View attachment 37693

As opposed to this
View attachment 37694
The brokers would want to continue the thievery in the lower picture.
Stories of giants!!ogres!
You want us to believe that the farmers willingly accepted to be slaves to the whims of processors ?
That they are happy to pay registration fees and be controlled by an entity that has long neglected them?

I did and wondered why they had to use a file picture of local onions. Remember another time a creative reporter published a story that merchants were buying back masks from chemists for re-eport to China? It's time Kenyans learnt to identify planted stories - disinformation.

But the fact that we've been supplementing our national onion production with imports from TZ should be a wakeup call to the youth that there is still an opportunity in the crop.

Edit: And by the way @Nameless we also discussed another story here juzi that alleged that China tilapia was being sold on the Lake Victoria beach at Mihuru Bay, Migori county.
I like how you disagree respectfully and offer facts while seeking more. Salute kwako..funza yule mzee kuwa heshima si utumwa