Potatoe crisix growing

Deep Sea

What's wrong with our learned policy makers. It was a common feature a few years back to see Milk farmers in County 018 Nyandarua pour milk in the street for luck of available market or milk coolers. Cats and Dog in many areas of the county had refused to partake the precious white liquid. A few months ago cabbage farmers, same county, had no option but to witness their hard cultivated cabbages lot for even their cows and goats refuced to feed on them.
Now some Officers in an ivory tower way above peasant Wanjiku's level has formulated policies that has killed potato farming.
Where pray is the wisdom of selling potato in KG while Mama mboga knows Kasuku na Bucket. How can a farmer in Rwanyambo, Shamata or Kanjuīri guarantee transportation of potatoes from their muddy hinterland to the nearest center for weighing to comply with imposed 50kg rule.
The worst has happened. A Potato crisis in the making. Transporters have abandoned the farmer. Mama mboga in City markets has now shunned potatoes. Imposed rules too unfriendly for practicability.
Meanwhile Potato farmers in County 018 are now throwing away potatoes. The potato industry employs many from the Farmers, Potato Scouts (Packers), Transporters, Mama mboga to mention a few.
Why enforce without consulting stake holders. I'm sure there was another way of taming merciless potato brokers without imposing theoretical policies. Why throw away the baby in the bucket full of bath water???
Tough times ahead for chips, crips and potato lovers. My honest opinion.

What's wrong with our learned policy makers. It was a common feature a few years back to see Milk farmers in County 018 Nyandarua pour milk in the street for luck of available market or milk coolers. Cats and Dog in many areas of the county had refused to partake the precious white liquid. A few months ago cabbage farmers, same county, had no option but to witness their hard cultivated cabbages lot for even their cows and goats refuced to feed on them.
Now some Officers in an ivory tower way above peasant Wanjiku's level has formulated policies that has killed potato farming.
Where pray is the wisdom of selling potato in KG while Mama mboga knows Kasuku na Bucket. How can a farmer in Rwanyambo, Shamata or Kanjuīri guarantee transportation of potatoes from their muddy hinterland to the nearest center for weighing to comply with imposed 50kg rule.
The worst has happened. A Potato crisis in the making. Transporters have abandoned the farmer. Mama mboga in City markets has now shunned potatoes. Imposed rules too unfriendly for practicability.
Meanwhile Potato farmers in County 018 are now throwing away potatoes. The potato industry employs many from the Farmers, Potato Scouts (Packers), Transporters, Mama mboga to mention a few.
Why enforce without consulting stake holders. I'm sure there was another way of taming merciless potato brokers without imposing theoretical policies. Why throw away the baby in the bucket full of bath water???
Tough times ahead for chips, crips and potato lovers. My honest opinion.
Let us call gavament people @bigDog to tell us whether this was critical thinking by gavament

Out of touch policies. If I was a policy maker, I would ensure that there is town hall meeting with the intended recipient of policies in the formulation stage so that their inputs can be captured.
The policy is a replica of the potato farming by-laws made in a synchronized effort by potato growing counties and which followed extensive public participation.

But this kind of talk is expected from brokers....

This
1623829070563.png

As opposed to this
1623829107514.png

The brokers would want to continue the thievery in the lower picture.

Out of touch policies. If I was a policy maker, I would ensure that there is town hall meeting with the intended recipient of policies in the formulation stage so that their inputs can be captured.
but road shows were conducted, kulikuwa na sensitization , ni guys were ignorant. Even after legislation it was done before implementation

The policy is a replica of the potato farming by-laws made in a synchronized effort by potato growing counties and which followed extensive public participation.

This
View attachment 37693

As opposed to this
View attachment 37694
While ensuring that the farmers are not swindled the other thing is a market for the farmers produce, did they come up with alternatives to the brokers, now that farmers produce is rotting at the shamba?

but road shows were conducted, kulikuwa na sensitization , ni guys were ignorant. Even after legislation it was done before implementation

This
View attachment 37693

As opposed to this
View attachment 37694
Have you guys read the new policy? Packaging isn't the only issue. Naona mnataja like it was the only kizungumkuti. Hebu mtupee hata sketch ama thermal image of public participation where it was agreed farmers should wash the farm fresh potatoes before haulage to the market.

Told you guys that behind the scenes, a lot of lobbying must have taken place by big-farma (see what I did there kikiki) corporations and I am not shocked if Twiga is one of the long-necked ones (damn, I should stop).
On a serious note, this trend is what makes capitalism so unfair to the masses while benefitting a few honchos.

Whereas the new packaging regulations may not solve the issue of farmer exploitation on its own, it is the first step toward standardization. Standardization in a market is a good thing because it brings about transparency. With the new packaging, a farmer in one area can tell the price a second farmer is receiving in a different area. Farmers can also tell how much their produce is fetching in the market. An informed farmer can bargain for better prices. At the same time, the consumer can easily quantify what she is getting.

The only reason brokers are opposed to the new regulations is because they remove market opaqueness, which they have been exploiting to the detriment of farmers and consumers. On the consumer end, we should now be able to buy potatoes in kilograms, the same way we do with onions. The use of the kilogram measure protects consumers from manipulations while permitting for price comparisons.

The hiccups we are experiencing at the moment will eventually go away, and we will all wonder why it took so long to discover the new format of quantifying produce. The next step should be to dismantle produce cartels in our markets so that we can market forces determine prices freely.

Whereas the new packaging regulations may not solve the issue of farmer exploitation on its own, it is the first step toward standardization. Standardization in a market is a good thing because it brings about transparency. With the new packaging, a farmer in one area can tell the price a second farmer is receiving in a different area. Farmers can also tell how much their produce is fetching in the market. An informed farmer can bargain for better prices. At the same time, the consumer can easily quantify what she is getting.

The only reason brokers are opposed to the new regulations is because they remove market opaqueness, which they have been exploiting to the detriment of farmers and consumers. On the consumer end, we should now be able to buy potatoes in kilograms, the same way we do with onions. The use of the kilogram measure protects consumers from manipulations while permitting for price comparisons.

The hiccups we are experiencing at the moment will eventually go away, and we will all wonder why it took so long to discover the new format of quantifying produce. The next step should be to dismantle produce cartels in our markets so that we can market forces determine prices freely.

true also the regulations are not cast in diamond. Farmers can still petition parliament to have them reviewed or repelled

wote wanapoteza, while mla chips will pay more, mkulima will get less.
goja uone murder rate ikipanda once hao so called potato inspectors start visiting homesteads looking for potato gardens and licences
Think bwana. The demand and supply of spuds will remain the same, with the price only being affected by the usual seasonal ups and downs. Ten tonnes of tatoes transported by a Fuso will still be ten tons whether in 50 kilo or extended bags.

Hii kelele ni birth pangs za a new era.

Have you guys read the new policy? Packaging isn't the only issue. Naona mnataja like it was the only kizungumkuti. Hebu mtupee hata sketch ama thermal image of public participation where it was agreed farmers should wash the farm fresh potatoes before haulage to the market.
We are discussing the issue that is the subject of this thread. Leta hizo issue zingine tuchambue.