To those with the ability for introspection, the Covid outbreak in Kenya has been an eye-opener. It has shattered myths, confirmed suspicions and dispelled some popular fallacies.
One of those myths and fallacies is that Kenyans are a hard-working, law-abiding people that are only let down by their leaders. The Covid Crisis has confirmed without doubt that they are NOT – which is something I have been saying since the days of Wanderi.
Anybody who has travelled the world knows what a disciplined society is like – people on the whole obey the law, larceny and petty crime is at a minimum, the sense of civic responsibility is high, and there is a certain pride in country and community.
This can barely be said of Kenyans. As a very astitute commentator noted (https://kenyanlist.net/index.php?th...nyan-man-i-can-tip-my-hat-to.4532/#post-58549), the one thing that has emerged from the Covid Crisis is that Kenyans are an indisciplined, oafish, buffoonish and primitive lot that can only do the right thing under the barrel of a gun and the pain of a nyahunyo. It’s like they are donkeys or warthogs, animals with minimal intelligence, memory and the understanding of simple principles like cause-and-effect.
Who, for example, in their right minds defies guidelines to keep social distance, wash hands, and wear face masks to protect their OWN health? WHO? Despite President Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta himself pleading with Kenyans to do the right thing, all one sees around are fellows trying to beat the ‘system’, as if it is the ‘system’ that is at risk of contracting and transmitting a deadly contagion.
To be sure, this stupid ‘ujuaji’ is not without precedence. Kenya today has the fourth largest HIV epidemic IN THE WORLD because of the same bonoboic bone-headedness. A fairly simple disease to prevent using condoms (which are given free by the way) has ravaged entire counties – wiping out families, parents, generations - because people cannot follow simple advice to save their lives. Instead of wearing condoms, they would rather make all manner of excuses; ni chira, hauwezi kula peremende na karatasi; ukitahiri uko immune; hii kitu ni ya Jaruo, Mweni hawezi kuwa nayo, etc ad nauseum. Only the Muslim counties have been spared the scourge for obvious reasons.
The next thing you see on TV is an emaciated, skeletal numb-skull with monkey eyes pleading with ‘sirikali’ to quicken the distribution of ARVs and enhance free education so that his 11 children can go through school.
This malaise ya petulant sub-basement IQ ‘ujuaji’, incidentally, cuts across the nation. Which is why, again, we have one of the highest burdens of TB in the world (top 5), among the top 10 highest per capita RTA death rate in the world (it is not uncommon to see a driver of a PSV driving at 120km/hr, without brakes!!), and why our cities are a unplanned mess with the biggest slums on the globe. Indiscipline, ujuaji, ushenzi, ubedhuli, ufala na ujinga ndiyo zetu.
The other day we all saw some supposedly intelligent and educated Kenyans jumping over walls to escape quarantine at KMTC. Well, I can tell you Kenyans, that is an unlikely thing to happen in Germany, South Korea or Japan where citizens are disciplined and use their heads properly. It is only monkeys and other unevolved apes that jump over walls to go infect their mothers, grandfathers and uncles with disease, not civilized people.
The excuse given that the quarantine facilities are in poor shape is just a cop-out; there are those, even members of this site, who have been there for more than 40 days and they are following the law! And did you see any women – who on the whole tend to be more disciplined than men – scale those walls to escape? Of course not!
Sadly, or perhaps more accurately, Darwinly, our indiscipline and failure to use common sense always leads to the same things – death, disease, poverty, destitution and pain. Cause-and-effect, predictable as day and night.
When everything goes south, we then pull out the usual and ever reliable scapegoat – OUR LEADERS - and engage in a wankfest on how they have screwed us, let us down, sold us to the Chinese, stolen everything, ferked up the economy, etc etc ad nauseum. It is as if the ‘leaders’ come from Mars, and not among ourselves.
In basic psychology, this is called ‘dissociation’. It is a coping mechanism that does not allow one to face the truth and reality of his existence, but to shift blame to a third party. It is what house niggas have always done for example; when they looked down on their own kind because they themselves were closer to the ‘massa’. They therefore must be better, right?
The simple truth is, Kenya’s leaders can do little to put the country on the right trajectory if the masses they lead are unthinking, indisciplined and greedy primitive monkeys bent on out-witting every effort to pull them out of their own misery.
I have said, for example, that no country can develop when the average Kenyan woman bears more than 4 children. Here, where you would expect a higher than average IQ, I have been met with the most ludicrous counter-arguments one can find; mtoto anakuja na sahani yake; a big population is an asset; it’s corruption and not population growth that is the problem; again, etc etc ad nauseum. No, let's not discuss the tax base or economic production, but defend the woman's right to procreate endlessly and demand for free education and free healthcare! Retarded cannot start to describe it.
The Covid Crisis has shown how far Kenyans on the whole have got addicted to the dissociation mechanism of blaming government for their own failures and stupidity. The cacophony of bonoboic voices in simply unprecedented.
Yet, the fact is, the Government has performed commendably in confronting the Covid Crisis. That is the truth, and nothing but the truth. Nobody can take that away. In fact, I can say without the risk of contradiction that Kenya is among the top 5 poor countries that have responded the best, which is why international donors are pouring resources here (again, this is a truth that will not stand well with many).
Kenya was, for example, among the first countries in the world to close down learning institutions, impose a night curfew and require non-essential personnel to work from home. Most of Europe, then the epicenter of the crisis, only followed this example, two to three weeks later. When President Uhuru ordered that all people visiting public areas wear masks, he was derided and abused. GERMANY FOLLOWED THAT EXAMPLE A WEEK LATER!
One of the lightning rods for unthinking sub-basement idiots during the current crisis has been the plane that landed in Nairobi in February with about 280 Chinese. As expected, the usual keyboard primates went ballistic; the corrupt, inept Kenyan government had 'sold out to China'. When CS Health Mutahi Kagwe politely and very intelligently said that we should be more concerned with planes flying from Europe, where the per capita infection rates were then, as now, ten times higher than in China, he was called all manner of names. But of course Mutahi was right – all cases that were susequently detected came not from the Chinese plane but from Europe!
Which reminds me to debunk that other utterly idiotic fallacy beloved of the unthinking masses that Kenya is beholden to the Chinese; in fact, when news of some isolated racial incidents against Blacks emerged, Kenya was the SECOND African country to send a note verbale to Beijing seeking explanation. So far, only seven have done so. Of course this is a truth not consistent with the propaganda.
It would seem, as Ngugi wa Thiong’o would say, Kenyans who find thinking hard have not decolonized the mind; mzungu is always clean kama pamba! The Chinese, who have never bombed, colonised or enslaved anyone are humanity's worst enemy. And if you dare say otherwise, like this writer and @Mwalimu-G have tried, then you are a Beijing bot, or worse. Stockholm Syndrome is real.
Talking of which, it is not difficult to see a political and tribal pattern to the on-going criticism and lamentations about the government. We should not forget for one minute that a significant section of the country, over 40 per cent, did not vote for the Jubilee government. Many also harbor deep set animosity against members of the Gema community. It is a sad reality.
These prejudices unfortunately colour any national debate, obsfucating the real issues.
It is not happenstance, therefore that the most berated senior members of government during this Covid Crisis are all from the same region. Macharia at Transport. Macharia, PS, Foreign. Uhuru. Mucheru at ICT. Kagwe and Mwangangi at Health. Caught in the mix is a hapless civil servant, Ms Serem, the ambassador to China, who also comes from the Jubilee heartland. (How a simple ambassador without a budget is expected to single-handedly repatriate hundreds of Kenyans is beyond me. But such questions are irrelevant when you are driving delegitimisation narrative).
Not Ukur Yattani at Finance, where all the money comes from, or Matiang’i who controls all the security apparatus. Not the multi-tribal National Security Council (NSC) which takes all the decisions!
I have already written too long already so let me conclude.
Nimesema na nitasema; unless Kenyans wake up and smell the coffee millions of us will continue to wallow in a miasma of poverty, self-hate, hatred of others, confusion, disease, suffering and death. The sad truth is that the majority of us are an indisciplined, buffoonish and primitive lot that more often than not acts like wild animals. We attract derision and contempt to yourselves from the rest of the world, and then complain bitterly of racism. We are bereft of the principle of cause-and-effect. If we don't act lie human beings we won't be treated as such (you think you face racism because of your leaders? YOU FACE RACISM BECAUSE OF YOUR GENERAL BEHAVIOUR!!!)
Let’s be truthful and honest. IT IS NOT OUR LEADERS TO BLAME. IT IS YOU AND I. US.
One of those myths and fallacies is that Kenyans are a hard-working, law-abiding people that are only let down by their leaders. The Covid Crisis has confirmed without doubt that they are NOT – which is something I have been saying since the days of Wanderi.
Anybody who has travelled the world knows what a disciplined society is like – people on the whole obey the law, larceny and petty crime is at a minimum, the sense of civic responsibility is high, and there is a certain pride in country and community.
This can barely be said of Kenyans. As a very astitute commentator noted (https://kenyanlist.net/index.php?th...nyan-man-i-can-tip-my-hat-to.4532/#post-58549), the one thing that has emerged from the Covid Crisis is that Kenyans are an indisciplined, oafish, buffoonish and primitive lot that can only do the right thing under the barrel of a gun and the pain of a nyahunyo. It’s like they are donkeys or warthogs, animals with minimal intelligence, memory and the understanding of simple principles like cause-and-effect.
Who, for example, in their right minds defies guidelines to keep social distance, wash hands, and wear face masks to protect their OWN health? WHO? Despite President Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta himself pleading with Kenyans to do the right thing, all one sees around are fellows trying to beat the ‘system’, as if it is the ‘system’ that is at risk of contracting and transmitting a deadly contagion.
To be sure, this stupid ‘ujuaji’ is not without precedence. Kenya today has the fourth largest HIV epidemic IN THE WORLD because of the same bonoboic bone-headedness. A fairly simple disease to prevent using condoms (which are given free by the way) has ravaged entire counties – wiping out families, parents, generations - because people cannot follow simple advice to save their lives. Instead of wearing condoms, they would rather make all manner of excuses; ni chira, hauwezi kula peremende na karatasi; ukitahiri uko immune; hii kitu ni ya Jaruo, Mweni hawezi kuwa nayo, etc ad nauseum. Only the Muslim counties have been spared the scourge for obvious reasons.
The next thing you see on TV is an emaciated, skeletal numb-skull with monkey eyes pleading with ‘sirikali’ to quicken the distribution of ARVs and enhance free education so that his 11 children can go through school.
This malaise ya petulant sub-basement IQ ‘ujuaji’, incidentally, cuts across the nation. Which is why, again, we have one of the highest burdens of TB in the world (top 5), among the top 10 highest per capita RTA death rate in the world (it is not uncommon to see a driver of a PSV driving at 120km/hr, without brakes!!), and why our cities are a unplanned mess with the biggest slums on the globe. Indiscipline, ujuaji, ushenzi, ubedhuli, ufala na ujinga ndiyo zetu.
The other day we all saw some supposedly intelligent and educated Kenyans jumping over walls to escape quarantine at KMTC. Well, I can tell you Kenyans, that is an unlikely thing to happen in Germany, South Korea or Japan where citizens are disciplined and use their heads properly. It is only monkeys and other unevolved apes that jump over walls to go infect their mothers, grandfathers and uncles with disease, not civilized people.
The excuse given that the quarantine facilities are in poor shape is just a cop-out; there are those, even members of this site, who have been there for more than 40 days and they are following the law! And did you see any women – who on the whole tend to be more disciplined than men – scale those walls to escape? Of course not!
Sadly, or perhaps more accurately, Darwinly, our indiscipline and failure to use common sense always leads to the same things – death, disease, poverty, destitution and pain. Cause-and-effect, predictable as day and night.
When everything goes south, we then pull out the usual and ever reliable scapegoat – OUR LEADERS - and engage in a wankfest on how they have screwed us, let us down, sold us to the Chinese, stolen everything, ferked up the economy, etc etc ad nauseum. It is as if the ‘leaders’ come from Mars, and not among ourselves.
In basic psychology, this is called ‘dissociation’. It is a coping mechanism that does not allow one to face the truth and reality of his existence, but to shift blame to a third party. It is what house niggas have always done for example; when they looked down on their own kind because they themselves were closer to the ‘massa’. They therefore must be better, right?
The simple truth is, Kenya’s leaders can do little to put the country on the right trajectory if the masses they lead are unthinking, indisciplined and greedy primitive monkeys bent on out-witting every effort to pull them out of their own misery.
I have said, for example, that no country can develop when the average Kenyan woman bears more than 4 children. Here, where you would expect a higher than average IQ, I have been met with the most ludicrous counter-arguments one can find; mtoto anakuja na sahani yake; a big population is an asset; it’s corruption and not population growth that is the problem; again, etc etc ad nauseum. No, let's not discuss the tax base or economic production, but defend the woman's right to procreate endlessly and demand for free education and free healthcare! Retarded cannot start to describe it.
The Covid Crisis has shown how far Kenyans on the whole have got addicted to the dissociation mechanism of blaming government for their own failures and stupidity. The cacophony of bonoboic voices in simply unprecedented.
Yet, the fact is, the Government has performed commendably in confronting the Covid Crisis. That is the truth, and nothing but the truth. Nobody can take that away. In fact, I can say without the risk of contradiction that Kenya is among the top 5 poor countries that have responded the best, which is why international donors are pouring resources here (again, this is a truth that will not stand well with many).
Kenya was, for example, among the first countries in the world to close down learning institutions, impose a night curfew and require non-essential personnel to work from home. Most of Europe, then the epicenter of the crisis, only followed this example, two to three weeks later. When President Uhuru ordered that all people visiting public areas wear masks, he was derided and abused. GERMANY FOLLOWED THAT EXAMPLE A WEEK LATER!
One of the lightning rods for unthinking sub-basement idiots during the current crisis has been the plane that landed in Nairobi in February with about 280 Chinese. As expected, the usual keyboard primates went ballistic; the corrupt, inept Kenyan government had 'sold out to China'. When CS Health Mutahi Kagwe politely and very intelligently said that we should be more concerned with planes flying from Europe, where the per capita infection rates were then, as now, ten times higher than in China, he was called all manner of names. But of course Mutahi was right – all cases that were susequently detected came not from the Chinese plane but from Europe!
Which reminds me to debunk that other utterly idiotic fallacy beloved of the unthinking masses that Kenya is beholden to the Chinese; in fact, when news of some isolated racial incidents against Blacks emerged, Kenya was the SECOND African country to send a note verbale to Beijing seeking explanation. So far, only seven have done so. Of course this is a truth not consistent with the propaganda.
It would seem, as Ngugi wa Thiong’o would say, Kenyans who find thinking hard have not decolonized the mind; mzungu is always clean kama pamba! The Chinese, who have never bombed, colonised or enslaved anyone are humanity's worst enemy. And if you dare say otherwise, like this writer and @Mwalimu-G have tried, then you are a Beijing bot, or worse. Stockholm Syndrome is real.
Talking of which, it is not difficult to see a political and tribal pattern to the on-going criticism and lamentations about the government. We should not forget for one minute that a significant section of the country, over 40 per cent, did not vote for the Jubilee government. Many also harbor deep set animosity against members of the Gema community. It is a sad reality.
These prejudices unfortunately colour any national debate, obsfucating the real issues.
It is not happenstance, therefore that the most berated senior members of government during this Covid Crisis are all from the same region. Macharia at Transport. Macharia, PS, Foreign. Uhuru. Mucheru at ICT. Kagwe and Mwangangi at Health. Caught in the mix is a hapless civil servant, Ms Serem, the ambassador to China, who also comes from the Jubilee heartland. (How a simple ambassador without a budget is expected to single-handedly repatriate hundreds of Kenyans is beyond me. But such questions are irrelevant when you are driving delegitimisation narrative).
Not Ukur Yattani at Finance, where all the money comes from, or Matiang’i who controls all the security apparatus. Not the multi-tribal National Security Council (NSC) which takes all the decisions!
I have already written too long already so let me conclude.
Nimesema na nitasema; unless Kenyans wake up and smell the coffee millions of us will continue to wallow in a miasma of poverty, self-hate, hatred of others, confusion, disease, suffering and death. The sad truth is that the majority of us are an indisciplined, buffoonish and primitive lot that more often than not acts like wild animals. We attract derision and contempt to yourselves from the rest of the world, and then complain bitterly of racism. We are bereft of the principle of cause-and-effect. If we don't act lie human beings we won't be treated as such (you think you face racism because of your leaders? YOU FACE RACISM BECAUSE OF YOUR GENERAL BEHAVIOUR!!!)
Let’s be truthful and honest. IT IS NOT OUR LEADERS TO BLAME. IT IS YOU AND I. US.