This is Guka - I Stand With Justice Said Chitambwe.............

By the way, we kenyans are law makers. We should make our law according to how we want our society to be.

Do not trigger me madam. I have a very low tolerance for BS. Kwani watoto wa Britain na Europe huko uko mature faster juu their ages of consent are lower?
There's nothing like an old fool. . . .
Age of consent in UK is 16. There's a reason they have those laws because they know that a person under the age of 16 canot bear the responsibility of raising a child let alone understand the implications of engaging in sex.
In the UK, a 16 year old can get a job and hopefully manage to feed that child, how would a Kenyan 16 year old feed her child?
Does she even understand the implications of having sex?

Age of consent in the US 18 same as in kenya.
Minors are not capable of giving informed consent when engaging in sex period!
That's the reason there are age limits to drinking, driving and voting children do not have the capacity to make proper judgments on certain issues!

I don't support or even condone paedophilia or underage sex but the sentences in Kenya are punitive, actually excessive. Unless it was rape it should not exceed 20yrs ,renember you are wasting a full productive life.
Now imagine the teacher who was caught with a sudent is sentenced for a long term and yet the student was 22yrs.
I just worry that if we start bending the rules it will be a slippery slope and we might end up where SA is.

That's where we disagree madam. I'm all for protecting children. Lakini hiyo yako is surely very punitive and inhumane. Let's take a hypothetical girl, Anita, who turns 18 next week, she happens to be attending USIU as a first year. Supposing g she has consensual sex with a boy aged exactly 18 years. Let's call him Allan.

Your position is that we should criminalize Allan's behaviour while letting Anita free. That's irrespective of their relative ages. Siyo? Given that to most men tend to have relationships with younger women, don't you think this is overly discriminative?

Let's have an honest discussion here. How would you feel if your 18 year old some were jailed for life because he had consensual sex with a girl aged 17.99 years?
The point you're all missing is that the law applies equally to both girls and boys under 18. It's intended to serve as a deterrent and also protect ALL children from exploitation .
Some countries make some exceptions such as if the age gap is only an year or if the couple is married.

I just worry that if we start bending the rules it will be a slippery slope and we might end up where SA is.
Its not about bending, its about equity of law, the crime should equal punishment. You jail that 24yr old for life for consensual sex with a minor (17yr old) yet the girl continues to have a full life, marries and lives to die at 90. There is also contributory negligence on the girls part, she could even have passed off as 25yrs.

A 60yr old geezer who condemned 100,000 people to abject poverty through corruption to 1yr and also destroys economy.

While at it i don't even believe the robbery with violence /penal code is equitable, even drugs and narcotics is unfair. Corruption is destroying more lives than bhang and co.

The point you're all missing is that the law applies equally to both girls and boys under 18. It's intended to serve as a deterrent and also protect ALL children from exploitation .
Some countries make some exceptions such as if the age gap is only an year or if the couple is married.

Bring me the numbers. Tell me how many women have been jailed for sexual offences in Kenya. I can only remember a situation in Kisumu when a certain lady pleaded guilty. I invite you to give me a justification as to why an 18 year old should be jailed for having consensual sex with a 17.5 year old. What is the purpose of jailing such a person?

Mark you that such laws will disappropriately affect boys. I wouldn't want to encourage them lakini let the punishment fit the crime. Giving a young man a life sentence doesn't feel right. I have children and wouldn't want to have them jailed for making such silly mistakes.

My daughter turns 15 this May.

If a 16-25 yr old rapes her - police case.
16-18 yr old consensual sex- Family meeting.( To deter her from such shenanigans I told her I will marry her off to the negro she decides to have sex with while she is still under my roof)
26-75 yr old rapes her - Death.
26-75 yr has consensual sex with her - Death.

Law aside, Let's engage this topic as parents. What would you do in the above scenerio ?
My answers are in bold.

Bring me the numbers. Tell me how many women have been jailed for sexual offences in Kenya. I can only remember a situation in Kisumu when a certain lady pleaded guilty. I invite you to give me a justification as to why an 18 year old should be jailed for having consensual sex with a 17.5 year old. What is the purpose of jailing such a person?

Mark you that such laws will disappropriately affect boys. I wouldn't want to encourage them lakini let the punishment fit the crime. Giving a young man a life sentence doesn't feel right. I have children and wouldn't want to have them jailed for making such silly mistakes.

Ahem . . . . In your rushed outrage I think you missed the last part of what I said, I'll put it in bold here for you
Some countries make some exceptions such as, if the age gap is only an year or if the couple is married.
We ought to be discussing making some amendments to the law not trashing it!

The fact that it's not reported when boys are abused does not mean that the law is not intended to protect ALL minors , it probably means that girls are disproportionately vulnerable to abuse or that the abuse of boys is under reported

On convictions:
Any thinking person would know that its much easier to tell when a girl is abused because . . . . surprise, they get pregnant!
Secondly, semen is deposited in women and can be collected and DNA tested to pin point the culprit , proving abuse for boys becomes difficult unless its sodomy.

Now let me turn this around for you and I'd want you and all the anti statutory rape proponents to give me answers
What would you do if:
  1. An18 year old boy had consensual sex with your 16 year old son?
  2. A 24 year old teacher had consensual sex with your 16 year old son?
  3. 50 year old man had consensual sex with your 16 year old son?

Feminist need to be realistic and logical, we can't shutter down a life of a teenager on the basis of emotions and loop sided laws.

A 20yr old lady cannot stand dating a 21yr old man because he is "immature". But when a 17yr old girl have consented sex with a 18yr old boy that's where they draw the line.