There's nothing like an old fool. . . .Do not trigger me madam. I have a very low tolerance for BS. Kwani watoto wa Britain na Europe huko uko mature faster juu their ages of consent are lower?
I just worry that if we start bending the rules it will be a slippery slope and we might end up where SA is.I don't support or even condone paedophilia or underage sex but the sentences in Kenya are punitive, actually excessive. Unless it was rape it should not exceed 20yrs ,renember you are wasting a full productive life.
Now imagine the teacher who was caught with a sudent is sentenced for a long term and yet the student was 22yrs.
The point you're all missing is that the law applies equally to both girls and boys under 18. It's intended to serve as a deterrent and also protect ALL children from exploitation .That's where we disagree madam. I'm all for protecting children. Lakini hiyo yako is surely very punitive and inhumane. Let's take a hypothetical girl, Anita, who turns 18 next week, she happens to be attending USIU as a first year. Supposing g she has consensual sex with a boy aged exactly 18 years. Let's call him Allan.
Your position is that we should criminalize Allan's behaviour while letting Anita free. That's irrespective of their relative ages. Siyo? Given that to most men tend to have relationships with younger women, don't you think this is overly discriminative?
Let's have an honest discussion here. How would you feel if your 18 year old some were jailed for life because he had consensual sex with a girl aged 17.99 years?
Its not about bending, its about equity of law, the crime should equal punishment. You jail that 24yr old for life for consensual sex with a minor (17yr old) yet the girl continues to have a full life, marries and lives to die at 90. There is also contributory negligence on the girls part, she could even have passed off as 25yrs.I just worry that if we start bending the rules it will be a slippery slope and we might end up where SA is.
The point you're all missing is that the law applies equally to both girls and boys under 18. It's intended to serve as a deterrent and also protect ALL children from exploitation .
Some countries make some exceptions such as if the age gap is only an year or if the couple is married.
Bring me the numbers. Tell me how many women have been jailed for sexual offences in Kenya. I can only remember a situation in Kisumu when a certain lady pleaded guilty. I invite you to give me a justification as to why an 18 year old should be jailed for having consensual sex with a 17.5 year old. What is the purpose of jailing such a person?
Mark you that such laws will disappropriately affect boys. I wouldn't want to encourage them lakini let the punishment fit the crime. Giving a young man a life sentence doesn't feel right. I have children and wouldn't want to have them jailed for making such silly mistakes.
We ought to be discussing making some amendments to the law not trashing it!Some countries make some exceptions such as, if the age gap is only an year or if the couple is married.
I couldn't agree with her more. An offence is an offence. End of.
why should a 15-year-old boy be punished for having consensual sex with a 14-year-old girl?
You cannot consent if you are a minor.why should a 15-year-old boy be punished for having consensual sex with a 14-year-old girl?
yes you canYou cannot consent if you are a minor.
The age of consent is the age at which a person is considered to be legally competent to consent to sexual acts.yes you can
A 16yo has sex with a 17yo?The age of consent is the age at which a person is considered to be legally competent to consent to sexual acts.
In Kenya's case 18.