CS Opiyo: Adani US indictment will not affect the Ketraco electricity deal

Then? Based on my small research Adani has never been convicted of corruption. If they have, I will be happy to be corrected.

Now that Gautam has been indicted, it has activated 41(c) and the PPP process for JKIA was cancelled and KETRACO contract voided.

So what exactly is this miracle law?

Then? Based on my small research Adani has never been convicted of corruption. If they have, I will be happy to be corrected.

Now that Gautam has been indicted, it has activated 41(c) and the PPP process for JKIA was cancelled and KETRACO contract voided.

So what exactly is this miracle law?
Shinda ya gavament blogger ndio hii, Andani was cancelled by Ruto due to being a suspect of corruption pale Amerika, lakini huku Ruto appoints Kidero who's facing corruption charges in Kenya. Na gavament blogger anasema Ruto is fighting corruption, ama corruption is only corruption when pointed out by Amerika?

Where are the convictions boss?
First, can you see at least 3 instances where the company has been charged with corruption? Since these were in the public domain, why didn't they stop the process the same way the US charges did?

Almost all those corruption scandals are in India. The difference with the US one is that it makes it difficult for the Adani group to raise capital. One of their biggest sources for cheap USD denominated debt is the US. If they can't raise the capital for the projects because of the indictment for who knows how long, then why would you sustain the contract?

Jisomee

It is reported that Ethiopia's Bole Int. Airport adopted the idea, and now the Ethiopian recently (2023) overtook us.

I can't read the entire article because of the paywall. Ethiopia did well on the airport. It probably cost a fortune. A fortune they probably borrowed. It is probably one of the reasons they defaulted and are in receivership for God knows how long.

Almost all those corruption scandals are in India. The difference with the US one is that it makes it difficult for the Adani group to raise capital. One of their biggest sources for cheap USD denominated debt is the US. If they can't raise the capital for the projects because of the indictment for who knows how long, then why would you sustain the contract?
You are wrong on several fronts. One, you don't cancel a contract simply because you suspect the other party will be unable to fulfill it; you wait for them to indicate so otherwise you become liable. Second, the company's operations remain on track, and most small projects and engagements are unlikely to be affected. Investors will continue to fund the company.

The government cancelled the contracts due to the negative publicity it would have generated. The issue was going to become a popular talking point in all public discourses, especially considering that they have been charged for the exact crimes Kenyan's were suspecting. So, the government is simply saving itself from embarrassment.

You are wrong on several fronts. One, you don't cancel a contract simply because you suspect the other party will be unable to fulfill it; you wait for them to indicate so otherwise you become liable. Second, the company's operations remain on track, and most small projects and engagements are unlikely to be affected. Investors will continue to fund the company.

The government cancelled the contracts due to the negative publicity it would have generated. The issue was going to become a popular talking point in all public discourses, especially considering that they have been charged for the exact crimes Kenyan's were suspecting. So, the government is simply saving itself from embarrassment.
Okay. I rest my case.