Auditor General. TZ v Kenya

HE Madam Samia: I today received reports for financial year 2019/2020 from Tanzania's Auditor General (CAG) & the anti-corruption body (PCCB). I direct that immediate action be taken on all shortcomings identified in the reports.

In Kenya the auditor general raised queries on nearly a third of Kenya's 2013/4 budget. No support given. Now the chickens are coming home to roost and we're all asking ourselves where did the rain start beating us

HE Madam Samia: I today received reports for financial year 2019/2020 from Tanzania's Auditor General (CAG) & the anti-corruption body (PCCB). I direct that immediate action be taken on all shortcomings identified in the reports.

In Kenya the auditor general raised queries on nearly a third of Kenya's 2013/4 budget. No support given. Now the chickens are coming home to roost and we're all asking ourselves where did the rain start beating us

This is the better comparison
Oliver Mathenge (@OliverMathenge) Tweeted:
"Corruption being used as a political circus... Mnataka nifanye nini... that I have not done?" - President Uhuru Kenyatta, October 18, 2016. https://t.co/I6I4jn81Df

This is the better comparison
Oliver Mathenge (@OliverMathenge) Tweeted:
"Corruption being used as a political circus... Mnataka nifanye nini... that I have not done?" - President Uhuru Kenyatta, October 18, 2016. https://t.co/I6I4jn81Df

then in 2017

IMG_20210403_092556.jpg

IMG_20210403_092602.jpg

Utaambiwa the President has very little powers to affect the war on corruption, until he needs to get rid of Sonko then he can even abuse terrorism laws, every institution we are told he has no power over he has used to squeeze his political opponents.

Utaambiwa pia it is not his job to lead the war against corruption totally ignorant of the fact that constututionally the President is the Head of State and Government, corruption is killing us because we hold the President to a very low standard, too low.

Hizi takwimu ziko wapi?
This is from Daily Nation.
23M gives you +40% Poverty rate in Kenya.

IMG-20210403-105845.jpg

According to the link below from WorldBank which you can find by searching "Tanzania poverty rate 2020" you will see only 27.2% of their population (58M) is considered poor.
Food in Tanzania is extremely cheap.

Utaambiwa the President has very little powers to affect the war on corruption, until he needs to get rid of Sonko then he can even abuse terrorism laws, every institution we are told he has no power over he has used to squeeze his political opponents.

Utaambiwa pia it is not his job to lead the war against corruption totally ignorant of the fact that constututionally the President is the Head of State and Government, corruption is killing us because we hold the President to a very low standard, too low.
When that fails ataambiwa tunazaana kama panya :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

The biggest corruption enabler in Kenya is the judiciary. Why do we insist that the president does something with his hands tied at his back? Why cant we reform the judiciary?

You've swallowed that lie hook line and sinker.
The courts said Miguna should return back, but someone is not allowing him in. Hiyo kifua wanatumia kuprevent Miguna from returning can be used to fight corruption.

The biggest corruption enabler in Kenya is the judiciary. Why do we insist that the president does something with his hands tied at his back? Why cant we reform the judiciary?

We will only ever make progress in the war against corruption (and every other national problem) when the President brings every institution with a role to play together and agree on targets and a roadmap, that is why the President is the Head of State.

It is not a unique situation, the President has done it in our fight against covid19, he does the same for education, for our fight against terrorism, corruption is no different, it is the President's job to knit together the efforts of state organs and agencies hence the authority to act as Head of State and Government.

The war against Al shabaab demonstrates it is possible for government organs and agencies to work towards a shared vision, even the Judiciary you point fingers at has been totally on board.

Lakini @Okiya hujapeana the full picture in Tz. The reason this report came out the way it did was to enable the lady start cleaning house. The first victim was the MD of Tanzania Ports Authority, a close Magufuli guy. The second place appears to be Air Tanzania where for all Magufuli years financial results were never made public, this time losses for all 5 of Magufuli years were reported. Its clear Padlocks had sacred cows that the lady appears to be sweeping out, wacha tuone who her sacred cows will be. The Auditor general was very sleepy during the presentation and jokes were he had spent sleepless nights editing his report since he had a new boss to report to

We will only ever make progress in the war against corruption (and every other national problem) when the President brings every institution with a role to play together and agree on targets and a roadmap, that is why the President is the Head of State.

It is not a unique situation, the President has done it in our fight against covid19, he does the same for education, for our fight against terrorism, corruption is no different, it is the President's job to knit together the efforts of state organs and agencies hence the authority to act as Head of State and Government.

The war against Al shabaab demonstrates it is possible for government organs and agencies to work towards a shared vision, even the Judiciary you point fingers at has been totally on board.

He did it with Maraga, only for the later to break ranks. Frankly speaking, can the president arm twist the judiciary like he can the other institutions? His power is deliberately limited for some (usually good) reason. Unfortunately, he can't dismantle the judiciary cartels.