This is Guka - I Am Starting to Think Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta is Being Demonised for Being a Gikuyu 'Prince'................

Budspencer

2020 Dairy Meal High yield 50Kg cost - 2,200/-

2018 Dairy Meal High yield 70kg cost - 1,800/-

Cotton seed cake price per KG 20/21 - 80/-
Cotton seed cake price per KG 14/15 - 20/-

Wheat Bran 40KG 20/21 - 1050/-
Wheat Bran 40KG 13/14 - 500/-

Price per litre of raw milk from farm 20/21 - 37/-
Price per litre of raw milk from farm 12/13 - 40/-

Aaaah! The dairy sector is vibrant!

Farm inputs

12/13:
DAP - 1,600/- per 50kg bag.

Price per 90kg bag - 3,200/-

20/21:
DAP fertilizer 3500/- per 50KGs bag.

Price per 90kg bag - 2,400/-

Summary: Tea and coffee farmers very important. Maize, sugar and dairy farmers wajipange.

2020 Dairy Meal High yield 50Kg cost - 2,200/-

2018 Dairy Meal High yield 70kg cost - 1,800/-

Cotton seed cake price per KG 20/21 - 80/-
Cotton seed cake price per KG 14/15 - 20/-

Wheat Bran 40KG 20/21 - 1050/-
Wheat Bran 40KG 13/14 - 500/-

Price per litre of raw milk from farm 20/21 - 37/-
Price per litre of raw milk from farm 12/13 - 40/-

Aaaah! The dairy sector is vibrant!

Farm inputs

12/13:
DAP - 1,600/- per 50kg bag.

Price per 90kg bag - 3,200/-

20/21:
DAP fertilizer 3500/- per 50KGs bag.

Price per 90kg bag - 2,400/-

Summary: Tea and coffee farmers very important. Maize, sugar and dairy farmers wajipange.
Fantastic bro. You are one of the few who is not a bonobo. This is the kind of engagement I have been looking for, not Moguka base shit.

If your figures are correct, and I have no reason to doubt them, then here gavament has failed badly.

I just love your level-headed approach to issues.

As I have readily admitted, Uhuru ferked up with the debt issue. I think he was banking on oil to balance the books. Of ourse this hasn't worked out.

Having said this, I humbly submit that Uhuru's legacy is mixed. Kenya continues to be the one of the eading FDI destinations in Africa. The years before Covid witnessed above 5% growth in GDP. We are starting to reap the dividends of the unprecedented expansion in infrastructure - in my native Ndeiya, we now have tens of brand new millionaires because the value of their land has sky-rocketed with new roads, water systems and electricity.

I prophesy that Uhuru will i future be remembered as one of the most transformational presidents Kenya has ever had.

Even with corruption, there's a case to be made that greater access to social media and freedom of speech are why we think it has increased; people just report it more. I may not necessarily agree with this, but it is a talking point.
Thank you for the compliment.
I am happy you brought up the issue of land making people millionaires. In developed countries it is totally unheard off with these levels of inflation in the prices of land in comparison to GDP.

Land is a factor of production and the more expensive it gets the more inaccessible it is and the more the price of the product increases.

There is a reason home ownership is at an all time low. Everybody is building in the village which bring issues of security, lack of access to electricity, internet connectivity, water and road networks killing productivity.

On FDI I agree. But FDI relies on a couple of things. Security, Political stability and Affordable factors of production. The plan for example on the SGR was to have EPZ's developed around it to help the export cheaply and efficiently and also provide them with cheap electricity.

But what has happened? The SGR cost was greatly inflated, whether you like it or not Uhuru took the rail to his shamba, and primarily failed to get it to malaba making the project worthless. The next government will now have to come in and take one more loan to get it there to make the rail worth it.

Shall we also talk about the toll road to the airport which is being rushed before Uhuru retires and talk about corruption, greed and misplaced priorities?

Even when Moi died, people in Rift Valley who benefitted from the nice roads and good Universities at the expense of the rest of the nation also speak ill of his presidency. What of Uhuru in this age of information and social media?

Thank you for the compliment.
I am happy you brought up the issue of land making people millionaires. In developed countries it is totally unheard off with these levels of inflation in the prices of land in comparison to GDP.

Land is a factor of production and the more expensive it gets the more inaccessible it is and the more the price of the product increases.

There is a reason home ownership is at an all time low. Everybody is building in the village which bring issues of security, lack of access to electricity, internet connectivity, water and road networks killing productivity.

On FDI I agree. But FDI relies on a couple of things. Security, Political stability and Affordable factors of production. The plan for example on the SGR was to have EPZ's developed around it to help the export cheaply and efficiently and also provide them with cheap electricity.

But what has happened? The SGR cost was greatly inflated, whether you like it or not Uhuru took the rail to his shamba, and primarily failed to get it to malaba making the project worthless. The next government will now have to come in and take one more loan to get it there to make the rail worth it.

Shall we also talk about the toll road to the airport which is being rushed before Uhuru retires and talk about corruption, greed and misplaced priorities?

Even when Moi died, people in Rift Valley who benefitted from the nice roads and good Universities at the expense of the rest of the nation also speak ill of his presidency. What of Uhuru in this age of information and social media?
Again, thanks for a balanced response and the points you have made. You deserve the compliments because you are addressing specific issues without much emotion.

I however think you are wrong on several scores.

1. I still haven't gotten evidence that Uhuru terminated the SGR at his shamba. My understanding is that it terminated at a public ICD.

As far as the SGR itself is concerned, you need to remember that such public projects are LONG-TERM and are NOT profit-making ventures. They are supposed to catalyse development. The SGR has been in existence for all of three years so you can't fairly judge its viability. Was the cost of building it exaggerated? Probably, given the crazy compensation rates that were happening. Fr that gavament is to blame.

2. I didn't understand this

You mean developing the rural areas is bad?

3. Again, I don't understand your point on FDI. If Kenya is such a bad investment destination how come its the leading FDI in East and Central Africa, more than 20 countries?

4. What exactly is wrong with a toll road which is a build-and-operate, and where the tax-payer is not paying anything

Again, thanks for a balanced response and the points you have made. You deserve the compliments because you are addressing specific issues without much emotion.

I however think you are wrong on several scores.
1. I still haven't gotten evidence that Uhuru terminated the SGR at his shamba. My understanding is that it terminated at a public ICD.

- "The land at Suswa on which the railway terminates is part of an expansive holding—over 70,000 acres—known as Kedong Ranch. Owned by a company of the same name, Kedong Ranch Ltd, the land was expropriated from the Maasai community in the colonial era. Like many other holdings, it was not restituted to the community but instead became available for purchase under Jomo Kenyatta’s willing buyer-willing seller policy.
Two years ago, Muhotetu Farmers Company’s shareholding was acquired by a company going by the name of Newell Holdings Ltd. for Sh2.1 billion in a transaction that some shareholders have challenged in court as highly irregular." ~
The Elephant

2. I didn't understand this

You mean developing the rural areas is bad?

- I am putting the point across that land prices continue to increase exponentially making this critical factor of production impossible to acquire.

Take the example of a young person in the outskirts of Nairobi working in the City. Instead of potentially owning a home and cutting costs, this person cannot afford one because the exorbitant land prices are factored into the final price of the home. This person's money, instead of going into investing or business is all taken up by rents and bills instead of investing in a home.

3. Again, I don't understand your point on FDI. If Kenya is such a bad investment destination how come its the leading FDI in East and Central Africa, more than 20 countries?

- That is why I mentioned political stability. Look around East Africa and Central Africa. How many countries have a politically stable environment. In East Africa you can say maybe Ethiopia despite their current ethnic crashes and Rwanda despite being a dictatorship. Kenya is the only one that is not at war with itself until the general elections. Central Africa the same. We are comparing Kenya to DRC, Cameroon, Gabon etc. We are the most liberal and democratic nation in both these regions no wonder we attract so much FDI.

4. What exactly is wrong with a toll road which is a build-and-operate, and where the tax-payer is not paying anything

- Inherently there is no issue at all but when you think about it, who will be paying the toll on this road? I am talking about projected numbers who will be using this road daily. Assuming they are struggling to hit their daily, monthly, or annual quota what will happen? Will they attempt to force people to use the road as they are doing with the SGR cargo being sent to Naivasha first while it is meant to be in Nairobi? Will they increase the toll fee? Remember the fee is already being adjusted to cushion the operator from interest rate adjustments. Does the contract have a clause where it suggests that any shortfalls should be covered by the tax payer just like now KPA has to do with SGR?

JazzMan

did not say that Uhuru STARTED the SF programme. He ENHANCED it. Today virtually all formations have SF components, whic was NOT the case in 2013.
ESTABLISHING inamaanisha ENHANCED kwa dictionary gani?

No president has done as much as Uhuru has for the security sector. From buying the first APCs for the police to establishing SFs to buying new transports for the airforce and attack helos for the army,
Wacha ningoje evidence yako on this...

As far as equipment to the forces are concerned I know its Uhuru's gavament that has bought the police new guns and APCs. I is Uhuru's gavament that has bought the airforce and army new helos and transports. It is Uhuru's gavament that is buying the army 100 MRAPs from Turkey. It is Uhuru's gavament that has established a joint command that has seen Al Shabaab not able to launch attacks in Nairobi as they used to.
When Moi finally left, it was discovered that the state KDF was in was deplorable. That's why Kibaki had to initiate various programs to see that KDF regains capabilities it had lost, while gaining new ones. Here is a document indicating the formation of KSOF started in 2005.

Here is an excerpt...

"5. (C) The Kenyan Army plans to establish a 900-man KSOF Battalion located at GilGil, Kenya by September 2011. This unit will consist of 450 front line troops organized into three companies with an additional company in support. Battalion staff, a headquarters company, a heavy mortar platoon, a reconnaissance platoon and an anti-tank platoon will complete a Kenyan doctrinal light infantry battalion of 900 men. The unit is currently designated as a rapidly deployable motorized unit. However, Kenyan aspirations are to expand deployment options to include Air Mobile (helicopter) and Airborne (parachute) when the necessary platforms become available to move and train the unit. U.S. trainers believe that the Kenya Army is on track to form the unit as described and in the proposed time, exceeding their original expectations. "

Nowhere have I talked about jasiri, but of course you can always throw in crap that has nothing to do with anything in to buttress your argument
Jasiri was a part of the Anglo Leasing deals initiated by Kibaki. Its inclusion is to show you how far these deals go and these things you are praising macho nyanya for had already been planned for before he set foot in State House.

Mfalme

Kenyans are entrepreneurial, apart from our main jobs most people also engage in side hustles. The first article here from BD.

Summary: Too many taxes introduced. If you have been operating a business for the past 2 years, you will have noticed an introduction of many new taxes. The article states that within 9 months in 2020, the government had introduced 5 new tax laws. One of these taxes is the minimum tax, which is payable whether you made profit or not.

Tax certainty is an important issue in business.

Mfalme

The other thing I dislike about the current President is the fact that he has this arrogance like he is above the law. We all saw what happened in Nairobi County. A duly elected Governor pushed out of office through deceit and threats. It does not matter if we have a million kms of tarmac or we discover the cure for AIDS, for me the most precious document is the constitution and the practice of rule of law.

Mfalme

Biggest scandal of his reign.
Nothing will ever top this!!

NIC, CBA bank merger exempted from paying millions in share sale tax

The Treasury has exempted the merged CBA and NIC bank from paying share transfer tax running into hundreds of millions of shillings.

Suspended Treasury Secretary Henry Rotich had exempted the transfer of CBA shares into NIC Bank from paying stamp duty of one percent of worth of the unquoted stocks being transferred.

The transaction is taking place though a share swap between the two banks, with current NIC group shareholders owning 47 percent of the merged entity and CBA shareholders including the Kenyatta family owning 53 percent of the merged entity.

NIC Group will remain listed, suggesting a transfer of the CBA unquoted shares, which makes them liable for the one percent stamp duty tax.

The deal did not quote the value of CBA shares, but analysts estimate the value of 53 per cent stake at Sh35 billion based on the book value of Sh65 billion when the deal was announced—putting the stamp duty charge at more than Sh350 million.

“The Cabinet Secretary for the National Treasury and Planning, on the recommendation of the Cabinet Secretary for Lands and Physical Planning, directs that the instruments executed in respect of the transactions relating to the merger of NIC Group PLC and Commercial Bank of Africa shall be exempt from the provisions of the Act,” Mr Rotich said in a June 26 legal notice that was made public Friday. Stamp duty is a tax charged on several transactions such as transfer stock, land and houses and ranges from one percent to four per cent of the property value.

Transfer of unquoted shares like the CBA stock attracts a stamp duty of one percent, but sale of quoted shares like NIC bank’s are exempted from the tax. The merged bank will have an asset base of Sh466 billion, making it the region’s third-largest after KCB and Equity.

The merged lender will count among its top owners some of Kenya’s most renowned billionaire investors and political figures, shareholder information on the two lenders has revealed.

The Kenyattas currently hold a 24.92 percent stake in CBA while Phillip Ndegwa family, which founded NIC Bank, has a 25 percent interest in the listed lender.

Businessman Naushad Merali will end up with a 2.9 percent equity based on his present direct ownership of a 5.6 percent stake in CBA.

The other thing I dislike about the current President is the fact that he has this arrogance like he is above the law. We all saw what happened in Nairobi County. A duly elected Governor pushed out of office through deceit and threats. It does not matter if we have a million kms of tarmac or we discover the cure for AIDS, for me the most precious document is the constitution and the practice of rule of law.
That clown should be in jail.

The Treasury has exempted the merged CBA and NIC bank from paying share transfer tax running into hundreds of millions of shillings.

Suspended Treasury Secretary Henry Rotich had exempted the transfer of CBA shares into NIC Bank from paying stamp duty of one percent of worth of the unquoted stocks being transferred.

The transaction is taking place though a share swap between the two banks, with current NIC group shareholders owning 47 percent of the merged entity and CBA shareholders including the Kenyatta family owning 53 percent of the merged entity.

NIC Group will remain listed, suggesting a transfer of the CBA unquoted shares, which makes them liable for the one percent stamp duty tax.

The deal did not quote the value of CBA shares, but analysts estimate the value of 53 per cent stake at Sh35 billion based on the book value of Sh65 billion when the deal was announced—putting the stamp duty charge at more than Sh350 million.

“The Cabinet Secretary for the National Treasury and Planning, on the recommendation of the Cabinet Secretary for Lands and Physical Planning, directs that the instruments executed in respect of the transactions relating to the merger of NIC Group PLC and Commercial Bank of Africa shall be exempt from the provisions of the Act,” Mr Rotich said in a June 26 legal notice that was made public Friday. Stamp duty is a tax charged on several transactions such as transfer stock, land and houses and ranges from one percent to four per cent of the property value.

Transfer of unquoted shares like the CBA stock attracts a stamp duty of one percent, but sale of quoted shares like NIC bank’s are exempted from the tax. The merged bank will have an asset base of Sh466 billion, making it the region’s third-largest after KCB and Equity.

The merged lender will count among its top owners some of Kenya’s most renowned billionaire investors and political figures, shareholder information on the two lenders has revealed.

The Kenyattas currently hold a 24.92 percent stake in CBA while Phillip Ndegwa family, which founded NIC Bank, has a 25 percent interest in the listed lender.

Businessman Naushad Merali will end up with a 2.9 percent equity based on his present direct ownership of a 5.6 percent stake in CBA.
This is a clear case of conflict of interest and possibly corruption.

The
This is a clear case of conflict of interest and possibly corruption.
Amazing, can you tag the turncoat

Just look at most of the replies here. Insults, insults, insults. No substance, just bonobos jumping up and down excitedly like apes on steroids with no facts, just muguka-base crap.

When somebody for example says Uhuru routinely CALLS - lifts a phone and dials - to defeat justice or advance his relas interests and I ask, WERE YOU THERE WHEN HE WAS CALLING, I get insults. Am sori bonobos, huu ni ujinga na upambavu na ushenzi. TALK FACTS. GIVE VERIFIABLE DATA AND STATISTICS. Otherwise just shut the ferk up and take that mushene where the sun ne'er shines.
This is rich coming from one whose word of the month is bonobo, I'd urge you to take a long hard look in the mirror.

Sir, AGAIN - FOR THE UMPTEENTH TIME - LET'S DEAL WITH FACTS.

Give me irrefutable proof that the milk is imported from China and wherever. Like, quote import numbers and stuff.

Otherwise, if you want to deal in rumours that is your business.
LET'S DEAL WITH FACTS.

Give me empirical evidence that the milk is produced in Uganda. Like, the number of cows, the breed, regions producing milk in litres annually , number of coolers and milk processing factories and their capacity and stuff. 😁 😁

Otherwise, I'd take everything your frothing about as just rumours or perhaps you're just a newly hired hack earning his keep😁

Meanwhile try wrapping your mind around this report

2016 - Jan - dec - 3 million liters
2019 - jan - sep -110.7 million litres!!

What kind of Frankenstein cows are these that can increase production by 3000%?

"There is an evolving dairy sector trade war in East Africa underway, driven in part by the use of imported milk powders in the production of low cost reconstituted dairy products which are then traded regionally. With Kenyan dairy milk processors witnessing lower sales in Western Kenya which border Uganda (1), in December 2019, the Kenyan authorities sent a delegation to Uganda to verify if milk imports coming into Kenya were of Ugandan origin and did not originate in a third country (2).

This followed a sudden ‘surge in volumes of imported milk purportedly from Uganda’ and growing complaints from Kenyan dairy companies operating in the border region. Kenyan data suggested ‘milk imported from East African Community (EAC) member States hit 110.7 million litres between January and September from three million litres in 2016’, with most of these imports coming from Uganda. It was felt Uganda lacked the production capacity to generate such export volumes from domestic production (2)."

LET'S DEAL WITH FACTS.

Give me empirical evidence that the milk is produced in Uganda. Like, the number of cows, the breed, regions producing milk in litres annually , number of coolers and milk processing factories and their capacity and stuff. 😁 😁

Otherwise, I'd take everything your frothing about as just rumours or perhaps you're just a newly hired hack earning his keep😁

Meanwhile try wrapping your mind around this report

2016 - Jan - dec - 3 million liters
2019 - jan - sep -110.7 million litres!!

What kind of Frankenstein cows are these that can increase production by 3000%?

"There is an evolving dairy sector trade war in East Africa underway, driven in part by the use of imported milk powders in the production of low cost reconstituted dairy products which are then traded regionally. With Kenyan dairy milk processors witnessing lower sales in Western Kenya which border Uganda (1), in December 2019, the Kenyan authorities sent a delegation to Uganda to verify if milk imports coming into Kenya were of Ugandan origin and did not originate in a third country (2).

This followed a sudden ‘surge in volumes of imported milk purportedly from Uganda’ and growing complaints from Kenyan dairy companies operating in the border region. Kenyan data suggested ‘milk imported from East African Community (EAC) member States hit 110.7 million litres between January and September from three million litres in 2016’, with most of these imports coming from Uganda. It was felt Uganda lacked the production capacity to generate such export volumes from domestic production (2)."
Ha ha ha ha ha! Dude, the burden of proof is always on the prosecution, NOT the defence. Try another one.................