This is Guka - Choices Have Consequences...

This is how low we have dropped that we are citing fourth formers as the example of dumbness? Zamani form four leavers were knowledgeable enough to be trained as foundation teachers.
Good sir, you are deliberately misrepresenting me. I used the word 'dropouts' and qualified it further with those that visit jaba bases. I am sure this narrows that demographic considerably....

Which model do you propose?
  1. Each of the major road arteries to Nairobi should have a major transport hub that's about 20Km from the CBD. All these hubs should have mass rapid connections.
  2. The city center should have a few minor hubs along with scheduled buses like those that used to be operated by KBS zamani.
  3. Private vehicles should be discouraged by charging a congestion charge. You pay toll charges just to get to the city center.
  4. The existing matatu saccos should be encouraged to invest in buses through tax waivers.
  5. Bus manufacturers could also be encouraged to setup local assembly plants. This coupled with strict safety standards would eliminate 13 seaters from major roads. Ziende huko mashinani.

1. Each of the major road arteries to Nairobi should have a major transport hub that's about 20Km from the CBD. All these hubs should have mass rapid connections.
  2. The city center should have a few minor hubs along with scheduled buses like those that used to be operated by KBS zamani.
  3. Private vehicles should be discouraged by charging a congestion charge. You pay toll charges just to get to the city center.
  4. The existing matatu saccos should be encouraged to invest in buses through tax waivers.
  5. Bus manufacturers could also be encouraged to setup local assembly plants. This coupled with strict safety standards would eliminate 13 seaters from major roads. Ziende huko mashinani.
Thank you, and public transport should operate based on a schedule , not waiting fill up.

The cartel behind the matatu is bigger than what you see on the surface . Hii mambo ya bus sahau , we also messed up the main BRT corridor i.e Kangemi to Imara Daima by building the expressway. Thika road is already terrible at its peak with the worst points being Pangani and Globe roundabout.(strike out your 1st point )
Have you ever asked yourself why major long-distance bus companies have their companies registered in Uganda but are used to ferry people in Kenya ? = High taxation in Kenya .
How the hell did KeNHA approve two footbridges - Delarue and Garden City with the bridges not having a provision for the BRT ramp?

The bridges were constructed while the BRT plan was in place .

Buy efficient trains to serve the three lines namely
  • Central Station - Limuru
  • Central Station - Thika
  • Central Station - Athi River
Compare the bridges done by Chinese when Thika road was being built and the ones built at Garden City and Delarue .
These two were built many years ago before i even knew about the BRT Plans - Safari Park and Roysambu respectively.
1661625735683.png

1661625823217.png

The shiny and new bridges with no provision .
1661626236161.png

1661626484218.png

The cartel behind the matatu is bigger than what you see on the surface . Hii mambo ya bus sahau , we also messed up the main BRT corridor i.e Kangemi to Imara Daima by building the expressway. Thika road is already terrible at its peak with the worst points being Pangani and Globe roundabout.(strike out your 1st point )
Have you ever asked yourself why major long-distance bus companies have their companies registered in Uganda but are used to ferry people in Kenya ? = High taxation in Kenya .
How the hell did KeNHA approve two footbridges - Delarue and Garden City with the bridges not having a provision for the BRT ramp?

The bridges were constructed while the BRT plan was in place .

Buy efficient trains to serve the three lines namely
  • Central Station - Limuru
  • Central Station - Thika
  • Central Station - Athi River
Compare the bridges done by Chinese when Thika road was being built and the ones built at Garden City and Delarue .
These two were built many years ago before i even knew about the BRT Plans - Safari Park and Roysambu respectively.
View attachment 73703
View attachment 73704

The shiny and new bridges with no provision .
View attachment 73706
View attachment 73707
Hii cartel that you guys talk about Iko wapi? Matatu sector is the most disorganized sector. The traffic cops huwakulia mfuko kama njugu karanga every day. Which organized cartel would allow itself to bleed as much cash as matatu owners do? The owners barely break even alafu ukiongeza wizi ya driver na conductor inakuwa shida kabisa. Ebu tuulize kamagira @QuadroK4000 atuelishe zaidi.

Even if there were cartels, the government is just too powerful to be overcome. Do you remember when Michuki rules were introduced? Si Hawa jamaa waligoma for days and then wakatii?

This idea would work great if the current matatu owners were consulted during drafting of laws for transport management. This way their legitimate interests would be addressed. However, if their personal interests do not align with the public good, they should be shoved aside. The government is there to provide a conducive business environment only. It shouldn't protect personal profit interests at the cost of the tax payer.

Thank you, and public transport should operate based on a schedule , not waiting fill up.
Filling up is required because we have too many vehicles on the road competing for little business during off peak hours. A bigger company with a fleet of buses would schedule downtime for fleet maintenance during off peak hours. A bigger fleet means they could use modern scheduling technology that our matatu industry cannot use. It would also earn the government more revenue because it's easier to collect tax from bigger companies.

Hii cartel that you guys talk about Iko wapi? Matatu sector is the most disorganized sector. The traffic cops huwakulia mfuko kama njugu karanga every day. Which organized cartel would allow itself to bleed as much cash as matatu owners do? The owners barely break even alafu ukiongeza wizi ya driver na conductor inakuwa shida kabisa. Ebu tuulize kamagira @QuadroK4000 atuelishe zaidi.

Even if there were cartels, the government is just too powerful to be overcome. Do you remember when Michuki rules were introduced? Si Hawa jamaa waligoma for days and then wakatii?

This idea would work great if the current matatu owners were consulted during drafting of laws for transport management. This way their legitimate interests would be addressed. However, if their personal interests do not align with the public good, they should be shoved aside. The government is there to provide a conducive business environment only. It shouldn't protect personal profit interests at the cost of the tax payer.
Mwanzo,

Rekebisha Hapo,

Halafu nikupeleke na rieng....

Filling up is required because we have too many vehicles on the road competing for little business during off peak hours. A bigger company with a fleet of buses would schedule downtime for fleet maintenance during off peak hours. A bigger fleet means they could use modern scheduling technology that our matatu industry cannot use. It would also earn the government more revenue because it's easier to collect tax from bigger companies.
Hehe

Giggz

Jiji iliachiliwa...jana niliona Sakaja ametuma ma tipper zilikuwa zinabeba takataka uvundo yenye ilikuwa iyo CBD and yet we had NMS & NCG wacha tuone ka atarudisha sanity ama ni kiherehere za siku ya kwanza kwa job
Do you know how much garbage this town produces ? Thats garbage for less than 1wk.

Reactions: Jug

Giggz

NCG wa somehow de-toothed by the NMS in terms of many functions, however towards the end of it's term NMS haikuwa na pesa vile so they were unable to undertake the garbage collection and other activities. Hence the confusion. They only had many uniformed thugs that would chase hawkers and clamp cars for extortion.
Pesa imegulwa.

Giggz

Pole sana, I once did the same mistake and drove into the odeon area taking some relative to board those UG buses! Never again. I had to leave my mom's in the car and take them on foot and come back search for mom who had moved just a few meters from where I left her, terrified coz she'd never been in such a situation.
Next time we went down there, we had to park uptown and walked down to that area.
It's an understatement to say we need to get rid of matatu out of town.
I wonder what reasoning you guys use, ama ni upperdeck people problems. You should eject one vehicle that emptys 38 people at once and replace it with 15-20 saloon cars, we have a huge problem than we think.

Giggz

We don't invest in mass transit transport systems. The "civil service" ie constant factor in county and national gavas have heavily invested in the current broken down system , they don't have any urge to change. We don't allocate land and resources to our transport systems. We don't influence our political processes right at the grassroots ie nominations but expect to get sensible leaders.

Giggz

The government has destroyed unions in the name streamlining. Now people have to seek protection via other routes ie bribery.

I wonder what reasoning you guys use, ama ni upperdeck people problems. You should eject one vehicle that emptys 38 people at once and replace it with 15-20 saloon cars, we have a huge problem than we think.
Actually we did not suggest that , we suggest a better public transport system , something in the line of BRT or trains.
Seems you didn’t read through all the discussions on this thread .