Sh*thole country...

What is misplaced nationalism?

Anyways, I wouldn’t say it’s brainwashing, it’s just stoking people’s intrinsic desire to retain their freedoms and their culture, and a general averseness against globalism.
Brexit: happened not because of brainwashing but because the people wanted to retain their autonomy, their culture, their nation,
Trump: happened not because he is a demagogue, but because people are innately against the globalist agenda - but I know you might want to call the globalist agenda a conspiracy theory.
Globalism is an inevitability and the new reality. No country can afford to isolate itself because one needs to sell what they produce competitively and import what is uneconomical to produce.
Misplaced nationalism is when you end up with poorly thought out policies like Brexit that limit your markets.

Riva

Globalism is an inevitability and the new reality. No country can afford to isolate itself because one needs to sell what they produce competitively and import what is uneconomical to produce.
Misplaced nationalism is when you end up with poorly thought out policies like Brexit that limit your markets.
What of cultural globalism, is that an inevitability we should embrace and is it feasible? Do we want to drop our cultural heritage for new values? whose values are we embracing? Why are we better off embracing the new and dropping what we know? etc etc
Are you skeptical enough to question why we need a curfew in Kenya like in the rest of the world? Why we can’t have gatherings without caveats like in the rest of the world? Why we all need to have masks that we don’t even wear correctly? Isn’t this global behaviorial conditioning? What ground is being prepared here? Etc etc

On nationalism, when a whole nation/majority population votes for Brexit, are they all wrong, do we know better what they need/what is good for them than themselves?
E.g EU voted to have a biodatabase for all Europeans. For such an important decision, passed at EU parliament level, was the “common mwananchi” involved? If people feel like they’re being pushed around and their way of life is being changed by powers beyond their control and they vote to exit, from whose perspective is this display of nationalism misplaced?

Riva

when that majority is bigoted old fools who still think england rules the world, then yes, they are all wrong..for the common mwananchi in uk brexit has no benefit at all.. not one single thing
If we vote majority no for BBI, and a talker at jamii forum thinks BBI is good for Kenyan cohesion, are we all bigoted fools for not embracing BBI, which the said talker suggests is good for the Kenyan mwananchi wa kawaida? From whose perspective is BBI good and to whom does BBI truly matter?

emali

If we vote majority no for BBI, and a talker at jamii forum thinks BBI is good for Kenyan cohesion, are we all bigoted fools for not embracing BBI, which the said talker suggests is good for the Kenyan mwananchi wa kawaida? From whose perspective is BBI good and to whom does BBI truly matter?
BBI only matters to uhuru and raila.. mwananchi wa kawaida atafaidika aje? but I get the comparison... lakini brexit was mainly fuelled by immigration

On BBI I was opposed to it but after serious perusing it, and reflecting on our antagonistic political mannerisms, I saw it as a panacea for the perennial ethnic tensions brought about by politicians around and during electioneering period, I considered it good.
At a personal level I live in machakos county, muthama the current sweetheart of hustlers movt, had told the Kaos to evict the majority Kiuks, Kisii and Luhyas in macha with a token Luo, kaleh, vaites and Boranas residing in the area, it's only that it was untenable due to factors that I won't disclose to the public.
To me a person who resides 5 counties away from my 'home' county, BBi is good for me and my family.

Ssabasajja

BBI only matters to uhuru and raila.. mwananchi wa kawaida atafaidika aje? but I get the comparison... lakini brexit was mainly fuelled by immigration
How are Brexit things over there omwami? France has been complaining a lot regarding fishing rights.

emali

How are Brexit things over there omwami? France has been complaining a lot regarding fishing rights.
fishing rights ni vitu raia hatujui.. what we know is going to EU is no longer straightforward.. those of us who used to drive there now cannot without extra paperwork.. insurance etc... you also haveto mind what you export there... mwiba wa kujindunga huu... on the other hand its good for commonwealth citizens.. for me personally its a win win win situation..

Ssabasajja

fishing rights ni vitu raia hatujui.. what we know is going to EU is no longer straightforward.. those of us who used to drive there now cannot without extra paperwork.. insurance etc... you also haveto mind what you export there... mwiba wa kujindunga huu... on the other hand its good for commonwealth citizens.. for me personally its a win win win situation..
Kuna opportunity for Kenyans watu watafute visa? Hehehehe, kamwana will drive this country off a cliff.

ShakaZulu

There used to be some african scholarships to Europe to study social arts in various university, they would brainwash students to think they are the most educated and can think for the rest. You would find these students allover social media shoving their opinions on others with a mentality they do not know better. When you see majority acting in a way you need to sit back and put on their shoes to feel where it hurts.