In the newspapers

You should be very concerned about the millions of farmers who have already bought the fake subsidised fertiliser in readiness for planting (Star headline).
I try and not partake of too much negativity all the time. It's not healthy you know?

algorithm

I try and not partake of too much negativity all the time. It's not healthy you know?
See no evil, hear no evil. Sawa we all keep cool as the country hurtles into the abyss....or as the house burns.

1711016784795.png

Extraordinary people make things happen, while the ordinary criticize and whine. You have to give it up to the president. Amesema mtakatwa pesa ya affordable housing mpende msipende and he is finally having his way despite the legal hurdles. On the other hand, another fellow wasted a whole presidential term pushing garbage and gave up as soon as the courts placed the first hurdle in his way. A breath of fresh air to be honest.

His tactic of putting the formally employed vs those without paychecks is working, I see.
Hehe...I am the last person to be influenced by those kind of tired tactics. I am just a great believer in the idea of affordable housing. Also, quite unenthusiastic about Kenyans whining over everything and anything to the point it requires force to move people from their comfort zone.

Kibaki did it by raising taxes. Today if you ask people how Kibaki managed to raise revenues and thus grow the economy, very few will know the answer.

Swansea

Hehe...I am the last person to be influenced by those kind of tired tactics. I am just a great believer in the idea of affordable housing. Also, quite unenthusiastic about Kenyans whining over everything and anything to the point it requires force to move people from their comfort zone.

Kibaki did it by raising taxes. Today if you ask people how Kibaki managed to raise revenues and thus grow the economy, very few will know the answer.
Majority of Kenyans are barely making it. They can barely put three square meals on the table and you're here talking about "affordable housing".

What is the unemployment rate amongst the youth & country in general? How will they pay for those "affordable housing"?

Do you see how ridiculous you sound?

Majority of Kenyans are barely making it. They can barely put three square meals on the table and you're here talking about "affordable housing".

What is the unemployment rate amongst the youth & country in general? How will they pay for those "affordable housing"?

Do you see how ridiculous you sound?
Sema YOU can't afford to pay for the houses. Just because you don't have the capacity to understand the program let alone the ambition and vision to appreciate the opportunity at hand, hio ni shida yako..

Furthermore, there will never be a day when every Kenyan can afford three meals a day. Those perfect conditions will never exist. Hence the need for the housing stimulus program to generate jobs and stimulate an entire juakali industry.

algorithm

Amesema mtakatwa pesa ya affordable housing mpende msipende and he is finally having his way despite the legal hurdles. On the other hand, another fellow wasted a whole presidential term pushing garbage and gave up as soon as the courts placed the first hurdle in his way. A breath of fresh air to be honest.
You cheer on a dictator who disregards the law, a gluttonous ogre that has gone berserk, keep on cheering the ogre until ukufikie and eats you. Its now eating the salaried with the stupid housing and health deductions. Juzi imefikia watu wa afokado. Saa hii all the hasoras have removed paybill numbers from their businesses coz the ogre is slapping them with turnover tax after logging into the paybills. Why should a teacher working deep in the village in mathira or kapenguria or lokichogio be deducted money to build houses in distant lands, houses he will never own or live in?

algorithm

Sema YOU can't afford to pay for the houses. Just because you don't have the capacity to understand the program let alone the ambition and vision to appreciate the opportunity at hand, hio ni shida yako..

Furthermore, there will never be a day when every Kenyan can afford three meals a day. Those perfect conditions will never exist. Hence the need for the housing stimulus program to generate jobs and stimulate an entire juakali industry.
How did Kibaki stimulate the housing sector? He made credit affordable by reducing interest rates from 30% wakati wa moi to 14%. Then people borrowed to build houses and there was a housing boom that generated jobs and boosted the economy. But now we are back to the dark ages where interest rates are 27% and few can afford house loans. Then the political class has come up with a scheme to grab public land all over the country and grab cash from all salaried employees so that they can use the grabbed land and grabbed cash to build themselves and their cronies houses all over. Any houses built on public land using public funds (ie the forced deductions from salaried citizens) should remain public property and not transferred to private individuals.

You cheer on a dictator who disregards the law, a gluttonous ogre that has gone berserk, keep on cheering the ogre until ukufikie and eats you. Its now eating the salaried with the stupid housing and health deductions. Juzi imefikia watu wa afokado. Saa hii all the hasoras have removed paybill numbers from their businesses coz the ogre is slapping them with turnover tax after logging into the paybills. Why should a teacher working deep in the village in mathira or kapenguria or lokichogio be deducted money to build houses in distant lands, houses he will never own or live in?
Your taxes are also used to pay a stimulus package to vulnerable wazee. Since you will never eat that money even in your old age, does it make you angry? You also pay a road maintenance levy when you buy fuel, how does it feel knowing you will never drive the entire network of Kenyan roads to recoupe you hard earned taxes? Save me the whinny bubble!

How did Kibaki stimulate the housing sector? He made credit affordable by reducing interest rates from 30% wakati wa moi to 14%. Then people borrowed to build houses and there was a housing boom that generated jobs and boosted the economy. But now we are back to the dark ages where interest rates are 27% and few can afford house loans. Then the political class has come up with a scheme to grab public land all over the country and grab cash from all salaried employees so that they can use the grabbed land and grabbed cash to build themselves and their cronies houses all over. Any houses built on public land using public funds (ie the forced deductions from salaried citizens) should remain public property and not transferred to private individuals.
I was not even talking about housing during Kibaki's time. I was referring to how he raised revenues. But quick question, how did Kibaki bring down bank interest rates btw?