Imagine going to jail because of Sh300

abbychumz

1669362193585.png

A 21-year-old man was arraigned in court after he stole a piece of chicken meat worth Sh 300 from his employer at Chokaa area, Nairobi County. The suspect, Martin Mwai, admitted that he stole the chicken meat from his employer- Quality Meat Packers on November 16, 2022.

The court heard that the proprietor of the quality meat packers, Solomon Munyaka, received information from a guard that Mwai had been intercepted leaving the company with one kilo of chicken meat hidden in his trousers.

Mwai was taken to Mawe Mbili Police Post, where the meat was photographed and handed back to Munyaka. The suspect was placed in custody before he was released on a cash bail of Sh5000.

During the hearing of the case, a picture of the meat was presented in court as exhibit. In mitigation, the accused pleaded for leniency saying he stole because he was hungry.Resident Magistrate Mercy Thibaru sentenced Mwai to serve 14 days in jail should he fail to pay a fine of Sh1000.

Let me tell you how it works.
A guard is paid 2X whatever the value of the item he manages to recover. Kama hapa Sasa amepata 600.
It works like magic

Probably a toxic employer. Si ata heri ufute msee job. Sasa the poor lad has a criminal record smh
It depends on circumstances that the employer finds himself in. I would consider prosecuting if there are many cases of repeated offenses by many employees. Pilfering by employees can bring a business down if it's not swiftly brought to an end.

Come to think of it, why not use this method as a detterence? Ukiiba unajua utaenda jela.

It depends on circumstances that the employer finds himself in. I would consider prosecuting if there are many cases of repeated offenses by many employees. Pilfering by employees can bring a business down if it's not swiftly brought to an end.

Come to think of it, why not use this method as a detterence? Ukiiba unajua utaenda jela.
Firing on the spot and forfeiting your pay would work wonders. In a criminal case you won't recoup your loss, he will be jailed and you will only drive fear into your employees.

Exactly and all this petty crimes and misdemeanours are wasting precious time in our courts. Some disturbance and loitering charges take years to be concluded.

Or we get those village courts like Rwanda which operate within the law but provide for swift settlement of such cases at the kijiji level. Tukueni serious Bwana @bigDog

That would work in circumstances where the pain of losing the job is greater than the gain in obtaining stolen property.

Exactly and all this petty crimes and misdemeanours are wasting precious time in our courts. Some disturbance and loitering charges take years to be concluded.

Or we get those village courts like Rwanda which operate within the law but provide for swift settlement of such cases at the kijiji level. Tukueni serious Bwana @bigDog
Behind everyone of those crimes is a victim who is doing an honest business and paying taxes. Theft by employees can have a very negative impact and may even cause business to collapse. Those that have tried to run small businesses will tell you how frustrating pilfering can be. Pesa ni ya loan alafu an entitled @$$hole that you employed anaiba yote!

Some of those miscreants are very creative! They can keep stealing for a long time. Wewe unajua wanaiba but you don't have evidence. Hapo nikipata kamoja kanaenda jela.

Behind everyone of those crimes is a victim who is doing an honest business and paying taxes. Theft by employees can have a very negative impact and may even cause business to collapse. Those that have tried to run small businesses will tell you how frustrating pilfering can be. Pesa ni ya loan alafu an entitled @$$hole that you employed anaiba yote!

Some of those miscreants are very creative! They can keep stealing for a long time. Wewe unajua wanaiba but you don't have evidence. Hapo nikipata kamoja kanaenda jela.
Two issues here.
No one is justifying any sort of crime. Just saying we can be reasonable in handling such matters. Before justice system ya Beberu, our societies knew how to deal with, and especially petty offenders. Tuko pamoya?

Two issues here.
No one is justifying any sort of crime. Just saying we can be reasonable in handling such matters. Before justice system ya Beberu, our societies knew how to deal with, and especially petty offenders. Tuko pamoya?
A jail sentence of 14 days or fine of 1,000 is not a fitting punishment. Why should criminals be let off this lightly? Don't we use fines and jailing as punishment to detter people from commiting these crimes?

The jail time doesn't have to be custodial. It should be substituted for community service orders.

Two issues here.
Being reasonable is two way.
The thief wasn't reasonable.
Why should I be?