FARMING as a separate forum category

Kalel

An acre can do atleast 12000 seedlings..tena note this is open field, and is prone to massive fungal infections sanasana times like now, again are you using farrow or drip irrigation!..I have not seen the figures of irrigation set-up or petrol for water pump , and fungicides, pesticides and fertilizers, and labour for staking tomatoes, spraying, harvesting, spraying, fertilizer application.
An acre on my end is close to 10000 seedlings due to the spacing.I'm using furrow irrigation and as I have stated above,cost is on a case by case basis.
I'll try and use my case
Diesel pump Carlton high pressure 70000
HPDE pipes 3" 12*32000
Stakes 6000pieces @ 3 bob(plus transport)
Labour 300 bob a day
Fertilizer DAP 6,CAN 6, NPK 6 bags
Fungicides and pesticides will depend on where you source them from and as for spraying regime,I spray every week.
NB:This is for an acre

Ramses

An acre on my end is close to 10000 seedlings due to the spacing.I'm using furrow irrigation and as I have stated above,cost is on a case by case basis.
I'll try and use my case
HPDE pipes 3" 12*32000
Labour 300 bob a day
Fungicides and pesticides will depend on where you source them from and as for spraying regime,I spray every week.
How many acres are you doing?
You are lucky on the labor side, in some places its 400 bob per day

emali

I'll try and use my case
HPDE pipes 3" 12*32000
Labour 300 bob a day
hii farming has too many unknown variables

MkukiMoto

I have never seen a jamaa more interested in eating tomatoes more than nyama choma. Churchill and Jalang'o in these times of Corona.