FARMING as a separate forum category

MkukiMoto

Kwanza, wacha nit teetee FARMING if Bwana Meria and Kenyalist forum Admins are listening.
@Meria

Farming, agriculture and the use of land defines us as Kenyans. This includes agro business and peasant rural farming. We are all aware of the role of tea, coffee and flower in foreign earnings. Not to mention the role of domestic production of sugar cane, maize, rice, milk etc on our food security so that we do not depend on cartels to import essential commodities.

What happened to the selection of different varieties of tomatoes in markets and shop ( kiosks or supermarket) shelves ?
All I see these days is the Romano variety or something close to it.

1587920007843.png

When growing up in towns across Kenya and visits to rural areas, i know we had a choice. I am sure we have a generation of Kenyans who do not know what I am talking about. Just google "tomatoes" and ogle the many types you have never seen in your food or your dinner table.

This is why I am lobbying for a Farming category to discuss these types issues of national concern.

Tanga tanga wing of Jubilee have a point in highlighting the agriculture sector. Even though their focus is Central region on this topic, it is a national conversation.

Kalel

Tomatoe farming is a very very very costly affair nowadays and most farmers(myself included) approach farming as a business. A while ago you could plant the 'local' variety ie rio grande but with the changes in weather and increase in pesticide resistant pests,hybrids are the way to go....
Admin weka hio category

MkukiMoto

Tomatoe farming is a very very very costly affair nowadays and most farmers(myself included) approach farming as a business. A while ago you could plant the 'local' variety ie rio grande but with the changes in weather and increase in pesticide resistant pests,hybrids are the way to go....
Admin weka hio category
@Kalel . Thanks for your timely and on point answer. But why only romano type or "look alike: hybrid ? for us to buy.

MkukiMoto

Admin weka hio category
(y)

emali

hizo nyanya zinakaa tamu... there is a farm near where I live they use i think UV light day and night to cheat the plants to keep growing.. I think.. nilienda hapo nyanya zinakaa tamu sana... lakini they taste like paper.... I support a farming section

MkukiMoto

Admin weka hio category
@zapp_brannigan what do you say ?

DESTRO

Admin weka hio category
Niko place watu wanalipa nyanya.1 acre wanabudgetia 350k