Critical Thinking...

Omwami according to me self satisfaction comes when i have home of my own without thinking about paying rent.
You have a valid point in wanting to live in your own house. That's perfectly understandable because it's a feeling. However, if we look at it from a pure financial angle, you are better off renting especially if the same neighbourhood has depressed rents.

@bigDog guys are derailing your thread 'coz they don't want to admit we have been biased against each other based on our tribes. , some jokes or something said casually others believe to be gospel truth.. For me my eyes were opened when in campus.
You are welcome to point out that. Please point out what biases anyone has here. Tell us what you learnt on campus.

Some people here think I'm Jaruo and I don't mind. I happened to go to one of the most diverse secondary schools in KE, very diverse universities, very diverse kazi za wahindi! Speak up chief. Usiogope.

what happened in campus?
You are welcome to point out that. Please point out what biases anyone has here. Tell us what you learnt on campus.

Some people here think I'm Jaruo and I don't mind. I happened to go to one of the most diverse secondary schools in KE, very diverse universities, very diverse kazi za wahindi! Speak up chief. Usiogope.
wacha ni seme tu kwani iko nini.. We were told luos were dirty, wanaosha vyombo kwa basin ya kuoga, kazi yao nikuzubaa tu na kumwaga mate,big eyes, ukiwa na luo girlfriend you automatically become the laughing stock and butt of all jokes,.. etc but all this changed when a met Lillian in KU, .she was the cleanest girl - body wise i ever met, she was smart, not loud , pointy breast , , fine ass, she had all her teeth- no that ka gap, very adventurous - she used to give me bj na swallowing everything , near kasandra tukitoka moi library in KU, those who know KU knows that route ukitoka library usiku, shit used to happen near sz39 karibu na kasandra or in that field nearby, . When I visited their home, everything was in place, clean house , vyombo were washed in the kitchen sink, etc.

she totally changed my perception against luos especially her approach to things, it was opposite what I would normally expect. .

but what i learnt from all that whatever we put in our young minds, automatically shapes their thinking, some out grow it, others it is fixed permanently .

wacha ni seme tu kwani iko nini.. We were told luos were dirty, wanaosha vyombo kwa basin ya kuoga, kazi yao nikuzubaa tu na kumwaga mate,big eyes, ukiwa na luo girlfriend you automatically become the laughing stock and butt of all jokes,.. etc but all this changed when a met Lillian in KU, .she was the cleanest girl - body wise i ever met, she was smart, not loud , pointy breast , , fine ass, she had all her teeth- no that ka gap, very adventurous - she used to give me bj na swallowing everything , near kasandra tukitoka moi library in KU, those who know KU knows that route ukitoka library usiku, shit used to happen near sz39 karibu na kasandra or in that field nearby, . When I visited their home, everything was in place, clean house , vyombo were washed in the kitchen sink, etc.

she totally changed my perception against luos especially her approach to things, it was opposite what I would normally expect. .

but what i learnt from all that whatever we put in our young minds, automatically shapes their thinking, some out grow it, others it is fixed permanently .
You changed your mind because opened up your mind to new ways of looking at issues. You refused to accept your biases and sought the truth. You saw Lillian without those tribal lenses, without prejudices.

This reminds me about the Allegory of the Cave Story. Its a story of how chained we are to false belief. Let me link it here for everyone..

Here it is:

$$$

It takes at least $1M in assets, and $10k/month net income to "make it" in Kenya.

Anything less and you are still playing in the minor league. You can slide back into poverty easily.

$$$

Making it is relative .....
Those are just my personal beliefs. Some people think $100k is "making it" and they may or may not be right. I personally think anything less than $1M is in the minor leagues. It's good but not secure. I wouldn't refer to a guy with anything less than $1M as financially secure.

Personally, I concluded the above figures because with $10k net income, you can afford to live in all the exclusive addresses in Kenya and fit in without struggling. The $1M net worth reduces the odds of sliding back into poverty ever again because it is in assets that produce cash flow.

Those are just my personal beliefs. Some people think $100k is "making it" and they may or may not be right. I personally think anything less than $1M is in the minor leagues. It's good but not secure. I wouldn't refer to a guy with anything less than $1M as financially secure.

Personally, I concluded the above figures because with $10k net income, you can afford to live in all the exclusive addresses in Kenya and fit in without struggling. The $1M net worth reduces the odds of sliding back into poverty ever again because it is in assets that produce cash flow.
What assumptions are you making? Is it a joint family income? What age? Are there kids in school? Is the person retired? A net income of $10K for a 40 year old with kids won't go the same length as the same income for a retired 65 old with grown children.

nakujua

I know I have my own biases. I'm not the best to bring up this topic. I request you to drop your biases here.

This thread is just for addressing your biases whatever they are. No one should judge you for posting anything here.

@Meria please allow people to post anything they feel it's positive or negative.

Only on this thread please pin it for posterity.
out of curiosity, what is the connection between critical thinking and biases

You have a valid point in wanting to live in your own house. That's perfectly understandable because it's a feeling. However, if we look at it from a pure financial angle, you are better off renting especially if the same neighbourhood has depressed rents.
Going with your argument, the people who still live in government houses in mbotela and Maringo are better off than those who opted to purchase land and build in far east areas of saika, mowlem, njiru, ruai joska and Kamulu?