Church Projects are a waste of Money. Reke Nemwo

Yuleyule

My former church is well known for collecting each and every coin from the worshippers. If it's not a harambe to buy the pastor a car, you are donating for a church hall or modern ICT infrastructure.

Once upon a time, we were mobilized by the chairman of development committee to build a tower (4 floors) which we did. The chairman happens to own a chain of schools, and immediately we completed the building, he leased it and opened a branch of his school. High cost and beyond reach for most church members. Saa hii over 50% of the enrollment are wariahs/Sudanese while ¾ of the remaining half is from nonmembers. So how did this project benefit the common mwananchi or the people who contributed to build the facility? They still give sadaka and tithes as before.

Another major church has a major hospital near ushgo kwa @Field Marshal. Built by missionaries and later expanded from donations from friends of the church. Unfortunately, the costs in this hospital are well above middle-class reach. Haisaidii raiya wa hio area, nor the poor church members.

Yet another church mobilized members to build a church hall. Before corona, one of the members was planning a wedding and needed to conduct a harambee ( stupidity) and since he is family, I was looped to the organizing committee. Turns out that everyone using the hall must pay 5k, member or nonmember. I argued with the treasurer of that church till he said nimetusi kanisa yao. In the end, we opted to hold the harambee at Union towers in town, a commercial premises which was charging lower than the church.

Yet another time, a praise n worship member of yet another church was launching a CD and requested to use the church hall for the event. She had to pay 5k despite having served in the church and even contributing to the building of the hall.

Now good people, someone tell me why I should contribute anything to this friend who is a guest of honor at a church harambee (virtual) to build a church school.
When you contribute you should'nt expect anything in return. God sees your good will and if the amount is not spent for the purpose its meant for judgement day will be there for that particular person. I agree it does happen but some of them are really genuine.

Magreb

My former church is well known for collecting each and every coin from the worshippers. If it's not a harambe to buy the pastor a car, you are donating for a church hall or modern ICT infrastructure.

Once upon a time, we were mobilized by the chairman of development committee to build a tower (4 floors) which we did. The chairman happens to own a chain of schools, and immediately we completed the building, he leased it and opened a branch of his school. High cost and beyond reach for most church members. Saa hii over 50% of the enrollment are wariahs/Sudanese while ¾ of the remaining half is from nonmembers. So how did this project benefit the common mwananchi or the people who contributed to build the facility? They still give sadaka and tithes as before.

Another major church has a major hospital near ushgo kwa @Field Marshal. Built by missionaries and later expanded from donations from friends of the church. Unfortunately, the costs in this hospital are well above middle-class reach. Haisaidii raiya wa hio area, nor the poor church members.

Yet another church mobilized members to build a church hall. Before corona, one of the members was planning a wedding and needed to conduct a harambee ( stupidity) and since he is family, I was looped to the organizing committee. Turns out that everyone using the hall must pay 5k, member or nonmember. I argued with the treasurer of that church till he said nimetusi kanisa yao. In the end, we opted to hold the harambee at Union towers in town, a commercial premises which was charging lower than the church.

Yet another time, a praise n worship member of yet another church was launching a CD and requested to use the church hall for the event. She had to pay 5k despite having served in the church and even contributing to the building of the hall.

Now good people, someone tell me why I should contribute anything to this friend who is a guest of honor at a church harambee (virtual) to build a church school.
Wenye kuchanga ndio wako na kasoro. Ni jukumu la kondoo kumlisha mchungaji ma m hungaji akitaka anakula kondoo anataka. Mimi hio upuss niliondokea kitambo sana. I rarely contribute to my church of birth.
ION, recently observed a church committee scam the congregation into building a new perimeter wall. Pastor na committee ya church yetu ushago has just scammed peasants into building a bigger church regardless of the drastoc drop in church goers. My church in Nairobi West recently scammed kondos into building a grand gate while my mother church, ACK in Nakuru, scammed brethrens into building a mall next to another ghost mall.

Magreb

They even charge families to have a pastor conduct the burial of a member..... a member who has been paying tithes and sadaka . Useless
Once observed some wamunyotas take over a burial ceremony after the local church brought PMS to a family of a departed wamunyota eti hakuwa analipa dues zake akiwa hai. They wanted the family to offset the arrears before they could preside. One wamunyota requested a bible from those present, read a vague verse then proffered his interpretation of the same before leading others to the graveyard. Majivu kwa majivu, udongo kwa udongo and it was over in a jiffy as spades started shoveling.

Magreb

True. I have encountered this. Imagine a faithful passes on. Mind you he has been a staunch church member for years but the father who is supposed to conduct the final rites asks for fuel to attend plus which I had to chuck because the family was poor. To add onto this the church collects sadaka during the burial.
I was lost for words. The pastor can clearly see this is a family in need.
I mean at what point does the church give back to its members Yaani at least si warudi she mkono now that the long serving member is horizontal.
Hio sadaka ya church huwa na kikapu take and the presiding pastor makes it very clear that hataonyesha mtu meno. Sadaka ya familia huwa inatolewa baadaye mkioa mwili for the last time.

Magreb

My church (ack) chargers 500 per head for baptism n confirmation.Another scheme is thanksgiving after childbirth.But again nobody forces you to do it.
Mimi pia ni wa ACK but ayamtayad. Kila corner unapata church imekungojea na mathiokore. They even hustle your relatives wakutafute from the woods umejificha.

Magreb

Kwanza huyo pastor(anglican sijui wanaitwa aje, demanded jogoo mbili) I still laugh at my wife for her stupidity.
:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: They are like Congolese musicians; Mara padre, mara deacon... Leo atajitambulisha kama padre kesho ukimwita hivyo anacatch akisema yeye no deacon.

Saa hii over 50% of the enrollment are wariahs/Sudanese while ¾ of the remaining half is from nonmembers
Sounds like a problem a sadistic math teacher would set in an exam. It doesn't matter that there CANNOT be a remaining HALF if the wariahs and Sudanese are OVER 50%.
Okay,okay okay I know it is in a manner of speaking @Aviator .

Magreb

After growing up in church,I am not in any hurry to.subject my son to any indoctrination. The only time alikanyanga church pale Jomo Kenyatta Avenue ilikuwa sababu some guy was giving 'free' guitar lessons but every session tulilipa 200 bob. And its the mother who used to go to that church.
He will make his own decisions when he is grown up...
In my village,wazee walipigana mangumi coz of church biznezz on several instances and it was not even on Sunday when these things usually happen. Weekdays for several weeks we used to watch and hear of road side boxing matches. Kwanza kamoja kalikuwa kitu mbaya... Kalitwanga kadhaa maKOs
PCEA Murengeti 2007-2008 nyahunyo ndio zilikuwa zinatembea. Wazee walikuwa wanakuja church wamebeba whips.kwa makoti. Baada ya service zinakuwa unleashed.