Church Projects are a waste of Money. Reke Nemwo

My former church is well known for collecting each and every coin from the worshippers. If it's not a harambe to buy the pastor a car, you are donating for a church hall or modern ICT infrastructure.

Once upon a time, we were mobilized by the chairman of development committee to build a tower (4 floors) which we did. The chairman happens to own a chain of schools, and immediately we completed the building, he leased it and opened a branch of his school. High cost and beyond reach for most church members. Saa hii over 50% of the enrollment are wariahs/Sudanese while ¾ of the remaining half is from nonmembers. So how did this project benefit the common mwananchi or the people who contributed to build the facility? They still give sadaka and tithes as before.

Another major church has a major hospital near ushgo kwa @Field Marshal. Built by missionaries and later expanded from donations from friends of the church. Unfortunately, the costs in this hospital are well above middle-class reach. Haisaidii raiya wa hio area, nor the poor church members.

Yet another church mobilized members to build a church hall. Before corona, one of the members was planning a wedding and needed to conduct a harambee ( stupidity) and since he is family, I was looped to the organizing committee. Turns out that everyone using the hall must pay 5k, member or nonmember. I argued with the treasurer of that church till he said nimetusi kanisa yao. In the end, we opted to hold the harambee at Union towers in town, a commercial premises which was charging lower than the church.

Yet another time, a praise n worship member of yet another church was launching a CD and requested to use the church hall for the event. She had to pay 5k despite having served in the church and even contributing to the building of the hall.

Now good people, someone tell me why I should contribute anything to this friend who is a guest of honor at a church harambee (virtual) to build a church school.

My former church is well known for collecting each and every coin from the worshippers. If it's not a harambe to buy the pastor a car, you are donating for a church hall or modern ICT infrastructure.

Once upon a time, we were mobilized by the chairman of development committee to build a tower (4 floors) which we did. The chairman happens to own a chain of schools, and immediately we completed the building, he leased it and opened a branch of his school. High cost and beyond reach for most church members. Saa hii over 50% of the enrollment are wariahs/Sudanese while ¾ of the remaining half is from nonmembers. So how did this project benefit the common mwananchi or the people who contributed to build the facility? They still give sadaka and tithes as before.

Another major church has a major hospital near ushgo kwa @Field Marshal. Built by missionaries and later expanded from donations from friends of the church. Unfortunately, the costs in this hospital are well above middle-class reach. Haisaidii raiya wa hio area, nor the poor church members.

Yet another church mobilized members to build a church hall. Before corona, one of the members was planning a wedding and needed to conduct a harambee ( stupidity) and since he is family, I was looped to the organizing committee. Turns out that everyone using the hall must pay 5k, member or nonmember. I argued with the treasurer of that church till he said nimetusi kanisa yao. In the end, we opted to hold the harambee at Union towers in town, a commercial premises which was charging lower than the church.

Yet another time, a praise n worship member of yet another church was launching a CD and requested to use the church hall for the event. She had to pay 5k despite having served in the church and even contributing to the building of the hall.

Now good people, someone tell me why I should contribute anything to this friend who is a guest of honor at a church harambee (virtual) to build a church school.
Toa sadaka and tithe, ingine achia Mungu wako

mZENDE

They even charge families to have a pastor conduct the burial of a member..... a member who has been paying tithes and sadaka . Useless
True. I have encountered this. Imagine a faithful passes on. Mind you he has been a staunch church member for years but the father who is supposed to conduct the final rites asks for fuel to attend plus which I had to chuck because the family was poor. To add onto this the church collects sadaka during the burial.
I was lost for words. The pastor can clearly see this is a family in need.
I mean at what point does the church give back to its members Yaani at least si warudi she mkono now that the long serving member is horizontal.

Hapo Kwa kina guks= Magina

Major Church= AIC

Major Hospital= Kijabe Mission Hospital built by missionaries and church members contribution.

It being out of the reach of common mwananchi= wrong with an NHIF card costing 500 bob, you are treated for free. The Linda mama initiative ensures all kids born in the hospital free of charge.

My little cousin used to be an usher 15 years ago at a certain lady bishop church, the bishop dabbled in Nairobi politics for a single term.
She was being used a water vendor for the 20 Bob bottle at a kesha, she got thirsty during the course of the night and drank one bottle, the ushers supervisor told her she must pay for it, despite selling 10 packets of 25 pieces each, since the bishop expects the money in full. That's the last time she served as an usher.