BRT buses to charge Sh150 per trip in pilot phase

Pseudonyms

The differentiator here is traffic jam.
There are those who are okay paying 10 Bob but don't mind getting stuck in traffic for 2hrs. While there are those who will be okay paying 150 and reaching their destination in 20minutes.
You think they charge 10bob juu ya jam?

During off-peak hours, it takes less than 15 minutes from to/from town. But GoK shitheads don't think about things like that.

Now after they realize that, they will create artificial traffic jams inorder to push people into the buses.

How I wish the resources would have been used to improve the rail lines Ruiru , Athi river, and Limuru. I wouldn't mind boarding a train from the central station to Ruiru if it would have frequent trips throughout the day. For instance, they can have a train leave the station every hour during the day.
The BRT charges starting at 150 for the pilot phase will be their biggest challenge to win anyone . Nowadays Thika road is very competitive we now have Eastleigh Sacco ,Zuri Sacco,Githurai 45,Super Metro and many other new entrants serving Thika road some up to Thika. From around 10 am on weekdays the fares from Kimbo /Spur Mall for CBD drop to 50 bob for some buses and 30 bob kwa zile matatu roundi mwenda all day . Sometimes last year the inbound stage hapa Thika road /Eastern bypass junction the place was dominated Nawasuku and Lopha , now the same stage iko na Githurai 45 and Super Metro as new entrants. Fare used to be 80 and 100 every morning before 9 am but now it's mostly at 50 bob. That's the same place where BRT buses will be making a turn back to town. So a difference between 50 sh and 150 sh , it is not so hard for a passenger to make the decision, especially in this hard economic times.

You think they charge 10bob juu ya jam?

During off-peak hours, it takes less than 15 minutes from to/from town. But GoK shitheads don't think about things like that.

Now after they realize that, they will create artificial traffic jams inorder to push people into the buses.
BRT will be competing with people with personal cars. That's why there's a parking lot being constructed for them. Again this is pilot phase. Improvements will be done along the way

There are those who are okay paying 10 Bob but don't mind getting stuck in traffic for 2hrs. While there are those who will be okay paying 150 and reaching their destination in 20minutes.
I am wondering about those percentages of those who will be willing to cough a whooping 150 for that bus....

Ukichora pie chart ya grand scheme of thingamins, you will be surprised at those who will say reke nemwo..... Wacha ishindikane.... Etc etc

How I wish the resources would have been used to improve the rail lines Ruiru , Athi river, and Limuru. I wouldn't mind boarding a train from the central station to Ruiru if it would have frequent trips throughout the day. For instance, they can have a train leave the station every hour during the day.
The BRT charges starting at 150 for the pilot phase will be their biggest challenge to win anyone . Nowadays Thika road is very competitive we now have Eastleigh Sacco ,Zuri Sacco,Githurai 45,Super Metro and many other new entrants serving Thika road some up to Thika. From around 10 am on weekdays the fares from Kimbo /Spur Mall for CBD drop to 50 bob for some buses and 30 bob kwa zile matatu roundi mwenda all day . Sometimes last year the inbound stage hapa Thika road /Eastern bypass junction the place was dominated Nawasuku and Lopha , now the same stage iko na Githurai 45 and Super Metro as new entrants. Fare used to be 80 and 100 every morning before 9 am but now it's mostly at 50 bob. That's the same place where BRT buses will be making a turn back to town. So a difference between 50 sh and 150 sh , it is not so hard for a passenger to make the decision, especially in this hard economic times.
You can easily tell that the people behind these decisions have not the slightest idea of what they are trying to achieve or the existing environment they have to contend with. These are people who last used public transport four or five decades ago. First, they come up with strange routes outside of the regions where need exists. The most serious commuter transport bottlenecks are within a radius of 10 kms from the city. Second, they introduce electric buses in a country where normal buses face maintenance challenges. Now they are charging fares beyond what the target population would be prepared to pay. A trial fare of 150 means their target figure is nothing less 100 shillings, which is still impractical for short travels and off-peak hours. All these while hogging a substantial part of public infrastructure for exclusive use.
Any solution that is not affordable, practical, and reliable will not fly.

does it mean other kenyans whome the BRT does not serve get to suffer the consequences? Thika road is already too small and you still need to hustle to beat traffic, does it mean mtu wa biashara coming from Muranga akutane na jam that usually starts from alsopps pale Juja? Motorists as well?
Hii alsopps ya pale Juja ndio gani?

I have used the train severally and I loved its convenience and affordability, shida is the breakdowns that happen, but they are far in between to be too much of an issue

Mtumsafi

Valid point, but how many do you think will be willing to pay 150? Better just start your journey earlier to arrive on time

These are people who last used public transport four or five decades ago. First, they come up with strange routes outside of the regions where need exists.
like they did in Mombasa last week