BBI Report

I invite you discuss the BBI report on this thread. Please read the document first before commenting so that we can have a healthy discussion. I invite to be civil and respectful even when you disagree with someone else opinion. Let's discuss it objectively and point out misinformation.

Attachments

Hii kitu tunaangusha by 8:00:01 , naomba tu ukuwe brave pamoja na @mzeiya mpange line na Wakenya in the millions tuangushe hii taktaka.
Nani alipeana proposal ya senators, M🐷, Women rape kuongezwa? Gavament apologist @Mwalimu-G ni wewe?
I'm asking you to point out what you disagree with in the report.

I have attached it here. Please read at least the executive summary.

There are at least 13 proposed constipational amendments that expand the executive and makes cabinet appointees ex-official MPs. It also creates a more powerful president who appoints all the members of executive (with parliament approval) but everyone serves at the pleasure of the president. He can fire anyone including the VP and PM without parliamentary approval.

What do you think about the expanded executive? Will it cure winner take all problem? Do we have this problem in the first place?

It is a farce. A mirage.

It is basically cementing ethnic politics/bulkanization in the constitution.

Solution?

Empower county governments. Make them economically viable. Nobody would give two shits about the ethnic constitution of the National government if their county is flourishing.

It is a farce. A mirage.

It is basically cementing ethnic politics/bulkanization in the constitution.

Solution?

Empower county governments. Make them economically viable. Nobody would give two shits about the ethnic constitution of the National government if their county is flourishing.
How many counties are economically viable units?

Berlin

The BBI looks good on paper, to be candid any document that further hives the Thrones power is a go for me.

Ubongo

There are at least 13 proposed constipational amendments that expand the executive and makes cabinet appointees ex-official MPs. It also creates a more powerful president who appoints all the members of executive (with parliament approval) but everyone serves at the pleasure of the president. He can fire anyone including the VP and PM without parliamentary approval.

This is subject to abuse

JazzMan

Vile @Ngimanene na Muchere amesema. Hii kitu tunaangusha saa mbili asubuhi. The proponents cannot be trusted to decide the greater good of this country. They have never done anything that has moved this country forward, only kept it poor so thwy can be at the top.

This 2010 constitution hasn't even been fully and properly implemented. Why would we want to make changes now?

Why do those changes only benefit mabwenyenye yet does very little for the youth of this country?

Can't those changes be made with the current system without adding all that bloat into parliament and government?

Gwacha nisome ndio nirudi kupinga vizuri

How many counties are economically viable units?
Very few. That is why that should be the focus. Merging less viable counties should be the goal but you know that would fail because it would affect constituencies therefore revenue division.

There is no way the leadership clowns would accept anything that would affect their share of the pie.

JazzMan

So far bado ni porojo. Kama 2010 constitution ndio haijakuwa fully implemented, what will make them implement the entire BBI report and not just implement the parts that interest them while leaving out the rest?