#RejectFinanceBill2024

You borrowed a system where it's the masses who fund the party/campaigns. On the contrary, it's the party/politicians that give money to the masses here. There is no Father/Mother, or brother Theresa in Kenya. That money they dish to the public comes from somewhere. I have repeatedly said Kenya has lots of problems, but democracy/elections should be the least of our priorities. Kwanza hungry/commoners should never be allowed near a voting booth without vetting.
Hiyo pesa labda mlipewa huku urban areas, in rural areas labda hii mchango walileta Kwa kanisa, youth and women groups.

Why? Just why. Kid was only 22.
1719401720537.png

You borrowed a system where it's the masses who fund the party/campaigns. On the contrary, it's the party/politicians that give money to the masses here. There is no Father/Mother, or brother Theresa in Kenya. That money they dish to the public comes from somewhere. I have repeatedly said Kenya has lots of problems, but democracy/elections should be the least of our priorities. Kwanza hungry/commoners should never be allowed near a voting booth without vetting.

What cn be done? A solution?

China/Russia way maybe? We can also devise our way. Maybe let a small group of people elect the president
I have been toying with the idea of a council of eminent persons - a man and woman from each county and seven from special interest groups for a total of 101. The council will listen to the short and long term thoughts of where presidential candidate will be wanting to take the country in a single seven year term. The best three candidates to be allowed to go to the election. The winner will then report to the council on how he has implemented his vision at the end of every two years. If performance is below par (as per a set of predetermined metrics) he can be stopped and the country goes to the elections again.
Parliament will be a law making and oversight institution. CDF to be put in County Governments so that we minimize the management units with ward funds helping to establish equity (MPs will have no business implementing projects to unburden them of the need to kowtow to the executive).

I have been toying with the idea of a council of eminent persons - a man and woman from each county and seven from special interest groups for a total of 101. The council will listen to the short and long term thoughts of where presidential candidate will be wanting to take the country in a single seven year term. The best three candidates to be allowed to go to the election. The winner will then report to the council on how he has implemented his vision. If performance s below par (as per a set of predetermined metrics) he can be stopped and the country goes to the elections again.
Parliament will be a law making and oversight institution. CDF to be put in County Governments so that we minimize the management units with ward funds helping to establish equity (MPs will have no business implementing projects to unburden them of the need to kowtow to the executive).
Great idea. A sure way to separate a president from conmen.

2. Though the youths have spoken, our economic troubles have not been solved. How will we get out of debt hole without extra taxation? The debt profile shows we were to take at least 10 yrs to be fully self reliant. You are all witness what the debt burden can do, when USD-ksh was 160. Even if Ruto resigns today, how will the next leader solve the debt crisis? People like being told what makes them happy, but thr truth is there is no way out except looking for extra money, locally.
Priorities.

Priorities.

Mzeiya, if today, the president suspends all these useless projects, the amount allocated to them is a drop in the ocean compared to what we owe our creditors. It can't make a difference if you can't raise extra revenue domestically.

At least it would make wananchi see that austerity measures are actually being taken.
I agree. Optics are very important to any govt. These people don't know how to read the room. Even after protests on Thursday, Ndii called protestors cool kids whose parents looted the state money.

Raia 1
Gava 0
Lakini ukweli ni huyu jamaa amekuja kutupea zile uongo zake za kawaida. Probably conceding to pressure from the West.