Uninformed and an unwise move. This will render very many people jobless. Solution is to ask club owner to make their clubs sound proof
Couldn't have put it betterShida is that there is also "undesirable visitors" in residential areas. Some people find tabia ya walevi offensive. Imagine a Sunday morning, your family is going for first mass lakini the night club next door is still raving? How is that compatible with raising a family?
We should insist on strict zoning rules. Night clubs belong to the CBD and shopping centers. Areas that are designated for commercial activity.
Shida is that there is also "undesirable visitors" in residential areas. Some people find tabia ya walevi offensive. Imagine a Sunday morning, your family is going for first mass lakini the night club next door is still raving? How is that compatible with raising a family?
We should insist on strict zoning rules. Night clubs belong to the CBD and shopping centers. Areas that are designated for commercial activity.
Night clubs should close at 3-4am.
Boss, are you from Mars? In Kenya, obeying the law is a suggestion. Especially when you have money to pay little bribes.
Growing up, there were estate pubs. Rarely could you hear the noise coming from inside. Even us kids felt like they were mysterious places for adults.Boss, are you from Mars? In Kenya, obeying the law is a suggestion. Especially when you have money to pay little bribes.
So what makes you think this law will be obeyed then? Which one is more likely to be obeyed? My suggestion of running sound proof clubs till 3am or Sakaja's closing them permanently?
I don't know whether Sakaja rules will be obeyed. But I support his decision ban them altogether. A ban creates a hostile operating environment for them which could stop new ones from springing up. It also makes their cost of doing business rise rapidly now that they have to pay bigger bribes. Simply erode the profits!
Growing up, there were estate pubs. Rarely could you hear the noise coming from inside. Even us kids felt like they were mysterious places for adults.
Nowadays, every kasmall building has a pub extending into the road, music louder than a Rongai matatu, people's gates blocked by strangers cars, all manner of weird behaviour happening utafikiria uko K-street and not to forget the fact that kids especially are affected by the estate pubs and their patrons.
We no longer have decorum so let pubs be zoned.
You ban them to force those that exist to close down and stop new ones from coming up.You've not answered the question. Why ban them?
I am happy she may finally have peace alongside thousands of Nairobians.It's a big problem almost everywhere. Now consider the pain of having built a residential house for your family's peace and then jamaa opens a nightclub next door! Some people don't have emphathy!
I am happy she may finally have peace alongside thousands of Nairobians.
I am a pentecostal Christian but churches also need to have noise regulations. We can't continue living like bononos in 2022. Remember, one's freedom ends when they interfere with that of another.
@Okiya, your rights stop where mine start. I don't owe anyone profit or livelihood at my expense! People who buy houses in residential areas have reasonable expectations to be protected from noise and other pollution that comes from commercial areas.
As I said, zoning was discarded a long time ago. People in buru buru will complain about noise pollution and zoning but the same people they flouted zoning rules and built flats
Entertainment businesses go to residential areas to avoid paying higher rent!