The Late UON Don's Family Appeal For Financial Assistance

The family of the late University of Nairobi lecturer, Professor Lincoln Khasakhala has sent a passionate plea to Kenyans of goodwill for support in raising Ksh.18 million towards his medical bill.

The late lecturer's brother, David Khasakhala said Prof. Khasakhala was admitted at the Nairobi Hospital's Critical Care unit on 3rd July 2021.

He had been at the facility for the last six months undergoing treatment that included dialysis on weekly basis.

The bill had accrued to Ksh.21,272,326.

"The family paid the bill partial by raising Ksh.2,982,458.00, leaving a balance of Ksh.18,081,505 which has become a nightmare to raise, thus the appeal," David said.

Prof Khasakhala passed away on 8th January, 2022. To date his body still lies at the Lee Funeral Home.

The family has been asked to clear the bill before the body can be released to them for burial, he said.

Dr Khasakhala joined the University of Nairobi from private practice in November 2016 later on moved to the the University of Nairobi Department of Psychiatry, Faculty of medicine where he worked until his demise.

"We humbly request all well-wishers to kindly assist us financially, to clear the medical bill of Kshs 18M for Dr. Khasakhala

Dr. Khasakhala medical fund

MPESA

Pay-bill: 8044923.

Account number: Your name.
View attachment ca304a09c2ac4135beb66d2c7a09e984.webp

But why use lee funeral home? Why not transfer to affordable home?.

The family can simply do a ceremonial funeral and move on,21m is a lot. enough to educate his kids in Europe.

There's also a story in the star about another family in nakuru, struggling with bills yet they used umash instead of pnn home which is very affordable.

But why use lee funeral home? Why not transfer to affordable home?.

The family can simply do a ceremonial funeral and move on,21m is a lot. enough to educate his kids in Europe.

There's also a story in the star about another family in nakuru, struggling with bills yet they used umash instead of pnn home which is very affordable.
Do you know we are talking about a university professor, not a herdsman or kibandaski chef?

The family should just declare that the late wanted to donate his body as a cadaver for medical study and move on. The 3m they have paid is already too much.

Halafu there was no humane doctari to discharge him kitambo seeing that he was terminal and all he was doing in hosi was accumulating bills? NH imekua biashara, especially now that wamezoeshwa pesa ya UN. Aga Khan any day for me. Consultants huambia peasants ukweli mapema. Family pia is to blame. Wanapeleka Lee na wanajua hawana pesa? Wakule pride yao bila kutusumbua.

The family should just declare that the late wanted to donate his body as a cadaver for medical study and move on. The 3m they have paid is already too much.

Halafu there was no humane doctari to discharge him kitambo seeing that he was terminal and all he was doing in hosi was accumulating bills? NH imekua biashara, especially now that wamezoeshwa pesa ya UN. Aga Khan any day for me. Consultants huambia peasants ukweli mapema. Family pia is to blame. Wanapeleka Lee na wanajua hawana pesa? Wakule pride yao bila kutusumbua.
I, like you, might never get to understand the African fascination with dead bodies. Kama SAA hii nimekalishwa kuanzua asubuhi nikingojea fundi only for him to tell me that jamaa wao alikufa jana wameenda mortuary kumuona. Ndugu yake ameishi eldoret for years bila kutokea home pia yeye amekwisha land in less than 24hrs kuona marehemu.

I think Nairobi Hospital ndio ilipeleka mwili Lee funeral home maybe coz it’s just next door or maybe they don’t trust other morgues to hold onto the body for them as they await what they are owed….anyway that just my speculation.
Nilisikia ati hakuna bodies that are actually stored hapo Lee funeral.All bodies are stored in a facility (godown) huku inda and you can only view your body with appointment ndio uwapatie enough time kuendea mwili inda sijui ni ukweli ama but that structure looks quite small to accommodate many bodies anyway.

Nimesoma hii reply kwa Star na nakubaliana nayo kabisaa...................

Kenyans must understand this simple basic truth - private hospitals are businesses like any other. While they offer life-saving services, they have costs and expenses just like hotels, matatus, or even bars. Can you get onto somebody's matatu even when rushing to an emergency and then refuse/fail to pay the fare? Food is a basic necessity, but can you get into the Hilton, eat and refuse or fail to pay? Can you walk into Nation Centre, pick a few papers and then fail to pay? Can you take your child to an expensive private school and cite the right to education as the reason for his mandatory admission? What am I saying? That Kenyans must recognise that behind every private hospital are investors and shareholders who have invested millions of shillings to offer services to people WHO CAN PAY. I find these stories of families who let their relatives to stay in private facilities for months on end only to complain that they can't pay when the patient passes on very suspicious. After emergency care is offered in the first instance and the patient is stabilised, why don't they transport the patient to a facility they can afford, even a public one? Private health facilities only have a duty of care to offer emergency services to non-paying patients. Every syringe, every ampule, every bandage costs money so if say hundreds don't pay for how long will that private facility survive? Patients and their families must always balance the care the patient needs with the resources and insurance they have. As a minimum, every one should have NHIF and maybe a second small insurance package. Private health institutions, including mission hospitals, are a critical component of the health care system in this country and we cannot afford to have them collapse.

Nimesoma hii reply kwa Star na nakubaliana nayo kabisaa...................

Kenyans must understand this simple basic truth - private hospitals are businesses like any other. While they offer life-saving services, they have costs and expenses just like hotels, matatus, or even bars. Can you get onto somebody's matatu even when rushing to an emergency and then refuse/fail to pay the fare? Food is a basic necessity, but can you get into the Hilton, eat and refuse or fail to pay? Can you walk into Nation Centre, pick a few papers and then fail to pay? Can you take your child to an expensive private school and cite the right to education as the reason for his mandatory admission? What am I saying? That Kenyans must recognise that behind every private hospital are investors and shareholders who have invested millions of shillings to offer services to people WHO CAN PAY. I find these stories of families who let their relatives to stay in private facilities for months on end only to complain that they can't pay when the patient passes on very suspicious. After emergency care is offered in the first instance and the patient is stabilised, why don't they transport the patient to a facility they can afford, even a public one? Private health facilities only have a duty of care to offer emergency services to non-paying patients. Every syringe, every ampule, every bandage costs money so if say hundreds don't pay for how long will that private facility survive? Patients and their families must always balance the care the patient needs with the resources and insurance they have. As a minimum, every one should have NHIF and maybe a second small insurance package. Private health institutions, including mission hospitals, are a critical component of the health care system in this country and we cannot afford to have them collapse.
weren't you the one supporting when the Health minister was complaining about the private hospitals and the charges they make patients pay?