30 July 2021. Mohamed Hersi- Bottom Up

First things first ..corruption kills bottoms up economic model.

When banks were busy closing branches in late 90s ostensibly to get rid of unprofitable banks in smaller towns , one bank was quietly taking their place and that bank was none other than Equity Bank Kenya .

When mobile telephone companies were licensed in Kenya , Kencel was quick off the starting block and mobile lines were going for Ksh 200,000 and it became a status symbol. Bar waiters and barmen had to provide an extra glass for the phone owner to show the world that he indeed owned a mobile phone . This was real not some urban tales. We had true ninjas then.

When scratch cards were introduced it was in Ksh 1000 denomination because the poor Kenyan was not in the equation . How can mama mboga or a shoe shiner own a mobile phone ?

For banks NARC government decided they wont compete with Wanjiku to borrow from banks and that happened as soon as Kibaki took office in 2003. Banks were now left with Kenyans and Dr Mwangi had already positioned Equity in all the small towns where other bigger banks had fled because a client in muddy farm gumboots or sweaty wakulima trader was not a cool customer.

On the mobile telephony side , Safaricom PLC was hived off that dinosaur KPTC hence their slow entry but again how many recall that when we accuse Safaricom of being a dominant player. Safaricom invented Mpesa and who worked hard 24/7 to stop them ? Same banks who quit the so called small towns but glad that then acting Finance Minister John Michuki and CBK Governor Ndungu waved play on.

For banks many had to struggle to try and get their old premises back and it was a common phenomenon to see banks setting up tents at bus stops pleading to the same small man they left high and dry to come back and reopen a bank account.

On the other hand Safaricom decided to offer scratch card as low as Ksh 20 then known as blue and finally okoa jahazi was born. Michael Joseph and late Bob Collymore truly practiced what it means trading with the folks at the bottom of the pyramid and by empowering them that is nothing but bottoms up economy.

At goverment level bottom up economy is already in place when you allocate Ksh140 million per MP per constituency per year Ksh 700Million in five years and Ksh 1.4B in 10 years . Folks Ksh 140M that is a cool $1.3million a year which is alot of money. I have seen what my MP. Official Jicho Pevu with Mohammed Ali Mohammed Ali has been able to achieve in under 3 years .

Each woman rep is also getting on average Ksh 7 Milion per constituency so a county like Nbi the women rep gets more than an MP who runs CDF while Governors some handle Ksh11B + a year and then of course national goverment.

CK Prahald in his book “The fortune at the bottom of the pyramid” delves deep on how you can trade with the citizens at the bottom of the pyramid and in the process eradicate poverty and even make profits.

Succesful Safaricom has not been made successful by post paid subscribers but by prepaid subscribers. Last stats was that 85% of their subscribers were indeed pre paid so when Bob Collymore was spending more time in the slums and working with artists he knew what he was doing and in the process empowering the man and woman at the bottom of the pyramid.

When Safaricom decided to pick the lady lamenting about the floods in western Kenya in one of their ads they knew she was the face of the bottom of the pyramid who in turn help push the economy from the bottom. They stood with her not through handout but turning her into one of their brand ambassadors. While the rest of Kenyans found the plight of the lady hilarious and funny, Safaricom were seeing their customer in distress and in the process she ended up on billboards and she was a guest in our homes on our TV sets just before prime time news . Give it to Safaricom they know how to connect with the man or woman at the bottom of the pyramid.

Bottom up model in private sector is very much alive and kicking, even the consumer goods packed in smaller quantities so called kadogo economy is bottom up model and trading with the folks at the bottom of the pyramid.

The bad news is that bottom up in public sector wont work as long as we dont slay the corruption dragon and our wasteful habits. It is one thing to shout bottom up economic model but you must chose to walk Equity or Safaricom path to make it happen.

As a start please start with your local MP shouting himself or herself hoarse “Bottom up” on how they have utilised the half a billion shillings in the last 4 years or even Ksh 1 billion for those who are serving a 2nd term.

To Equity Bank Kenya Safaricom PLC and My MP Mohammed Ali I salute you for making it happen right at the bottom of the pyramid . Our political class must study Equity and Safaricom model but as they do that they must drop the corruption gown at the door.

Corruption is the enemy of Bottom Up economy and any other economic model for that matter

When banks were busy closing branches in late 90s ostensibly to get rid of unprofitable banks in smaller towns , one bank was quietly taking their place and that bank was none other than Equity Bank Kenya .

When mobile telephone companies were licensed in Kenya , Kencel was quick off the starting block and mobile lines were going for Ksh 200,000 and it became a status symbol. Bar waiters and barmen had to provide an extra glass for the phone owner to show the world that he indeed owned a mobile phone . This was real not some urban tales. We had true ninjas then.

When scratch cards were introduced it was in Ksh 1000 denomination because the poor Kenyan was not in the equation . How can mama mboga or a shoe shiner own a mobile phone ?

For banks NARC government decided they wont compete with Wanjiku to borrow from banks and that happened as soon as Kibaki took office in 2003. Banks were now left with Kenyans and Dr Mwangi had already positioned Equity in all the small towns where other bigger banks had fled because a client in muddy farm gumboots or sweaty wakulima trader was not a cool customer.

On the mobile telephony side , Safaricom PLC was hived off that dinosaur KPTC hence their slow entry but again how many recall that when we accuse Safaricom of being a dominant player. Safaricom invented Mpesa and who worked hard 24/7 to stop them ? Same banks who quit the so called small towns but glad that then acting Finance Minister John Michuki and CBK Governor Ndungu waved play on.

For banks many had to struggle to try and get their old premises back and it was a common phenomenon to see banks setting up tents at bus stops pleading to the same small man they left high and dry to come back and reopen a bank account.

On the other hand Safaricom decided to offer scratch card as low as Ksh 20 then known as blue and finally okoa jahazi was born. Michael Joseph and late Bob Collymore truly practiced what it means trading with the folks at the bottom of the pyramid and by empowering them that is nothing but bottoms up economy.

At goverment level bottom up economy is already in place when you allocate Ksh140 million per MP per constituency per year Ksh 700Million in five years and Ksh 1.4B in 10 years . Folks Ksh 140M that is a cool $1.3million a year which is alot of money. I have seen what my MP. Official Jicho Pevu with Mohammed Ali Mohammed Ali has been able to achieve in under 3 years .

Each woman rep is also getting on average Ksh 7 Milion per constituency so a county like Nbi the women rep gets more than an MP who runs CDF while Governors some handle Ksh11B + a year and then of course national goverment.

CK Prahald in his book “The fortune at the bottom of the pyramid” delves deep on how you can trade with the citizens at the bottom of the pyramid and in the process eradicate poverty and even make profits.

Succesful Safaricom has not been made successful by post paid subscribers but by prepaid subscribers. Last stats was that 85% of their subscribers were indeed pre paid so when Bob Collymore was spending more time in the slums and working with artists he knew what he was doing and in the process empowering the man and woman at the bottom of the pyramid.

When Safaricom decided to pick the lady lamenting about the floods in western Kenya in one of their ads they knew she was the face of the bottom of the pyramid who in turn help push the economy from the bottom. They stood with her not through handout but turning her into one of their brand ambassadors. While the rest of Kenyans found the plight of the lady hilarious and funny, Safaricom were seeing their customer in distress and in the process she ended up on billboards and she was a guest in our homes on our TV sets just before prime time news . Give it to Safaricom they know how to connect with the man or woman at the bottom of the pyramid.

Bottom up model in private sector is very much alive and kicking, even the consumer goods packed in smaller quantities so called kadogo economy is bottom up model and trading with the folks at the bottom of the pyramid.

The bad news is that bottom up in public sector wont work as long as we dont slay the corruption dragon and our wasteful habits. It is one thing to shout bottom up economic model but you must chose to walk Equity or Safaricom path to make it happen.

As a start please start with your local MP shouting himself or herself hoarse “Bottom up” on how they have utilised the half a billion shillings in the last 4 years or even Ksh 1 billion for those who are serving a 2nd term.

To Equity Bank Kenya Safaricom PLC and My MP Mohammed Ali I salute you for making it happen right at the bottom of the pyramid . Our political class must study Equity and Safaricom model but as they do that they must drop the corruption gown at the door.

Corruption is the enemy of Bottom Up economy and any other economic model for that matter

Source?

As always. Thank you for this. Let's wait for those who are against everything and anything that has not come out of the drunkard's mouth without interrogating the issue at hand.

Some people think we should close our eyes and forgive those who have robbed the public purse left right and center and trust them to be the custodians of the purse. I refuse.

They will start with "bottom down" like that annoying Wahome loud mouth.
Dayday Nyoro wa on Inooro insisting that they will start by injecting pesa mashinani to revive economy. Anabishana forgetting that production is stimulated by demand.

What if the price of inputs and factors of production are too expensive so much so production cannot meet demand?

Can you people make up your minds what is wrong with the production end- Is it that people do not have money in the pocket to spend on goods or It is the inputs that are too expensive so the small traders cannot produce.
If you give an estate hussora money to produce kangumus in the backyard he produces 200 and only ten are bought because people don't have money to buy how many more days is he going cook his tungumus?
You tell another hasora that you are giving him some money to keep layer chickens where his 200 birds lay eggs at 7/= and expect him to compete in the same market with eggs from your battery farm with a million layers producing at 3/80?

Can you people make up your minds what is wrong with the production end- Is it that people do not have money in the pocket to spend on goods or It is the inputs that are too expensive so the small traders cannot produce.
If you give an estate hussora money to produce kangumus in the backyard he produces 200 and only ten are bought because people don't have money to buy how many more days is he going cook his tungumus?
You tell another hasora that you are giving him some money to keep layer chickens where his 200 birds lay eggs at 7/= and expect him to compete in the same market with eggs from your battery farm with a million layers producing at 3/80?
Hehe.. Relax chief. Don't get emotional like Aviator the other day.

Why are inputs expensive? To raise revenues government has increased taxes on for example fuel. What does that do? A big portion of electricity is produced using diesel generators and that has made power more expensive. Similarly, transport costs go up. The product also has a few more new taxes leveraged on it. These costs are then pushed to a consumer whose purchasing power has dwindled.
So, to resolve this you are not going to give money to the producer. All you need to do is have favorable tax policies that eliminate these unnecessary taxes and costs and the final price will be more affordable to the consumer.

Priss, sometimes all you have to do is relax and interrogate matters bila kuingiza mafeelings.

So, to resolve this you are not going to give money to the producer. All you need to do is have favorable tax policies that eliminate these unnecessary taxes and costs and the final price will be more affordable to the consumer.
My friend where do you get these wishes from? Ichung'wa, arguably one of the best brains in tanga the other day said bottom up is donating money to hasoras.
You reduce taxes where will you get the money to give to the hasoras and provide other government obligations?
Lakini kwanza mtuambie vile mutamaliza ufisadi - our common problem number one.

My friend where do you get these wishes from? Ichung'wa, arguably one of the best brains in tanga the other day said bottom up is donating money to hasoras.
You reduce taxes where will you get the money to give to the hasoras and provide other government obligations?
Lakini kwanza mtuambie vile mutamaliza ufisadi - our common problem number one.
That is the reason you guys are struggling to understand. You are listen to argue rather than to understand.
I know Ichungwa also spoke about taxes on inputs. I am sure you also know bottom up is not all about giving money to 'hasoras'. That is just the stick the opposition try and use to beat the proposition with.
I don't expect borrowing to stop also. I expect it to be 99 percent external though. But the money that will be borrowed should be at concessional rates and pumped into government programs that spur production. I am talking fertilizer subsidies, cheap business loans, rural feeder roads and infrastructure. That combined with reduced taxes on inputs will expand the tax base, rather than continuing to tax a base the continues to contract as people lose jobs to a poor economy and the covid pandemic.

Also, can we actually vaccinate people. If Pres. Suluhu could get J&J vaccines why is Kenya struggling?

Just look at China, they are big on investing in mashinani especially on new technologies and products, it works but only with sound judgement on viability and frankly, our grassroots are crying out for investment.

For a country to turn her poor into producers, barriers to entry must be lowered.

Just look at China, they are big on investing in mashinani especially on new technologies and products, it works but only with sound judgement on viability and frankly, our grassroots are crying out for investment.

For a country to turn her poor into producers, barriers to entry must be lowered.

I think mwalimu and most people want to know how we'll deal with corruption. The grassroots have gotten 10 years of devolution money. Let counties show us what they have done with that money.

'Mnataka nifanye nini'..... amepigana aje na ufisadi......Ruto is a thief so is Uhuru and his cronies. Who is clean among the contenders?.
We shall be in defaulting settings for quite a long time

'Mnataka nifanye nini'..... amepigana aje na ufisadi......Ruto is a thief so is Uhuru and his cronies. Who is clean among the contenders?.
Theft has levels bruh. Lakni huyo jamaa wa sugoi is top class. And Being adequately informed that both are thieves, how would you punish one and reward the other?

Kama ni corruption it is about time we got real with ourselves, the common theme amongst our political class is corruption, they are the beneficiaries, they will never lead the charge towards their own prosecution and conviction, it would be stupid to expect this current cohort to take any meaningful push on the anti-corruption front.

The solution to our corruption problem lies prominently in private citizens organising, being the tip of the spear. It should be the people drafting anti-corruption bills and presenting them to parliament in a massive show of popular will, organising demonstrations, protests, demanding for information from government like the SGR contract or the IPPs making billions off Kenyans. Basically waging war from outside government, we are going to have to clean up government ourselves, this is not a job we can outsource to the political class.

Best we can do now is vote for the best ideas, whoever wins we must all go for the jugular whether we like them or not.

Should we now lie down and die because they are all corrupt?