in the headlines: KCPE scandal

It is the laziness that riles me up too, if this is happening in a national examination what hope is there that teachers will not transmit the same mediocrity into the CBC curriculum exams which will now be prepared in-house by teachers in each school in the republic?

I have witnessed this intellectual laziness in our universities, if we do not move against it now employers will have no faith in academic credentials anymore.

It should bother us how low our standards are in this country
Funny thing,the candidate of today is the employer of tomorrow...mediocrity all around

This is not something new in all levels, exams come from what has been taught and if you go through past papers you won't miss questions which have been repeated.

I mean a word-for-word copy-paste job with immaterial details changed and the material substance left intact, what that achieves is it makes passing in your examination the goal of education instead of proficiency in the coursework, you have learners whose goal isn't to understand the concepts but to clinch an A, and they do because the mind is primed to pursue goals that are clear.

We wonder why graduates are unable to solve the problems of the day, they have been chasing grades not knowledge, unlike in past papers problems of today are not exactly those of yesterday, they evolve, new ones come up, they are simply out of their depth.

I mean a word-for-word copy-paste job with immaterial details changed and the material substance left intact, what that achieves is it makes passing in your examination the goal of education instead of proficiency in the coursework, you have learners whose goal isn't to understand the concepts but to clinch an A, and they do because the mind is primed to pursue goals that are clear.

We wonder why graduates are unable to solve the problems of the day, they have been chasing grades not knowledge, unlike in past papers problems of today are not exactly those of yesterday, they evolve, new ones come up, they are simply out of their depth.
The contentious post is about this exam,it's not a copypaste
IMG-20210326-WA0055.jpg
IMG-20210326-WA0056.jpg

If the fact is true then sadly a once noble and respectful profession has become a plethora of corruption and decadence... and worse, we saw it coming and did nothing. Hec, most parents pay top dollar for good grades.
Niaje mresh?hata mimi naweza lipa top dollar for you only

To be fair, kids are tested on what they learn. Kama these passages were in their course materials shida iko wapi? Who says students in public schools dint have access to these materials?

Playing Mama Shaitoz advocate...
Tuachishe za ovyo....kwani you think we attended school in Venus...mock exams for Alliance, Kinda, Starehe, Mang'u 50% would be found in KCSE exams....yaani by joining those schools you were assured at a minimum a B...

@Meria, nimeona clip ya wale wakora 5 walimangwa coast. Kumbe they are the thugs that shot dead that Mpesa woman in broad daylight, mpaka AK na motor cycle ilipatikana.

Walitumiwa SFs bana. They didn't even know what hit them.

Ebu tuwekee hizo clips zote in a new thread.....................

@Meria, nimeona clip ya wale wakora 5 walimangwa coast. Kumbe they are the thugs that shot dead that Mpesa woman in broad daylight, mpaka AK na motor cycle ilipatikana.

Walitumiwa SFs bana. They didn't even know what hit them.

Ebu tuwekee hizo clips zote in a new thread.....................
naogopa, hebu nirushie hio uko nayo inbosc