kenthefarmer
You've just sown your bulb onion seeds, watered them with love, and even whispered sweet words of encouragement. They sprout, looking promising, and then… poof! They start vanishing like free nyama choma at a family gathering. What happened? Let’s uncover the culprits behind this great onion nursery mystery.
Damping-Off Disease – The Silent Killer
Imagine your seedlings waking up one morning feeling weak, like someone stole their breakfast. This is damping-off, a fungal disease that makes young onions flop over and disappear faster than your neighbor when it’s time to contribute to a village project.
* Avoid overwatering - seedlings are not fish.
* Ensure good air circulation - fungus loves damp, stuffy places, like your uncle’s old store.
* Use a fungicide if needed- You can use a product with carbendazium.
Insect Damage – The Tiny Thieves
Some pests, like cutworms, love onions more than you do. These little criminals sneak in at night, chop your seedlings at the base, and disappear like hitmen in a movie.
* Inspect your nursery like a detective ( scout well).
*Apply pest control - organic or chemical, depending on how angry you are.( you can use 'Imidacloprid ')
Downy Mildew – The Uninvited Guest
This one is like that cousin who overstays during holidays ,unwanted and stressful. Downy mildew thrives in cool, humid conditions and turns your seedlings yellow before making them disappear from top to bottom ( like a certain government I know )
* Space your seedlings well - don’t let them live like Nairobi matatus.
*Water in the morning - nighttime watering is like inviting mildew for a sleepover.
* Use preventive fungicides - think of them as security guards for your onions.( I recommend metalaxyl and mancozeb)
Heat Stress
If your seedlings are exposed to too much heat, they’ll dry up and disappear, just like your plans to save money for one year in January.
* Mulch to keep the soil temperature in check.
*Water regularly, but don’t flood -it’s an onion nursery, not a rice paddy.
Weak Seeds – The Underperformers
If your seeds were not top quality, some might be too weak to survive, like a politician’s promises after elections.
* Buy certified seeds-don’t gamble with random seeds from unknown sources.( I can plug you to a certified distributor at a fee
)
* Plant at the right depth - too deep and they struggle, too shallow and they disappear.
Leave a like or a comment if you were here.Open an account, it's free yawa.
~village investor
Damping-Off Disease – The Silent Killer
Imagine your seedlings waking up one morning feeling weak, like someone stole their breakfast. This is damping-off, a fungal disease that makes young onions flop over and disappear faster than your neighbor when it’s time to contribute to a village project.
* Avoid overwatering - seedlings are not fish.
* Ensure good air circulation - fungus loves damp, stuffy places, like your uncle’s old store.
* Use a fungicide if needed- You can use a product with carbendazium.
Insect Damage – The Tiny Thieves
Some pests, like cutworms, love onions more than you do. These little criminals sneak in at night, chop your seedlings at the base, and disappear like hitmen in a movie.
* Inspect your nursery like a detective ( scout well).
*Apply pest control - organic or chemical, depending on how angry you are.( you can use 'Imidacloprid ')
Downy Mildew – The Uninvited Guest
This one is like that cousin who overstays during holidays ,unwanted and stressful. Downy mildew thrives in cool, humid conditions and turns your seedlings yellow before making them disappear from top to bottom ( like a certain government I know )
* Space your seedlings well - don’t let them live like Nairobi matatus.
*Water in the morning - nighttime watering is like inviting mildew for a sleepover.
* Use preventive fungicides - think of them as security guards for your onions.( I recommend metalaxyl and mancozeb)
Heat Stress
If your seedlings are exposed to too much heat, they’ll dry up and disappear, just like your plans to save money for one year in January.
* Mulch to keep the soil temperature in check.
*Water regularly, but don’t flood -it’s an onion nursery, not a rice paddy.
Weak Seeds – The Underperformers
If your seeds were not top quality, some might be too weak to survive, like a politician’s promises after elections.
* Buy certified seeds-don’t gamble with random seeds from unknown sources.( I can plug you to a certified distributor at a fee

* Plant at the right depth - too deep and they struggle, too shallow and they disappear.
Leave a like or a comment if you were here.Open an account, it's free yawa.
~village investor