Wachinku wameshaonewa 18

Top white house advisor Larry Kudlow has already floated a possibility of paying all moving expenses for American manufacturers who want to return back to US.

View attachment 9311
Shida ni a company like apple pays 50ct an hour for someone to make iPhone in china . If the company ships to usa , apple will pay average of $20 an hour . This will translate to the final price of iphone going up . No company will want this . It's easier said than actually done.

They will get tax breaks....remember the 2.2 trillion bail out plan?

Hii story ya companies moving out of China naona imefurahisha wahindi sana. They are aiming to be the new home of these companies.

They will just relocate to another south east asia country like Vietnam or India

They will get tax breaks....remember the 2.2 trillion bail out plan?
Shida si tax break. Any company will tell you the biggest expense a company can have especially in America is employee pay, benefits and labor laws ukiongeza unions. So stimulus is pegged on politics. Next president can step in and say no more stimulus for XXX company.. and down the drain it goes.

Do you know Amazon employees do not belong to any union? Wakijaribu wanafutwa kazi, and if am not wrong Amazon is one of America's biggest employers

Well said mzee. I am just watching this wankfest with total bemusement. NOBODY IN THE WORLD WILL PAY $200 for a pair of jeans when the Chinese can make them for $20. Not an American, Briton or Italian.

Secondly, China is the second biggest economy in the world. The US alone owes them TRILLIONS. We owe them billions. You can't ignore them. And remember they have nukes.

The mighty US everybody talks about has for 10 years been unable to organise a coup in Venezuela. Make that almost 70 in Cuba. And people here think that the US can organise a global effort against a fellow SC member with nukes?

China has so many options to hit back its mind-boggling. For example, China could print trillions and trillions of fake dollars that can't be detected and basically make the US currency worthless paper. That will remove the dollar from being the currency of the world and collapse the US economy. What will any body do, invade 1.4 billion people?

Watu wawache mchezo.

Oh, and for the record, the measures quoted by @Okiya are not aimed the Chinese only. Countries are moving to safe-guard their businesses from hostile take-overs at their weakest because of corona.

But I guess a little spin will help advance an argument...............

Oh, and for the record, the measures quoted by @Okiya are not aimed the Chinese only. Countries are moving to safe-guard their businesses from hostile take-overs at their weakest because of corona.

But I guess a little spin will help advance an argument...............

What spin? It's on record that global bankers are getting multiple requests from Chinese companies making queries about investment opportunities in Europe.

We all know how big business and greed operate.even if you enact laws from here to heaven,unless you are willing to imprison powerful,well connected individuals hakuna place China inaenda.in the US look at the financial transactions of companies owned by sons of politicians in defense comitees,whose companies owned 80 % by Chinese shareholders, and get defense contracts worth billions.

The other way of for the west would be to gang up and see that Xi Jinping ametolewa.

Isn't this akin to close sing door after the horse has bolted?
What will they do to those companies that are already majority foreign owned?
Will they apply the new laws retrospectively or will they ask them to start diluting their share holding?

The horse hasn't bolted. The laws are to prevent future foreign take over of distressed assets.

What spin? It's on record that global bankers are getting multiple requests from Chinese companies making queries about investment opportunities in Europe.
You are saying or implying that the moves the countries are taking are aimed at China. In fact, they are aimed at protecting domestic production from ALL foreign take-overs at a time of crisis. Surely this is easy to understand?

S
The other way of for the west would be to gang up and see that Xi Jinping ametolewa.
He he he he he! Si kwa ubaya young bro but you need to stop smoking what you have recently been smoking. Hata Madam Mawaya amekwambia ni kama kuna kitu which is not alright. Bring Back the Old Okiya (BBOO)..............

Good thing about this, Africa can only benefit from this fallout. The rules of world trade will be rewritten and for guys at the bottom, the only way is up

Economic wars have just happened, European countries and USA wamerealize wamechezwa when they were just thinking of physical confrontational wars. The advantage that China has is it's vast raw resources, cheap labor, ready market and a controlled society. Sisi Wa Africa are just spectators

Th
You are saying or implying that the moves the countries are taking are aimed at China. In fact, they are aimed at protecting domestic production from ALL foreign take-overs at a time of crisis. Surely this is easy to understand?
They can hardly specify protection from Chinese. But anyone can guess who it is directed at.

and Chinese are very vulnerable. They are dependent on others as customers for their industries with a balance of trade skewed in their favor for all countries.

Also, talk is not just about moving production out of China to the west. It’s also about moving it from China to other equally cheap countries.

S

He he he he he! Si kwa ubaya young bro but you need to stop smoking what you have recently been smoking. Hata Madam Mawaya amekwambia ni kama kuna kitu which is not alright. Bring Back the Old Okiya (BBOO)..............

Soma world politics. Iko Chinese big shots bigger than Xi Jingping.

S
Th

They can hardly specify protection from Chinese. But anyone can guess who it is directed at.

and Chinese are very vulnerable. They are dependent on others as customers for their industries with a balance of trade skewed in their favor for all countries.

Also, talk is not just about moving production out of China to the west. It’s also about moving it from China to other equally cheap countries.
Sweetheart, let's talk geopolitics. I have always loved your contributions and so am gonna be civil.

There are five members of the SC, divided into two groups. The US, Britain and France on one side, Russia and China on the other. Nothing can pass there against China.

Secondly, over the last 30 years of so, the US side of the SC has wasted its goodwill to an extent that the balance of power has tilted towards China. Of the country with nukes, Russia, Pakistan and North Korea are on its side. Just so that you know, Russia has the world's largest nuclear stockpile. Now, I am not saying that anybody would want to start a war but I am telling you the power of the West to determine affairs is fading fast.

Let me take this even further. Turkey - the country in Nato with the largest army - is now in Russia's orbit. Iran, the strongest country in the Middle East, is in China's orbit. The whole of Africa would rather support China than its former colonialists, a few issues notwithstanding (even Francophone Africa has rebelled for once).

Even traditional Western allies are falling apart. In Italy and Spain, people are saying that they do not see the need for the EU and Nato when the first countries to send aid are Cuba, China and Russia. Britain itself, though firmly in the US orbit, is pulling out of the EU, and could break apart (Scotland, Ireland, England etc) in the next 10 years.

My point is, geopolitically things have changed so much that to try and make China look like a push-over is wishful thinking.

As to moving manufacturing to other countries like India and Vietnam, that will hurt China, I agree. In the short-term.

You see, people are stuck in the old mind-set that China still manufactures cheap trinkets. It does, and much much more.

China today is at the cutting edge of human innovation and research. It is, off the top of my head, a leader in 5G, artificial intelligence, moneyless transactions/ICT, space exploration, and medicine. IT SIMPLY< SIMPLY CANNOT BE IGNORED. You may manufacture your shirt in Vietnam, but on people around the world will still want to buy Chinese phones, cheap and several times better than their over-priced American equivalents.

What am I saying? A mother or father can give birth to a child. When this child is young and weak, they can do whatever they want with it. But when the child is all grown and strong, the best the parents can do is respect their child. Because at this stage on, he's stronger than them

The West gave birth to China's growth. There's nothing now they can do about it. Thankfully.