Unpopular Opinion: Thinning The Herd

Burner

As covid rages through the countries, is it not a matter of the strongest survive?
The theory evolution shows that a species gets stronger and manages to survive by managing to adapt to conditions. This is by gaining the advantageous genes and passing them on in the gene pool.
Corona killing those whose immune system is unable to fight it off may just be nature's method of thinning out those unable to weather the storm.

It's not inconceivable to imagine the people who come out of this pandemic having been fully exposed to the disease are more resistant to covid and any other similar strains of the coronavirus family.

A similar virus killed 50million people between 1918 and 1919....what do you think changed? Or what did not happen then that you expect will happen now!?
I'd expect people who survived the spanish flu and their descendants to have a better immunity against contracting that specific strain again. Especially a huge population of Europe. Back then medicine was not as advanced then as it is today to help those hit hardest by it to still pull through.

Just think about how many times you feel a homa coming on an within a day or two you are perfectly fine.

What do I expect will happen? Many shall die. But some kind of vaccine will come out of all this. Something like the flu vaccine you can get annually. Eventually it will be one more gene towards flu resistance we shall be passing on to our kids.

As covid rages through the countries, is it not a matter of the strongest survive?
The theory evolution shows that a species gets stronger and manages to survive by managing to adapt to conditions. This is by gaining the advantageous genes and passing them on in the gene pool.
Corona killing those whose immune system is unable to fight it off may just be nature's method of thinning out those unable to weather the storm.

It's not inconceivable to imagine the people who come out of this pandemic having been fully exposed to the disease are more resistant to covid and any other similar strains of the coronavirus family.
Hio biology theory iko poa kabisa. But mutations must have occured across generations since 1918. That means that many descendants of people who braved the Spanish flu will go down.

Not necessarily. Its entirely possible for the gene for immunity could be passed on over those generations unchanged.
However i am not a biologist. They would have a better sense of how it has gone down.

the civilised man.. mbeberu.. thought he was invincible.. even thinking of how to leave this planet in the future after he has made it inhabitable... untill a microscopic non living agent put him back in his place... in just a few weeks

Evolutionary we fit the earth because those who did not died off. We are here partially because our parents earned it. If some animal from outer space lands here, it will probably be dead in a few days.

the civilised man.. mbeberu.. thought he was invincible.. even thinking of how to leave this planet in the future after he has made it inhabitable... untill a microscopic non living agent put him back in his place... in just a few weeks
And in those few weeks, he has abandoned his plans to go to Mars and back to the moon.

Nonsense. It's a matter of luck...Being in the wrong place at the wrong time. SIMPLE.

You missed the point.

The only reason you and I are not affected isnt because we're strong, its cuz we've not been in contact with a carrier. I get the point that your argument is post-infection, but even still, some people regarded by society as genetically inferior with strong lungs will survive, e.g the lame, deaf, dumb, blind. They'll survive not because they're genetically better or strong, NO. Just because this specific infection or "cull" as you'd like us believe doesn't hit them where theyre weak. If the virus hit deformities, they'd die and the ones with weak lungs currently dying will survive, thats why its majorly about luck.

I disagree. First of all, I do not agree there is any person we could call "gentically superior or inferior" (even if you used the term loosely to just illustrate your point). This is because being lame, deaf, dumb or blind are physical disabilities which make no difference to how this particular virus or any other disease affects the body. There is no difference between someone born with these disabilities and anyone who has suffered an injury causing them the exact same disablity e.g a soldier blinded in combat.

Considering that what is affected is the individual cells and the body's ability to fight the infection. Luck may be a variable as you put it. But even if it is not, and let's say it is inevitable that you get infected, it will still boil down to whether or not your system is capable of developing some resistance against it. This would still be an evolutionary feature making you one of those that survive or not. If you do, it would be advantageous in you passing this particular trait down.

I disagree. First of all, I do not agree there is any person we could call "gentically superior or inferior" (even if you used the term loosely to just illustrate your point). This is because being lame, deaf, dumb or blind are physical disabilities which make no difference to how this particular virus or any other disease affects the body. There is no difference between someone born with these disabilities and anyone who has suffered an injury causing them the exact same disablity e.g a soldier blinded in combat.

Considering that what is affected is the individual cells and the body's ability to fight the infection. Luck may be a variable as you put it. But even if it is not, and let's say it is inevitable that you get infected, it will still boil down to whether or not your system is capable of developing some resistance against it. This would still be an evolutionary feature making you one of those that survive or not. If you do, it would be advantageous in you passing this particular trait down.

The human DNA will never be rid of errors, no matter how many times "weak" people are culled from society be it by such viruses or by people like Hitler, who killed people with medical problems and deformities. I fully believe that if nature really wanted to be successful at altering humanity as we know it, it'd go the dinosaur way. Extinguish EVERYONE and start a fresh with a brand new perfect DNA. Human beings will always be divided into the strong and the weak.

Nature's experiments to extinguish humanity has failed terribly. Ilianza na plague,malaria, spanish flu, AIDS, Cholera, Measles, Small pox, H1N1, MERS, SARS, Ebola na sasa Corona, all major pandemics that instead of extinguishing us, tunaendelea tu kuongezeka juu sasa, we're 6billion+. I suggest you tell whoever it is thats trying to kill the weak amongst us that it's not working......

The human DNA will never be rid of errors, no matter how many times "weak" people are culled from society be it by such viruses or by people like Hitler, who killed people with medical problems and deformities. I fully believe that if nature really wanted to be successful at altering humanity as we know it, it'd go the dinosaur way. Extinguish EVERYONE and start a fresh with a brand new perfect DNA. Human beings will always be divided into the strong and the weak.

Nature's experiments to extinguish humanity has failed terribly. Ilianza na plague,malaria, spanish flu, AIDS, Cholera, Measles, Small pox, H1N1, MERS, SARS, Ebola na sasa Corona, all major pandemics that instead of extinguishing us, tunaendelea tu kuongezeka juu sasa, we're 6billion+. I suggest you tell whoever it is thats trying to kill the weak amongst us that it's not working......
The errors are there and always will be. This is inherent in the replicating process. Something will be lost or gained or changed which will either be an advantage or a disadvantage. The great thing about it, is that natural events determine which of these traits more advantageous to survival.

The thing about all those diseases is that there are useful things which have resulted from them even on a purely natural level. There are populations of people who develop a natural immunity to them or are completely asymptomatic. I am not asserting that nature is a conscious agent that is out to exterminate mankind, but as these disease appear it will those who have a better genetic disposition to survive, who have the advantage. It certainly does help that modern science allows even those with a "weaker" genetic system to survive relatively unscathed.

The errors are there and always will be. This is inherent in the replicating process. Something will be lost or gained or changed which will either be an advantage or a disadvantage. The great thing about it, is that natural events determine which of these traits more advantageous to survival.

The thing about all those diseases is that there are useful things which have resulted from them even on a purely natural level. There are populations of people who develop a natural immunity to them or are completely asymptomatic. I am not asserting that nature is a conscious agent that is out to exterminate mankind, but as these disease appear it will those who have a better genetic disposition to survive, who have the advantage. It certainly does help that modern science allows even those with a "weaker" genetic system to survive relatively unscathed.

I refute your point that whoever survives coronavirus or any other pandemic is because they are stronger, because utasurvive coronavirus 2 alafu coronavirus 3 ikuuwe. Most people had survived their underlying medical conditions until covid 19 came around and took them out.

In a nutshell, all I'm saying is that pandemics should never be viewed as nature's way of controlling population because its only a SECTION of the population thats affected, therefore theres no telling whether the majority of those not affected would have died or survived. If you're trying to paint a pandemic as a leveller of humanity, then I suggest EVERYONE gets the disease and then we can say that those who survive are a TRUE representation of an excellent gene pool,......at least until the next pandemic, when ALL the survivors of the previous pandemic are tested AGAIN, otherwise, your theory applies only in individual countries, not humanity as a whole.

I refute your point that whoever survives coronavirus or any other pandemic is because they are stronger, because utasurvive coronavirus 2 alafu coronavirus 3 ikuuwe. Most people had survived their underlying medical conditions until covid 19 came around and took them out.
This is my point. There are those with and without underlying conditions who who survived coronavirus 1..2..3 ....and will survive 19. Aren't this people not stronger as a result? There are better suited to survive the next epidemic. Even then, a section of them will survive corona 20 or bubonic plague 3.5 but largely because of having managed to survive earlier exposure or having been passed on the genetic material to withstand them.

Following that, if the SECTION of population that is affected and survives have an advantage over those who were not affected at all. I agree I cannot tell whether you would have died or survived given that you were not affected but look at it this way:

I get infected and survive. You do not get infected at all. The curve is flattened (as they are trying to do) within the next 5 months. This doesn't mean the infection is gone but fewer people are getting infected as time progresses. In month 7, due to laxity in hygiene or social distancing etc, we have a flare up in infections again of this particular strain of covid-19. Who then has a better chance of survival should we both get infected (or reinfected in my case)? Me who went through the disease and my body "learnt" something? Or you who is facing the disease for the very first time?

This is my point. There are those with and without underlying conditions who who survived coronavirus 1..2..3 ....and will survive 19. Aren't this people not stronger as a result? There are better suited to survive the next epidemic. Even then, a section of them will survive corona 20 or bubonic plague 3.5 but largely because of having managed to survive earlier exposure or having been passed on the genetic material to withstand them.

Following that, if the SECTION of population that is affected and survives have an advantage over those who were not affected at all. I agree I cannot tell whether you would have died or survived given that you were not affected but look at it this way:

I get infected and survive. You do not get infected at all. The curve is flattened (as they are trying to do) within the next 5 months. This doesn't mean the infection is gone but fewer people are getting infected as time progresses. In month 7, due to laxity in hygiene or social distancing etc, we have a flare up in infections again of this particular strain of covid-19. Who then has a better chance of survival should we both get infected (or reinfected in my case)? Me who went through the disease and my body "learnt" something? Or you who is facing the disease for the very first time?

Oh, I finally get your point, but it would only apply if the next pandemic is a similar pandemic, otherwise it won't be too useful to be immune to coronavirus but the next pandemic is the plague, will it?