This is Guka - No, @Introvert, I Am Not a Tribalist.................

Bwana Kipara, let me make a few things clear.

I am not a tribalist. As a man grounded in real science, I know all humans are the same under the skin. That's why a Chinese can inter-breed with a pygmy and get a viable (breeding) offspring. Same DNA, 99.9999997%

In contrast, a horse cannot bring a viable offspring with a donkey, however hard they ferk. Different DNA.

Having said that, I am very uncomfortable with situations like Kenya isfinding itself at. The US is also in a similar position. And what is that situation?

It is this. That some truths can't be spoken because they are politically-incorrect. They are not palatable. If you dare speak them you are labelled, or at worst cancelled.

So, for example in the US when you speak against the wanton black-on-black violence and state, very correctly, that white police violence pales in comparison, you are totally cancelled. You do not understand the Black experience. You are a racist. You are a chauvinist.

In Kenya, we have been giving some of our communities free passes for the same reason. We allow Maasais to graze in the city and to carry swords all over, for example. Let a Gikuyu man try to have two goats in langata, or to sell swords in Nairobi West and you see. Court next day.

And so I come to the Luo nation.

For the longest time, this community has been given a free pass because - allegedly - they have been marginalised forever. Yet I remember that the Luos have had some of the most powerful politicians and civil servants since independence - Jaramogi, Tom Mboya, Raila, Oyugi etc.

The crazy thing is, when I, as a Gikuyu Kenyan says anything about the Luo, I am called a tribalist. A chauvinist. It's as if the Luo are off-topic. I can say anything about the Kamba or the Kalenjin or the Luhya and its kosher. I say anything about the Luo and boom! Tribalist!

When for example I say that Homa Bay has a HIV prevalence of nearly 30 per cent because of some retrogressive cultural practices - wife inheritance, transactional sex at the lake shore, early marriages - its not long before the words used in the US are shouted at me; Chauvinist! Tribalist!

When I say that the Luo, potentially one of Kenya's most progressive societies, has to do away with its silly victimhood and marginalisation narrative I am abused. Which Kenyan community, if I may ask, has been marginalised more than the Somalis yet you see them taking over the capital? I don't vote for Raila? Tribalist! And that from the same people who did not vote for Uhuru, or anybody else outside their tribe!

When I say that Luos sometimes exhibit funny 'emotionalism' - from my perspective - in love and war I am condemned. And yet, who does not see the funny screaming, yelling and loud crying at Luo matangas? This may not be wrong per se, but in many cultures including my native Gikuyu, this is strange. Ask any Nairobian and he will tell you - they would rather confront Mwangi with a gun than Otis with a knife. Why? Mwangi will just rob you and go away. Otis will knife you just for the fun of it. Emotionalism.

These are the realities of modern Kenya. Each community has its pecularities. My own Gikuyu are avarice compared to other communities - they'll do anything for a shilling which is why when yo go to Kamiti and call out "Mwangi na Njoroge wanifuate" half the cell block follows you. When this is pointed out nobody is called a tribalist. Nobody catches, we laugh. WE KNOW ITS TRUE, just as it is that half the hoes in Nairobi are from Murang'a.

So why do Luos catch when stuff about their community is said? Why are they so touchy? Hii 'emotionalism' itaisha lini?

No, I am not a tribalist. But I am a shareholder in this country we share called Kenya and I have a right to call out YOUR BS, just as you do to call out MINE.

And if your BS is wife inheritance, fish-for-sex, etc etc that leads to a HIV prevalence of 26% by God I will call it.

Nothing personal or tribal.

Just being real.

I am not a tribalist. As a man grounded in real science, I know all humans are the same under the skin. That's why a Chinese can inter-breed with a pygmy and get a viable (breeding) offspring. Same DNA, 99.9999997%

In contrast, a horse cannot bring a viable offspring with a donkey, however hard they ferk. Different DNA.

Having said that, I am very uncomfortable with situations like Kenya isfinding itself at. The US is also in a similar position. And what is that situation?

It is this. That some truths can't be spoken because they are politically-incorrect. They are not palatable. If you dare speak them you are labelled, or at worst cancelled.

So, for example in the US when you speak against the wanton black-on-black violence and state, very correctly, that white police violence pales in comparison, you are totally cancelled. You do not understand the Black experience. You are a racist. You are a chauvinist.

In Kenya, we have been giving some of our communities free passes for the same reason. We allow Maasais to graze in the city and to carry swords all over, for example. Let a Gikuyu man try to have two goats in langata, or to sell swords in Nairobi West and you see. Court next day.

For the longest time, this community has been given a free pass because - allegedly - they have been marginalised forever. Yet I remember that the Luos have had some of the most powerful politicians and civil servants since independence - Jaramogi, Tom Mboya, Raila, Oyugi etc.

The crazy thing is, when I, as a Gikuyu Kenyan says anything about the Luo, I am called a tribalist. A chauvinist. It's as if the Luo are off-topic. I can say anything about the Kamba or the Kalenjin or the Luhya and its kosher. I say anything about the Luo and boom! Tribalist!

When for example I say that Homa Bay has a HIV prevalence of nearly 30 per cent because of some retrogressive cultural practices - wife inheritance, transactional sex at the lake shore, early marriages - its not long before the words used in the US are shouted at me; Chauvinist! Tribalist!

When I say that the Luo, potentially one of Kenya's most progressive societies, has to do away with its silly victimhood and marginalisation narrative I am abused. Which Kenyan community, if I may ask, has been marginalised more than the Somalis yet you see them taking over the capital? I don't vote for Raila? Tribalist! And that from the same people who did not vote for Uhuru, or anybody else outside their tribe!

When I say that Luos sometimes exhibit funny 'emotionalism' - from my perspective - in love and war I am condemned. And yet, who does not see the funny screaming, yelling and loud crying at Luo matangas? This may not be wrong per se, but in many cultures including my native Gikuyu, this is strange. Ask any Nairobian and he will tell you - they would rather confront Mwangi with a gun than Otis with a knife. Why? Mwangi will just rob you and go away. Otis will knife you just for the fun of it. Emotionalism.

These are the realities of modern Kenya. Each community has its pecularities. My own Gikuyu are avarice compared to other communities - they'll do anything for a shilling which is why when yo go to Kamiti and call out "Mwangi na Njoroge wanifuate" half the cell block follows you. When this is pointed out nobody is called a tribalist. Nobody catches, we laugh. WE KNOW ITS TRUE, just as it is that half the hoes in Nairobi are from Murang'a.

So why do Luos catch when stuff about their community is said? Why are they so touchy? Hii 'emotionalism' itaisha lini?

No, I am not a tribalist. But I am a shareholder in this country we share called Kenya and I have a right to call out YOUR BS, just as you do to call out MINE.

And if your BS is wife inheritance, fish-for-sex, etc etc that leads to a HIV prevalence of 26% by God I will call it.

Nothing personal or tribal.

Just being real.
Things will change drastically when Baba exits

Guka what you have written here is very correct, In Kenya only the Luo's have a free pass to tribal stereotypes, and nothing would be done to them.
But your Jaruos problems quip was uncalled for in that post, a decade ago I have lost a kid to misdiagnosis by medics, the issue is crosscutting, until we make medics responsible for both their actions and inactions, we shall continue having killers with stethoscope moving around freely.

Yes you are (and a broke one too). Like the hill billies. That's unequivocal or else you won't have to find the need to assert or reassert it.

Your generation and its remnants, with your antiquated notions, is what is holding Kenya back.

Pepo chafu!
Njaruo, mimi the only Njaruo I don't like is your tingod Babuon. I don't know why you confuse him for the whole community.

Otherwise kiongoss the rest of your statement as to my financial status is true. Alleviate it..

Yes you are (and a broke one too). Like the hill billies. That's unequivocal or else you won't have to find the need to assert or reassert it.

Your generation and its remnants, with your antiquated notions, is what is holding Kenya back.

Pepo chafu!

Amen and hallelujah to next year!

When I say that the Luo, potentially one of Kenya's most progressive societies, has to do away with its silly victimhood and marginalisation narrative I am abused. Which Kenyan community, if I may ask, has been marginalised more than the Somalis yet you see them taking over the capital? I don't vote for Raila? Tribalist! And that from the same people who did not vote for Uhuru, or anybody else
Oooh yesterday was Friday !
Paybill manenos , fobe ni mbaya, @Aviator , how could you all your husband do this ?

Njaruo, mimi the only Njaruo I don't like is your tingod Babuon. I don't know why you confuse him for the whole community.

Otherwise kiongoss the rest of your statement as to my financial status is true. Alleviate it..

So if you only have a problem with one person, why generalize? Why are you saying they have a cultural problem while at the same time saying you don't discriminate them?

white_cap_0.png

Pepo chafu!
Hapa nakubaliana nawe fully.

The colonialists, kenyatta and moi really did a number on this generation. Any attempts to think or challenge the status quo na unafukuzwa kama mbwa. They only allow space for ass kissing and that notion of sit and wait for your turn.