From kitambo, the African has always had a weird way of explaining his circumstances, fortunes and misfortunes.
Before the colonialists came, all good and bad things were explained off using witchcraft. A witchdoctor - ONE PERSON - could 'cure' everything with a wave of a fly-whisk. Another could of course bewitch you.
Then the Mzungu brought Saitan and the Roman bastard Yesus, and suddenly our fate was in their hands. Kikiumana, you blame Saitan, even though a closer look would reveal that the misfortune (road accident, HIV, Covid infection etc) was of your own doing. Of course ukikafunga unasema ni Yesus.
The net result of this extremely low-intelligence way of looking at life is that many of us never go to the root course of our good or bad fortunes. We keep blaming external forces and people for our circumstances. HIV infection when you don't wear a condom? Chira! Accident when a drunk matatu driver speeds? Saitan! Drunks dying from poisoned brew? The police!
Always finger-pointing without giving much thought to real causes, and effects.
This weird, low IQ fascination with 'supernatural' healers, devils, and messiahs - scapegoats actually - has seeped into our political consiousness.
Today, no person receives more blame for our collective sins than the President. Unashindwa, you expect one person, ONE PERSON, to somehow 'heal' a rotten and cursed society of 50 million? How is he supposed to do it?
Take corruption. I have said over and over again that the weakest link in our fight against the vice is the Judiciary. Quite simply, it is irredemably graft-ridden, inept and inefficient. Which is why, for example, the Willie Kimani case, the Eve wa Shoka case, etc etc take for ever. Actually all cases take for ever, and when they are concluded, most bigwigs just receive a slap on the wrist. Judgements are often ridiculous and lacking in wisdom.
Take this one.
The above dude has been arrested and CONVICTED more than four times for illegally cutting trees in Ngong Forest. He has been sentenced at Ngong, Kibera and Milimani courts. Today he was fined Sh100,000 or one year in jail for the offence, FOR THE FOURTH TIME. And yet utaskia chimps zikiteta akipigwa risasi ni fed-up forest guards. Cause-and-effect.
Back to corruption.
Because, as in the above case, people do not want to CORRECTLY DIAGNOSE the problem and attribute blame correctly - THE JUDICIARY IS FERKED UP - unapata bonoboz here singing endlessly that Uhuru does not want to fight corruption. It is the same primordial, primitive, knee-jerk and thoughtless reactions that made our forefathers attribute malaria, cholera etc to a malignant witchdoctor, or more recently blame avoidable incidents on Saitan.
The president has become our saitan and witch-doctor. If we keep blaming him, we won't have to take action ourselves, tuko white as snow. And we won't have to blame our relatives, friends and schoolmates who comprise the Judiciary. We won't have to think why we are where we are - UHURU DOES NOT WANT TO FIGHT CORRUPTION, PERIOD. Why should we think about judges being caught with Sh750,000 in their chambers? Why should we question why cases take decades to conclude. That is hard. It requires hard, logical thought. Better to pick on one scapegoat and make him carry all our sins. And hence:
The witchdoctor, saitanic Uhuru DOES NOT WANT TO FIGHT WITCHCRAFT, CHIRA, COVID, CORRUPTION, MALARIA, ROAD ACCIDENTS ETC.
But mostly corruption.
Kukosa akili ni kitu mbaya sana.
Before the colonialists came, all good and bad things were explained off using witchcraft. A witchdoctor - ONE PERSON - could 'cure' everything with a wave of a fly-whisk. Another could of course bewitch you.
Then the Mzungu brought Saitan and the Roman bastard Yesus, and suddenly our fate was in their hands. Kikiumana, you blame Saitan, even though a closer look would reveal that the misfortune (road accident, HIV, Covid infection etc) was of your own doing. Of course ukikafunga unasema ni Yesus.
The net result of this extremely low-intelligence way of looking at life is that many of us never go to the root course of our good or bad fortunes. We keep blaming external forces and people for our circumstances. HIV infection when you don't wear a condom? Chira! Accident when a drunk matatu driver speeds? Saitan! Drunks dying from poisoned brew? The police!
Always finger-pointing without giving much thought to real causes, and effects.
This weird, low IQ fascination with 'supernatural' healers, devils, and messiahs - scapegoats actually - has seeped into our political consiousness.
Today, no person receives more blame for our collective sins than the President. Unashindwa, you expect one person, ONE PERSON, to somehow 'heal' a rotten and cursed society of 50 million? How is he supposed to do it?
Take corruption. I have said over and over again that the weakest link in our fight against the vice is the Judiciary. Quite simply, it is irredemably graft-ridden, inept and inefficient. Which is why, for example, the Willie Kimani case, the Eve wa Shoka case, etc etc take for ever. Actually all cases take for ever, and when they are concluded, most bigwigs just receive a slap on the wrist. Judgements are often ridiculous and lacking in wisdom.
Take this one.
The above dude has been arrested and CONVICTED more than four times for illegally cutting trees in Ngong Forest. He has been sentenced at Ngong, Kibera and Milimani courts. Today he was fined Sh100,000 or one year in jail for the offence, FOR THE FOURTH TIME. And yet utaskia chimps zikiteta akipigwa risasi ni fed-up forest guards. Cause-and-effect.
Back to corruption.
Because, as in the above case, people do not want to CORRECTLY DIAGNOSE the problem and attribute blame correctly - THE JUDICIARY IS FERKED UP - unapata bonoboz here singing endlessly that Uhuru does not want to fight corruption. It is the same primordial, primitive, knee-jerk and thoughtless reactions that made our forefathers attribute malaria, cholera etc to a malignant witchdoctor, or more recently blame avoidable incidents on Saitan.
The president has become our saitan and witch-doctor. If we keep blaming him, we won't have to take action ourselves, tuko white as snow. And we won't have to blame our relatives, friends and schoolmates who comprise the Judiciary. We won't have to think why we are where we are - UHURU DOES NOT WANT TO FIGHT CORRUPTION, PERIOD. Why should we think about judges being caught with Sh750,000 in their chambers? Why should we question why cases take decades to conclude. That is hard. It requires hard, logical thought. Better to pick on one scapegoat and make him carry all our sins. And hence:
The witchdoctor, saitanic Uhuru DOES NOT WANT TO FIGHT WITCHCRAFT, CHIRA, COVID, CORRUPTION, MALARIA, ROAD ACCIDENTS ETC.
But mostly corruption.
Kukosa akili ni kitu mbaya sana.