This is Guka - My Dad's Grave; What the Ferk is Wrong With Us Honestly?

This morning I had some kidogo biashara at KWS headquarters, Langata Road. Afterwards, I took the opportunity to visit my dad's grave at Langata Cemetery next door. Like Paul Kibugi Muite and Joseph Kararahe Gatuguta, two other Ndeiyans who were his friends, he was one of the pioneer African lawyers, those who went directly to KSL without degrees. He died 20 years ago.

Man, I was in for a shock at the cemetery. The place looks like Karura Forest. You can even get lost in the bushes, where apparently cattle have been grazing! halafu there are some dodgy characters moving around it doesn't look safe.

Now, all those buried in permanent graves like dad pay an annual maintenance fee to the County gavament depending on the size of the plot (some people have bought plots to bury multiple people). The cemetery is over-seen by a superintendant and a dozen or so workers who are supposed to maintain it but apparently their entire business is to hustle people/visitors to pay them to maintain your kin's grave at a fee.

What kind of ferkery is this honestly? Watu wanalipwa pesa by the County every month for doing absolutely NOTHING, WHY? Kufieka nyasi tuuu and clearing bushes hawawezi jameni? What is wrong with us?

Crazy irony of ironies, nikapitia graves za Magic Mwangi and Andrew Kimani Ngumba, two of Mzee's friends and former clients (Mwangi was once accused by the Moi gavament of importing containers of bhangi, and Ngumba was forever in the courts because of a financial institution he had started called Rural-Urban Credit!). Their graves are unkempt too.

I don't know what to think. But if anybody has the contacts of the Major-general, give him a call. A few heads need to roll..................

This morning I had some kidogo biashara at KWS headquarters, Langata Road. Afterwards, I took the opportunity to visit my dad's grave at Langata Cemetery next door. Like Paul Kibugi Muite and Joseph Kararahe Gatuguta, two other Ndeiyans who were his friends, he was one of the pioneer African lawyers, those who went directly to KSL without degrees. He died 20 years ago.

Man, I was in for a shock at the cemetery. The place looks like Karura Forest. You can even get lost in the bushes, where apparently cattle have been grazing! halafu there are some dodgy characters moving around it doesn't look safe.

Now, all those buried in permanent graves like dad pay an annual maintenance fee to the County gavament depending on the size of the plot (some people have bought plots to bury multiple people). The cemetery is over-seen by a superintendant and a dozen or so workers who are supposed to maintain it but apparently their entire business is to hustle people/visitors to pay them to maintain your kin's grave at a fee.

What kind of ferkery is this honestly? Watu wanalipwa pesa by the County every month for doing absolutely NOTHING, WHY? Kufieka nyasi tuuu and clearing bushes hawawezi jameni? What is wrong with us?

Crazy irony of ironies, nikapitia graves za Magic Mwangi and Andrew Kimani Ngumba, two of Mzee's friends and former clients (Mwangi was once accused by the Moi gavament of importing containers of bhangi, and Ngumba was forever in the courts because of a financial institution he had started called Rural-Urban Credit!). Their graves are unkempt too.

I don't know what to think. But if anybody has the contacts of the Major-general, give him a call. A few heads need to roll..................
I read you bro ,the NMS must do something , the late 'magic' mwangi had a vision for Nairobi .May all rest in peace.

True, Guka.
I resorted to do the gardening on my own, then sit and sketch a little occasionally.
SAM_3683.JPG

We are also paying Mike Mbuvi Sonko a salary of about Kshs1.1M for doing absolutely nothing now that Major General Badi is running Nairobi. Don't forget Sonko has several assistants who assist him to do absolutely nothing and they get paid too.
In short we Nairobi residents are used to paying and getting nothing in exchange

You know well this country collapsed long back, especially in the departments like you've mentioned above.
Watu walikula land ya cemetery wakaweka estates.
In my opinion, just bury and forget. Maintaining grave is mambo ya wazungu, mtu ashaenda.
You want to keep his legacy, get some money and donate to a children's home on his behalf, or feed a couple hungry mouths. That is better than clearing the bush.

You know well this country collapsed long back, especially in the departments like you've mentioned above.
Watu walikula land ya cemetery wakaweka estates.
In my opinion, just bury and forget. Maintaining grave is mambo ya wazungu, mtu ashaenda.
You want to keep his legacy, get some money and donate to a children's home on his behalf, or feed a couple hungry mouths. That is better than clearing the bush.
I see where you are coming from and kinda of understand. This is the approach most African societies took. BUT, virtually every technologically advanced society in the world takes care of its dead. There's something to it too.................

How lazy/unconcerned/unable/poor is your family to not take care of a simple grave.
And from your account( growth of shrubs)it seems you and your people take years before you think of visiting your departed ones graves.

How lazy/unconcerned/unable/poor is your family to not take care of a simple grave.
And from your account( growth of shrubs)it seems you and your people take years before you think of visiting your departed ones graves.
Hii ujinga yako huwa ni ya kuzaliwa ama ni kujiwekelea tuu?

We pay the Nairobi county for so many services but still make private arrangements.
Would you risk your family's health by drinking water straight out of kanjo taps coz you are paying for it?
Will you wallow in garbage since you are paying for it to be moved but kanjo isn't collecting?
That's what I would call stupid.