I think kenya's is the most stupid sexual offences law outside the Middle East....................it would never pass in places like Europe, Japan, Northern America or even India................
I couldn't agree with her more. An offence is an offence. End of.
Do not trigger me madam. I have a very low tolerance for BS. Kwani watoto wa Britain na Europe huko uko mature faster juu their ages of consent are lower?
Let me engage you kidogo before I give up.What you are advocating for is simply not possible @Field Marshal.
This is because for any law to be effective and functional it has to be clear, unambiguous and certain. It is only such a law that is capable of sanctioning your liberty by a jail sentence or financial punishment by a fine or granting any of the myriads of injunctions.
The Age of Consent is such a law specifying at what age sex can be presumed consensual.
The problem with your piece is that you expect the law to accommodate individuals’ circumstances and situations. To understand that the Girl was only a year to this Age and that the Man was highly educated and skilled. You expect the law to compromise on its specifications. That’s impossible and won’t happen. Any law that is not specific, articulate and precise can be challenged as it will only create confusion.
What I can agree with you is that Judges don’t always have to give the maximum penalties for offences. That is the reason they have a wide discretion on the penalties they can give. Do remember also that Judges should act on the mitigation grounds given. That is where they can bring the human touch to the cold hand of criminal justice. After all sentencing should not only be about punishment but also about rehabilitation.
By the way, you are wrong in thinking that Sexual Offenders in the west are treated with kid gloves. To the contrary. Anyone charged with a sexual offence in UK faces insurmountable and difficulty life from then to the end of their earthly lives. They may get 3 years imprisonments but because they are on Sex Register they have to report to their local police station for life. If they change addresses they have to inform probation. They can’t travel abroad and they have to declare their convictions (Sexual Offences Act) in every job application. Of course they never ever get employed in any meaningful jobs ever after.
Reminds me of the hullabaloo brought about by the Narcotics and Psychotropics Substances Act of 1994 whereby judges were jailing offenders right left and centre for possession of miniscule amounts of weed for 10 years. Then one brave judge ( or magistrate, can't remember) brought this nonsense to a head by pointing out that shall be liable to is not the same as mandatory and eventually sentenced the convict to a few months in jail.is that Judges don’t always have to give the maximum penalties for offences. That is the reason they have a wide discretion on the penalties they can give. Do remember also that Judges should act on the mitigation grounds given.
In the US, where different 'races' use different classes of drugs, the same nonsense has been used to jail more Blacks than whites. Unapata ukishikwa na heroine (for example) unaenda ndani for 3 years because it's used mostly by caucasians, lakini ukishikwa na brown sugar which is used more in Black areas unaenda ndani for 20.Reminds me of the hullabaloo brought about by the Narcotics and Psychotropics Substances Act of 1994 whereby judges were jailing offenders right left and centre for possession of miniscule amounts of weed for 10 years. Then one brave judge ( or magistrate, can't remember) brought this nonsense to a head by pointing out that shall be liable to is not the same as mandatory and eventually sentenced the convict to a few months in jail.
@Field Marshal that's one helluva argument which can only be rebutted by a devil's advocate....Let me engage you kidogo before I give up.
The greatest weakness with the Kenyan sexual Offences Act is that it gives ABSOLUTE sentences. No room for mitigation or for the magistrate to give you a lesser sentence. What's more, ALL THE MANDATORY SENTENCES ARE EXCESSIVE.
For example if a judge finds a, 18 old boy has had sex with a 17.5 year old girl (THAT'S AN AGE DIFFERENCE OF LESS THAN SIX months) IT IS DEFILEMENT AND THE BOY GOES IN FOR 10-15 YEARS. MANDATORY, NO ROOM FOR MITIGATING FACTORS.
Is this justice?
The Supreme Court has already ruled that MANDATORY sentences are unconstitutional (at least in the cases of murder and robbery with violence). In fact the same lacunae existed with the latter as well - kijana anaku-threaten with a rock anakunyanganya simu, he's sentenced to death though he never hurt you. Another one participates in killing an entire family during a robbery and he too is sentenced to death. Where's the justice for the former? Where's the proportionality, a major cornerstone of law?
I can understand a death or even life sentence for a beast who drags a seven-year old into the bush and rapes and kills her. Life for life. Even if the girl survives she's traumatised for life. But what the logic in jailing a 20-year old kid for 15 years for having a love affair with a 17-year old? Sisi hatukucheza cha baba na mama? Can the same happen anywhere in Europe? ANSWER THIS SPECIFIC QUESTION.
But it gets worse. The stupidly way this law is applied is what is seeing hundreds and even thousands of men rotting in jail. A wife wants to take away the shamba, she shouts 'rape', eti you defiled a 7-year old. MANDATORY JAIL-TERM OF LIFE. You have a dispute with a female business colleague, rape! And then you wonder why we are killing them like rats.
Kenyan courts have also been implementing the law with a very little threshold of evidence. Often it's the man's word against that of a coached 10-year old. Guess what, the 10-year old is believed. LIFE. Years later, after the man has lost everything and the girl is an adult, she realises she was misused and recants her evidence. Guess what again? The man cannot be released if he had exhausted his appeal options! What ferkery is this (several cases have come up this year alone, SEVERAL!)
Justice Chitembwe said yesterday many magistrates and judges are also cowed to pass unjust sentences because they fear the back-lash from activists and the press. He said he himself faced matusi when he realised a convict called Charo.
Njoki Ndungu once represented her matha against her fatha in court so we all know where she's coming from. But a country of 50 million should not be saddled with a bad law because one entitled bitch hates men.
Oh, and she's my (very) distant cousin so I should know...................
.....or the differentiation of crack and cocaineIn the US, where different 'races' use different classes of drugs, the same nonsense has been used to jail more Blacks than whites. Unapata ukishikwa na heroine (for example) unaenda ndani for 3 years because it's used mostly by caucasians, lakini ukishikwa na brown sugar which is used more in Black areas unaenda ndani for 20.
PS: The drugs are used for illustration only.
@Field Marshal,In the US, where different 'races' use different classes of drugs, the same nonsense has been used to jail more Blacks than whites. Unapata ukishikwa na heroine (for example) unaenda ndani for 3 years because it's used mostly by caucasians, lakini ukishikwa na brown sugar which is used more in Black areas unaenda ndani for 20.
PS: The drugs are used for illustration only.
Well put,mate...I don't have a problem with jailing pedophiles. My definition of a pedophile is of an older person exploiting a child sexually. I think you will agree with me that a 15 year old having consensual sexual relationship with another 15 year old is not exploitation. Heck, even 2 to 3 years difference is not much. If my 17 year old daughter has sex with a 19 year boy, do I get him jailed? How just is that?
You were trying to sell the sliperry slope fallacy above. It doesn't wash! We all were teens at some time and know how this stuff works. A child molester is pest that should be gotten rid off. Lakini criminalizing a teenager for doing what comes naturally is going too far.
What you are advocating for is simply not possible @Field Marshal.
This is because for any law to be effective and functional it has to be clear, unambiguous and certain. It is only such a law that is capable of sanctioning your liberty by a jail sentence or financial punishment by a fine or granting any of the myriads of injunctions.
The Age of Consent is such a law specifying at what age sex can be presumed consensual.
The problem with your piece is that you expect the law to accommodate individuals’ circumstances and situations. To understand that the Girl was only a year to this Age and that the Man was highly educated and skilled. You expect the law to compromise on its specifications. That’s impossible and won’t happen. Any law that is not specific, articulate and precise can be challenged as it will only create confusion.
What I can agree with you is that Judges don’t always have to give the maximum penalties for offences. That is the reason they have a wide discretion on the penalties they can give. Do remember also that Judges should act on the mitigation grounds given. That is where they can bring the human touch to the cold hand of criminal justice. After all sentencing should not only be about punishment but also about rehabilitation.
By the way, you are wrong in thinking that Sexual Offenders in the west are treated with kid gloves. To the contrary. Anyone charged with a sexual offence in UK faces insurmountable and difficulty life from then to the end of their earthly lives. They may get 3 years imprisonments but because they are on Sex Register they have to report to their local police station for life. If they change addresses they have to inform probation. They can’t travel abroad and they have to declare their convictions (Sexual Offences Act) in every job application. Of course they never ever get employed in any meaningful jobs ever after.
She won't. She'll beat about the bush about some silly morality.Give me a case in UK where an 18 year old male was jailed for having consensual sex relationship with a 17 year old girl.
If you give me this case law madam, I will shut my mouth.
She won't. She'll beat about the bush about some silly morality.
I think she should just stick to giving me her bush.
Give me a case in UK where an 18 year old male was jailed for having consensual sex relationship with a 17 year old girl.
If you give me this case law madam, I will shut my mouth.
I remember a boy who was 17, kept in remand until he was 18 then charged with defilement of a girl who was 16. Pains me to this day.I don't have a problem with jailing pedophiles. My definition of a pedophile is of an older person exploiting a child sexually. I think you will agree with me that a 15 year old having consensual sexual relationship with another 15 year old is not exploitation. Heck, even 2 to 3 years difference is not much. If my 17 year old daughter has sex with a 19 year boy, do I get him jailed? How just is that?
You were trying to sell the sliperry slope fallacy above. It doesn't wash! We all were teens at some time and know how this stuff works. A child molester is pest that should be gotten rid off. Lakini criminalizing a teenager for doing what comes naturally is going too far.
@bigDog,
I thought I already made it clear that I am in full and unequivocal agreement with your sentiments.
I even went ahead to state that Kenyan Judges are failing by not exercising their discretion to adjudicate each and every case on its own peculiar facts and circumstances.
If I remember correctly I had an ax to grind with them for not giving a listening ear and an empathetic heart to mitigation presented to them.
At other times I think they are just lazy to write an original judgement and just goes straight to mandatory sentences.
Judges here are brave to interpret the law broadly and apply up to date realities of our times instead of archaic written-in-stone mandatory sentencing.
What I however think people presume is that you can get away with Sexual Offences in the West. This is not the case and it is no surprise that many people have committed suicide rather than live with the attendant life long sanctions of a conviction of sexual offence.
I remember a boy who was 17, kept in remand until he was 18 then charged with defilement of a girl who was 16. Pains me to this day.
I don't support or even condone paedophilia or underage sex but the sentences in Kenya are punitive, actually excessive. Unless it was rape it should not exceed 20yrs ,renember you are wasting a full productive life.To me a child is anyone under 18. Male or female.
This is regardless of how they develop physically.
These days the physical development seems to be come earlier and earlier.
I know of a 13 year old who has no problem getting into clubs. At a glance she passes for a 25 year old.
But whichever way you look at it she is a child and should not be taken advantage of.
As it stands you cannot enter into a contract with a minor, for a reason.
It is a fact that the brain is still undergoing important development way into the 20s.
I fail to see the benefits of engagement in sexual activity at an age earlier than 18.
We have to teach both girls and boys to respect the law.
We should not start bending it and making excuses.
Its illegal for ANYONE to engage in sexual activity with a minor, even one that is a day short of 18... End of... No ifs or buts
I don't support or even condone paedophilia or underage sex but the sentences in Kenya are punitive, actually excessive. Unless it was rape it should not exceed 20yrs ,renember you are wasting a full productive life.
Now imagine the teacher who was caught with a sudent is sentenced for a long term and yet the student was 22yrs.
Pamba I think posted the section for that one. Poor dude is supposed to be sentenced FOR AT LEAST 10 YEARS FOR SLEEPING WITH A MATURE WOMAN with consent.I don't support or even condone paedophilia or underage sex but the sentences in Kenya are punitive, actually excessive. Unless it was rape it should not exceed 20yrs ,renember you are wasting a full productive life.
Now imagine the teacher who was caught with a sudent is sentenced for a long term and yet the student was 22yrs.