This is Guka - I Am Nothing But Stardust. A Simple Lesson From the Greatest Selfie Ever Taken

You're tapping into something our ancestors observed for themselves. For example, the Dogon, a tribe in Mali, discovered the existence of Sirius B, a partner to Sirius A, which is believed to be the source of our solar system(from which we are the star dust).

Our 365 day calendars are designed around the appearance of Sirius at the horizon on July 19th, something discovered by our ancestors.

Our events were planned around the appearance (or lack of it) of a new moon. When you visit Central and West Africa, you discover ancient practices centered around moon and sun cycles, based on a very deep understanding of the cosmos.
@It's Me Scumbag
@Sambamba @Field Marshal @shocks I implore you guys to watch this address at Oxford.

Modern astronomy is not the preserve of Western cultures and is very much based on ancient African observations and practices.

Now fathom this:
1) The universe is around 14bn yrs old.
2) The diameter of the universe is like 93bn light years.
3) The universe started from a singularity
4) Nothing travels faster than light.

Logically, this would mean that either the universe is 42.5bn years old, or the diameter is no more than 28bn light years.

Until they told us that space is expanding, thus accounting for the large diameter than expected.

No @Kabuda and @Aviator , this does not prove the existence of god but his non-existence. We are too insignificant for anybody to care.

And one more thing. As @shocks has said, our sun is just but one of trillions and trillions and trillions of stars in the universe. Make no mistake about it, there is other life out there, which means that the Jewish fables that the earth is somehow special and the centre of the universe are false. I won't even be surprised if in the next 10 years it is established that there was even once life on Mars.

Learn to live a good life while it lasts without expecting shit after that. Just enjoy the ride and when the time comes, smile and let go.
I choose to believe in a living God.
It makes more sense.

View attachment 5370

This is without doubt the greatest picture ever taken. It is the picture of the earth taken by Nasa's Voyager 1 exactly 30 years tomorrow, Friday, FROM 6 BILLION KMS away.

In case you are wondering, the earth is that little dot hanging in a beam of interstellar light. It is a picture of awe.

Think about it for a minute.

Everything you know or have heard - everything that has happened in human history written and unwritten - happened on that little dot.

Every great king, emperor and general - Nebuchadnnezzar, Caesar, Alexander, Genghis Khan, Abe Lincoln, Mandela - lived there.

Every evil dikteta - Moi, Mobutu, Pol Pot, Pinochet, Bush - killed people on that small dot.

Every kingdom and republic was founded and foundered there. Every billionaire, princess and pauper, every farmer, teacher and soldier was born there.

All life - dinosaurs, elephants, houseflies, crocodiles, bonobos - all lived and died, and will die, there.

All laughter, all tears, all grief all joy, all drama, all wars, happened on that little dot.

Without it space would still exist, but we would not be here.

It is a picture of majesty, of awe, of God, of the begining and end of time.

Look at the scale of space and see how insignificant we are, how small, how weak, how incosequential.

And yet here we are, today, kuringaringa na apartment block moja Umoja, or a Sh4million car.

Eti wewe ni mdosi, mheshimiwa, tajiri. Eti uko na matako, sura, masomo.

Looking down upon those less fortunate, not knowing that we are all living on a dust particle hanging somewhere in space.

Look at that dot again and tell me where that plot of yours is, all the wealth, all the power, your money.

Me, thankfully, I know that I am nothing but stardust, a creation of the sun, a tiny dot on a speck of dust.

I am not more important or less than an ant, and whether I live or die doesn't matter at all.

I am nothing, and to nothing I will return.

Its not important.

it doesnt matter how handsome, pretty, rich or poor, but Death is ugly....it equalizes all of us!!!

Who has measured the waters in the hollow of his hand, and marked off the sky with his span, and calculated the dust of the earth in a measure, and weighed the mountains in scales, and the hills in a balance?
Isaiah 40:12

Now fathom this:
1) The universe is around 14bn yrs old.
2) The diameter of the universe is like 93bn light years.
3) The universe started from a singularity

Logically, this would mean that either the universe is 42.5bn years old, or the diameter is no more than 28bn light years.

Until they told us that space is expanding, thus accounting for the large diameter than expected.
The exact diameter of the universe is unknown....the figures they give us is only for the observable universe...we just can't see beyond a certain point because our technology can't allow us to see that far.......

Fair enough. But why try to give a logical explanation to a faith based choice? Sema tu 'I believe, despite all evidence. I'm happier that way'.
I do not know if y'all are readers but I would recommend the novel Origin by Dan Brown.
Among other things,it mentions all these things you are talking of here. And gives pointers to further reading on all religious beliefs,whence we came from etc. From a myriad of researches both scientific and various religious based.
Very informative especially on sources of reading material from the old Greek research to the present digital era.
Go ahead and read it.

In space. And it is said that space is expanding at speeds faster than light. So in a distant future, all the galaxies will not be in our observable universe. If anything is alive then, there will not know of any galaxies. The earth will then be truly lonely.

Sad really. Even if you built a rocket that travels at speeds of light (which will require more energy than is available on earth. More energy than what the entire species of earth have used, are using or will ever use in their lifetime) you will still not be able to reach any other galaxy.

In space. And it is said that space is expanding at speeds faster than light. So in a distant future, all the galaxies will not be in our observable universe. If anything is alive then, there will not know of any galaxies. The earth will then be truly lonely.

Sad really. Even if you built a rocket that travels at speeds of light (which will require more energy than is available on earth. More energy than what the entire species of earth have used, are using or will ever use in their lifetime) you will still not be able to reach any other galaxy.
Stupefying! Halafu if they're now estimating the diameter of the universe, ni nini iko after that? A wall? Ocean?

Untrue. If you could build a spaceship that was capable of light speed or FTL (faster than light) speed you will be able to reach any of the observable galaxies. Granted it will take years or hundred/thousands of years, you will reach it.
The galaxy isnt receding at the speed of light.

Untrue. If you could build a spaceship that was capable of light speed or FTL (faster than light) speed you will be able to reach any of the observable galaxies. Granted it will take years or hundred/thousands of years, you will reach it.
The galaxy isnt receding at the speed of light.
In 2016 scientists discovered a galaxy which they named GN-z11, estimated to be 32 billion light years away. GN-z11 has moved 32 billion light years away from the earth in 13 billion years. It was concluded that the only way that is possible is if the universe is expanding at speeds faster than light.

Keep in mind that light is in space. And space in which everything we know exists in does not operate with the same laws of physics we do.

EDIT: My point concerning travelling at light speed is that is requires almost an infinite energy source which does not exist. And if you do travel at that speed you will have to worry about gaining infinite mass and also need infinite energy to stop moving.

Stupefying! Halafu if they're now estimating the diameter of the universe, ni nini iko after that? A wall? Ocean?
We can just guess. But what I'm fascinated about more is what goes on inside a black hole. Maybe there's an answer in there.

In 2016 scientists discovered a galaxy which they named GN-z11, estimated to be 32 billion light years away. GN-z11 has moved 32 billion light years away from the earth in 13 billion years. It was concluded that the only way that is possible is if the universe is expanding at speeds faster than light.
All this means is that it would take 32billion years travelling at light speed to get there. I could theoretically send aliens in that galaxy a message in morse code in bursts of gamma or x-rays, provided they arent impeded by something, they would get the transmission. 32billion years late.
My contention is that the galaxies themselves are not moving away at the speed of light.
Keep in mind that light is in space. And space in which everything we know exists in does not operate with the same laws of physics we do.
What laws would they operate by if not of physics?

Think of something like a black hole. Space bends around it. Matter gets stretched. Not even light can escape it. Would you say the same laws of physics you live by on Earth apply inside a black hole?

Once inside a black hole all laws of physics break down but out side of it, the laws apply to everything..even light. Light will be affected by anything with a big enough gravity field be it a star or planet.
With the exception of crossing the event horizon of a black hole i dont see what other exception would exempt light or any other thing from obeying the laws of physics in space as you had implied in your statement earlier.