This is Guka - Copied..

What can 500 (five hundred) loan do? So asks the financially illiterate but well endowed members of our society. Another group mainly the witches are saying: borrow but don't pay.

This is my story:
The year was 2000. Somewhere in Huruma in Eldoret I was on a house to house visit on evangelism, preaching Christ my Lord. I came to a house where I met a man of the house his dota and wife...... the girl was weeping. On seeking an explanation on the cause of the distress, the father informed me that the girl had expected him to come back home at least with some money for their supper. They had taken three days without a meal. My heart was tested to its limits. I did not preach.
I sought to know what the woman could do with KES 200. She told me that she would buy maize, beans, 2 gorogoros of charcoal and a bit of salt. This she would cook vendor and repeat the action the following day. That would start them off. Truly two weeks later when I visited them they had grown their stock. I met the family last year their lives were solidly in Christ and out of poverty. Their lives took a different trajectory. With an assured meal, the man's confidence improved and he progressed to get a job. The woman learnt to play a supportive role. The 200 shillings made a difference.

I believe that this will be story of many who may start with 500 and grow their credit score to access even greater credit for greater investment. It can only be appreciated and discerned by the financially literate and few are they that have this qualification. Worse still are the nay sayers whose brilliance has mirred their intelligence. They have hearts that cannot understand so would quip Christ the Lord.

Yet the most telling story was of a woman who in 1970 was a fishmonger in Kitale. Her husband an established road foreman is heralded as one of the few people who saved and bought a mzungu car in 1968. In his words he saved and bought the Anglia car at a cost of 5000 shs. During the same period and because of his position and proximity to the then District Commissioner, he was offered a 700 acre mzungu farm and all that was needed from him was KES 700. Yet in that time as it is now a high Priest with a rod restrained his tribesmen from buying and acquiring land in rift valley. They were waiting for free land. They were told that mzungu had given money for land and so they should wait for land that would be given free. The mzee died at a good old age regretting the missed opportunity. His sons who inherited his ancestral land were each bequeathed with 0.6 acres each and they are only 4 sons.

The fish monger on the other hand used the little savings she made from her fish business to pay a deposit of 70 shs with which she was alloted 4acres of land in Trans Nzoia plus a plot in a market centre to boot. The little money did much compared to the big cash. The woman did not listen to the stupidity that the naysayers were engaged in. She siezed the moment. She exploited the opportunity.

Some fifty years later, the village from which the Mzee came and which had more than 100 of their own working and living in Kitale has only two people with land in Trans Nzoia. The 1963: census figures document a large presence of Luos residing in Trans Nzoia. Few invested in land because they were misled. Today just like in 1960s their minds are being emasculated. They are being blinded by a narrative that 500 cannot do anything. They like their fore fathers are being misadviced NOT to take the loan and that if they take it then they should do so BUT not pay back. They are being bewitched. They are being ropped to the guillotine of poverty of credit unworthiness.

In my locker are the receipts that my late mother got for paying the initial 70 shillings. It was not until 1985 when I graduated and was employed that I paid the balances to the land buying company settling what was due for that land. I also have the 0.6 acres in Magoya that I inherited from my father, The former road foreman.

In his last days, my father appreciated the wisdom of my mother and rued the stupidity that kept him from buying the 700 acres of land. He had the money but he like many Luos were misled. My mother a fish monger did what my father the road foreman could not do.

My dear luo men and women. Take the Hustler Fund invest and PAY BACK. Then take again invest and payback. Dont listen to those naysayers. May your story be like that of the fishmonger. Dont be like the road foreman. Yet I honour my father because in his days he enabled me to be exposed. In that exposure I got my foundational freedom from the power of nay sayers. I see things with lenses that frame a bigger world.

Take Invest and Pay Back the Hustler Fund. It is for your good.

Don't be bewitched. 500 is foundational. I checked and found that my foundational amount is 2000. Yet on a daily basis some mama mbogas take loans of 1000 to spruce their daily stock. That is 20 heads of cabbages bought wholesale at Ugunja but which when sold at retail price can earn an extra 1000. A boda boda rider using this to manage his daily fuel costs can grow his credit to 50,000 and graduate to tier two of the Hustler Fund. He can buy a boda boda of his own by 2024.

Borrow, invest and pay back . Borrow Invest and pay back. Let us meet when your story can be like that of the fishmonger. My parents were great people indeed. My father a great man gave me the education and exposure that defines my world view my mother gave me the entrepreneurial mind and prayerful disposition. Take the Hustler Fund and Pay Back.