suspect arrested barely a few minutes before defrauding an unsuspecting house buyer of Sh 11 million.

This is what happens when Guys buy houses and other capital-intensive investments without using Lawyers for purposes of Conveyancing.

Lawyers by law carries Professional Indemnity Insurance which pays for losses incurred to Clients as a result of a Lawyer’s negligence or legal malpractice.

That means that if you use a Lawyer and they failed to verify certain facts and as a result one ended up being conned off their money, the Lawyer would cover the loss using the Indemnity Insurance.
Atī Kii? Please don't trust your lawyer fully to conduct due diligence for you. Reminds me of one Ben njau. Google that.

Hail the senate, you get so much info! Hata loan pale Bank, ita lawyer pls, dont just sign all those papers na mahanjam ya pesa!
The bank will modify none of it's clauses on the loan offer to accommodate your demands. You are an insignificant statistic in their loan book.

If that works in kenya advice this woman to get back her cash

That’s one passionate Lady. She is very resilient and determined and will surely succeed in her endeavours. Good luck to her.

I am bit reluctant to give my views on this matter bearing in mind that you have severally expressed your reservations on my opinions given that they are informed by and large by UK laws.

Nevertheless and not withstanding I will say the following:

a) Never ever underestimate the Residents Association of a place you plan to build or put up a business.
The Local Council will deny you a Planning Permission or Business Permit if you have not consulted and publicly published your intentions for them to see and discuss.

b) You should as a matter of urgency insist on your Lawyer applying and providing you a Change Of Use permit if you are about to put up a business in a Residential Area. Without this, your business is illegal and liable to be shut down due to Zoning Laws.

c) Certificate of Indemnity Of your Lawyer is always displayed at the front of his business premises and a copy always attached to your Consent for Representation forms.
You are also within your rights and liberty to ask questions on losses caused by your Lawyer.

Kenyans are always looking for shortcuts even where serious monies are concerned. Shortcuts have a way of catching up and biting the ass sooner than later.

Atī Kii? Please don't trust your lawyer fully to conduct due diligence for you. Reminds me of one Ben njau. Google that.
Of course and this goes without saying. But a Lawyer offers the additional layer of scrutiny that all is hunky and dory.
No Lawyer want to claim from their Indemnity and do not forget that the publicity caused by bad workmanship is not good for any Lawyer.

a) Never ever underestimate the Residents Association of a place you plan to build or put up a business.
The Local Council will deny you a Planning Permission or Business Permit if you have not consulted and publicly published your intentions for them to see and discuss.
The lawyer should have advised on this yes/no?
b) You should as a matter of urgency insist on your Lawyer applying and providing you a Change Of Use permit if you are about to put up a business in a Residential Area. Without this, your business is illegal and liable to be shut down due to Zoning Laws.
Isnt the reason for engaging a lawyer for them to insist on this urgency? She engaged one because she does not know what she should do?
c) Certificate of Indemnity Of your Lawyer is always displayed at the front of his business premises and a copy always attached to your Consent for Representation forms.
You are also within your rights and liberty to ask questions on losses caused by your Lawyer.
So what should the way forward be for her to get paid by her lawyer for the loss incurred?

The lawyer should have advised on this yes/no?

Isnt the reason for engaging a lawyer for them to insist on this urgency? She engaged one because she does not know what she should do?

So what should the way forward be for her to get paid by her lawyer for the loss incurred?
I believe all your questions have been answered in my piece above.
You should also take note that she doesn’t seem to have any beef with her Lawyer’s work but pass all the blame to the Residents Association.

As concerning the way forward, that’s entirely up to her but she should be mindful of the statutes of limitations.

I believe all your questions have been answered in my piece above.
You should also take note that she doesn’t seem to have any beef with her Lawyer’s work but pass all the blame to the Residents Association.

As concerning the way forward, that’s entirely up to her but she should be mindful of the statutes of limitations.
My point is that it is the lawyer's negligence and that the residents association was actually right and told her that her lawyer messed her up and she lost money.. she should be able to recover it from the lawyer ama?

If she can show that her loss was as a direct result of the Lawyer’s malpractice and not the usual business challenges or her own actions.

She extensively talks of Covid challenges and she also seems to have condoned some malpractice where she proceeded with spending despite not getting a certain permit/document.

The bank will modify none of it's clauses on the loan offer to accommodate your demands. You are an insignificant statistic in their loan book.
Wewe wacha mchezo. The bank might be inflexible but the lawyer will tell you of the many hidden landmines in the contract. The average person does not have time to go through all the clauses and a lawyer will break it down for you like you are 5.

You'll then proceed ukijua what you are signing up for.