Stories from jiji.co.ke

Jiji Scams as told by the teller

I can only talk about this cause I've fully healed.Around 2018 I tried selling a PS4 Slim console on Jiji, for around Kes. 30,000/=. An Airtel number gives me a call claiming to be interested,me excited, knowing I'm gonna make a quick buck (I really was cash-strapped at the time) arranges a meeting. The guy, who claimed to have a sick son at MP Shah Hosp. in Parklands and wanted to gift the boy this console, agreed we meet...In retrospect,he was full of red flags that I just didn't want to see.

So on the fateful day I take my ps4 slim,2 pads and FIFA 19, put them in a bag and leave for Parklands. I get near MP Shah,I call and call and call,no response. I'm now close to the hospital entrance I call again,no answer. 20 mins later this guy calls back, apparently he was in his sons ward but he's out now and in a White Toyota Premio and he's even seen me, he signals me,I go enter his ride (all holy car,small bible on the dash,crucifix hung on the rearview mirror, car stereo playing catholic songs)he checks the PS4 slim,and he likes it. Now we have to leave the car and go to his "office" nearby so he can check if it powers on "juu ashai conniwa hio Jiji akabuy ps4 yenye haiwaki"😂

Bro,he even encourages me to leave the bag inside the vehicle "itakua tu safe" I comply,we leave the car he carries the Ps4 and leads the way to like a mini shop complex near-by. Here goes the cold water. There was an upstairs space in this complex that was supposed to be his office,my mans alikua anapanda stairs 4 ama 5 at a time.Sijui alinipotelea aje...Mimi kufika juu,hio place ni salon/cosmetics shop. A lady dusting the counter.

"Umeona mtu amebeba Ps4 na pad mbili ameingia hapa sahii?"

"Ps4 ni nini,hakuna mtu ameingia hapa,ndio tunafungua kazi"came the reply.

My buttcrack is sweating.Im nauseated.

Nikarudi chini mbio (equally 5 stairs at a time) headed to where our Premio was parked,Premio ni wewe.Haiko.Im feeling like puking,knees are weak.Hata fare ilikua kwa ile bag yetu😂😂 Knees give in,I sit down on the gravel.watchman comes."Kijana uko mgonjwa?" Silence "...Kijana...kijana unazuia watu ebu songa uketi kwa pavement!!"
Nimeibiwa.I meekly reply...

"Kuna Gari imetoka tu hapa sahii,amesema ako na emergency..." Sweet baby Jesus!! I confirm my fears.Call the number...Mteja.

Have you guys ever gotten or know someone who's been scammed on that online market place called Jiji? Leteni stories.

Man this was a matter of a cow taking itself to the slaughter house .
I have only one rule , trust no one. Especially people you’ve never met .

Sometimes last month i almost lost a Microsoft Surface tablet . A week or so later a friends friend based in Muranga lost a playstation to the same guy who almost scammed me .

I will never forget falling for the new phone scam.

When I was a high schooler, once a pon a time, I found myself travelling home after school closed for midterm holidays.

Being a boarder, my typical routine used to be

1. Take all my remainder pocket money and buy DVD movies to entertain myself. (Yes, before the days of affordable Wi-Fi and Netflix.)
2. Pass by chicken inn and get my favorite half chicken, chips and soda to treat myself.
3. Pass by shops to window shop the latest fashion.
4. Purchase magazines to read on my long-distance coach back home.

After getting my magazines, I started to make my way towards the stage.

Just before boarding my matatu, a sly swindler presented themselves.

Offered to sell me a flip phone (All the craze back then) for a decent price.

It would only cost what I had left in pocket. (My old emergency Nokia and 500 kes)

No brainer. made the swap.

Halfway home I decide to turn on my new cell phone.

Lo and behold, it was a display exhibit phone.

Somewhere along the way, they swapped it and sold me a dud.

Oh well. Experience is the best teacher! :D

Uliuza Surface pro ama ni gani ?
It was a Surface Pro 4 , sold
PXL_20230106_102743978 - Copy.jpg