SK Macharia

Gutter press sh*t.
A reporter is not supposed to have a potato for a head and should question the logic of everything he hears and reports...he owes it to his audience not to reproduce nonsense (if nonsense is what he heard - and not necessarily what was said)
Apparently even his geography is very deficient.

Gutter press sh*t.
A reporter is not supposed to have a potato for a head and should question the logic of everything he hears and reports...he owes it to his audience not to reproduce nonsense (if nonsense is what he heard - and not necessarily what was said)
Hehehe, muthee, do you need to get something off your chest?

Alafu, wewe ukiambiwa ufanyie Muthamaki interview, utamshow vile story yake ya kudeliver fruits kwa airport na pick-up ni upus?

Gutter press sh*t.
I beg to differ.
He (reporter) is just supposed to report what is said, not what he thinks should be said. If possible, verbatim.

Hehehe, muthee, do you need to get something off your chest?

Alafu, wewe ukiambiwa ufanyie Muthamaki interview, utamshow vile story yake ya kudeliver fruits kwa airport na pick-up ni upus?
I hate reading nonsense. I feel robbed of my time.

Verification is a key element of the journalistic process.

Humility means keep an open mind.

Journalists need to keep an open mind — not only about what they hear but also about their own ability to understand what it means. Exercise humility. Don’t assume. Avoid arrogance about your knowledge.

“Assumption,” as a veteran bureau chief once put it, “is the mother of all screw-ups.”

Journalists need to recognize their own fallibility and the limitations of their knowledge. They should be conscious of false omniscience and avoid just “writing around it.” They should acknowledge to themselves what they are unsure of, or only think they understand – and then check it out. This makes their judgment more precise and their reporting more incisive.

Jack Fuller, the author, novelist, editor, and newspaper executive, has suggested that journalists need to show “modesty in their judgment” about what they know and how they know it.

Gregory Favre, a longtime editor in Sacramento and Chicago, says his rule is simple. DO NOT PRINT ONE IOTA BEYOND WHAT YOU KNOW.

First, you have to be honest about what you know, versus what you assume you know, or think you know. A key way to avoid misrepresenting events is a disciplined honesty about the limits of one’s knowledge and the power of one’s perception.

I hate reading nonsense. I feel robbed of my time.

Verification is a key element of the journalistic process.

Humility means keep an open mind.

Journalists need to keep an open mind — not only about what they hear but also about their own ability to understand what it means. Exercise humility. Don’t assume. Avoid arrogance about your knowledge.

“Assumption,” as a veteran bureau chief once put it, “is the mother of all screw-ups.”

Journalists need to recognize their own fallibility and the limitations of their knowledge. They should be conscious of false omniscience and avoid just “writing around it.” They should acknowledge to themselves what they are unsure of, or only think they understand – and then check it out. This makes their judgment more precise and their reporting more incisive.

Jack Fuller, the author, novelist, editor, and newspaper executive, has suggested that journalists need to show “modesty in their judgment” about what they know and how they know it.

Gregory Favre, a longtime editor in Sacramento and Chicago, says his rule is simple. DO NOT PRINT ONE IOTA BEYOND WHAT YOU KNOW.

First, you have to be honest about what you know, versus what you assume you know, or think you know. A key way to avoid misrepresenting events is a disciplined honesty about the limits of one’s knowledge and the power of one’s perception.

MMNN awesome hii