Sandalwood: Someone comb me please

sande sana for info, would have used it for firewood bila kujua nachoma nini kaa ningepatana nayo. now i know.
no wonder inatoleagwo forest na trucks za police.
hawa majamaa walikataa kuchota kitu fresh ile waliambiwa wakasema kufa dereva kufa makanga

ukitaka enda Ngong Hills Forest. hii kitu imejaa kwa wingi

Are you saying you don't have to cut it
Although sandalwood trees are typically ready to harvest for their essential oil when they are between 10-15 years old, many experts believe that waiting even longer is key to achieving the most desirable oil. A recent study states that it’s better to wait for harvest until the trees are 25 years old. According to a recent study in the Australian Sandalwood Network publication, “Trees aged 8-11 years contained only low-grade wood, those aged 14 years contained only 12 % high-grade wood (butt wood only), while those aged 26 years contained 67 % high-grade wood in the butt, root,s and large stems.” However, even the best quality wood from the 26-year-old trees was still of a lower quality and produced less oil than the wood harvested from the wild sandalwoods, often thought to be over 100 years old.
(source, 2012).
Among many sandalwood cultivation companies, trees are harvested based on size, rather than exact age. In Queensland, for example, trees of S. lanceolatum are considered ready for harvest if they meet a set of precise measurements: the tree’s diameter must be greater than 12 cm, and the sapwood must be less than 1/6 the diameter of the tree at 1.3 m above the ground. Sandalwood harvesters take these measurements by chopping into the tree’s trunk rather than cutting down the entire tree, a procedure which protects the sandalwood trees that are not ready from being unnecessarily chopped down.

sandalwood is mostly gnarled wood, not very good for timber/furniture.
Some would beg to differ with your observation...apparently gnarled wood makes good furniture...
IMG_20200215_220600_214.webp