Our embrace of China was naive and cynical – now is the time to hold Beijing to account- UK writer states.

Back in the days of the David Cameron government, senior Cabinet ministers were presented with the concerns of the intelligence agencies about China. Beijing would spy on Britain, they warned, and steal our military and commercial secrets. And the Chinese would use their economic power to exert geopolitical pressure on us.

The ministers listened politely, but failed to heed the warning. As one senior attendee summed up, “China is going to do all this anyway. We might as well take their money.” And so a cynical bargain was struck. Britain would win foreign investment in its economy, but place itself at the mercy of a brutal and autocratic government. The “golden era” of relations between the two countries – as Beijing insisted on calling it – was under way.

We should insist on an independent international investigation into Covid-19, so the world can learn the truth. We should build new alliances with countries – such as Japan and South Korea – that share our scepticism about China. And we should follow Tokyo’s lead and provide financial assistance for companies bringing production and assembly work back home, or in some cases to other low-cost countries such as Malaysia, Poland and Portugal

Would China be doing something Britain and the US have not been doing? Britain even waged two wars against China to force her to accept chemical warfare against her people and culture.
A case of mkuki kwa nguruwe... -Note I am not saying China is responsible for the virus.
😁😁😁😁😁 are you Chinese my long time friend? I lost respect for them when they installed spying devices at African union headquarters when they were building it for free. Goal was to listen to all trade, mineral and security secrets our African brothers were discussing. Since that day I knew that they are not to be trusted.

Would China be doing something Britain and the US have not been doing? Britain even waged two wars against China to force her to accept chemical warfare against her people and culture.
A case of mkuki kwa nguruwe... -Note I am not saying China is responsible for the virus.
you are a Chinese apologist and am calling you out. So you think mkuki kwa nguruwe as you say applies to Britain and the likes. Do you know it will take us years to recover from this as a country, and yes china is resposible for this shit simply because they suppressed information from the very first beginning. Like the wuhan doctor said we would not be where we are.

I am going to repeat it for the millionth time; the Chinese are being demonised because they are edging mzungu out, not because they are racists. There's a global geopolitical struggle going on. Thankfully, as I said before, there is nothing anybody can do to stop the rise of China.

A little history and understanding of current affairs should suffice, I would expect. Let's take Kenya for example?

How many Chinese soldiers are in Kenya currently like the British have in Nanyuki? How many bases like the Americans have in Manda? How many plantations like those tea farms built on our graves? How many freedom fighters have the Chinese killed (according to one Havard professor the British killed at least 300,000 GEMA between 1952-1960, including the likes of Kimathi. At one time the British were hanging 100 Gikuyus, A FIGURE ONLY RIVALLED BY THE NAZIS KILLING OF JEWS).

Whites have always considered Africa and Africans, and other indeginous peoples to be their play-toys, sub-humans who should just be tolerated. Or exterminated such as the aborigines, the Herero, the 'Indians' of north and south America, etc etc.

The Chinese for 2,000 years have no history of racial genocide. NONE. And yet we are now told they are the worst racists in the world.

China has been a super-power now for the last 20 years. How many countries has it invaded and destroyed? Iraq? Syria? Libya? Afghanistan?

How many regimes has it tried to depose? Yemen? Venezuela? Iran?

I consider it a severe case of racial inferiority and Stockholm Syndrome for an allegedly self-respecting African to try and demonise China, the same China that over the last 20 years has seen Africa become the fastest growing region in the world (Kenya's economy has gone from $20 billion to over $100 billion today).

Even when you consider pedestrian things like stadia (Kasarani, Nyayo), railways, roads etc, the Chinese have far outdone the hypocritical whites, who give with one hand and take with the other, and that after thousands of conditions.

If any of you were to read some history, you would know that it was China and Russia that helped liberate a third of Africa from colonial rule. when the British were calling the likes of Samora Machel, Nelson Mandela and Robert Mugabe terrorrists, it was the Chinese that were training ANC, Frelimo and Zanu guerrillas in Tanzania.

Is China perfect? No. Doesit all it does in Africa for altruistic reasons? No, self-interest as well.

BUT TO CONFUSE OR EQUATE A FEW MINOR INCIDENTS OF RACIAL TENSIONS, ON BOTH SIDES BY THE WAY, WITH THE SYSTEMATIC RAPE, LOOTING, PILLAGE AND PLUNDER OF THE AFRICAN CONTINENT BY EUROPEAN POWERS FOR OVER 500 YEARS IS BIZARRE AND STUPID.

In just one decade nearly 10 million Africans have died in the Congo because Western corporations and their Western gavaments have been fanning internecine warfare there to loot precious metals. But when a Chinese restaurant owner as much as chases out one uncouth Nigerian out of his business that is all we hear. How intelligent is that? Nikurogwa ama ni nini jameni?

Sometimes I feel so frustrated being an African..........................

I lost respect for them when they installed spying devices at African union headquarters when they were building it for free.
Everybody spies. Even those who discovered the Chinese bugs were not on a charitable mission but on a mission to install bugs of their own; then they snitched on the Chinese to look good. It is a reality of life today. In traditional kikuyu we called spies "athigaani". No community would have survived without them so do not demonize one group for something everyone does. Even the Pope spies by the way. Even allies like the USA and the UK spy on each other, It is all about interests.
I am not Chinese, mimi ni Kikuyu as you know very well. I just don;t like to be pushed to one side or the other with falsehoods coz I think I am open-minded and should make judgement once I have all the information from all sides. I am not driven by hashtags to a point of getting emotional.

Everybody spies. Even those who discovered the Chinese bugs were not on a charitable mission but on a mission to install bugs of their own; then they snitched on the Chinese to look good. It is a reality of life today. In traditional kikuyu we called spies "athigaani". No community would have survived without them so do not demonize one group for something everyone does. Even the Pope spies by the way. Even allies like the USA and the UK spy on each other, It is all about interests.
I am not Chinese, mimi ni Kikuyu as you know very well. I just don;t like to be pushed to one side or the other with falsehoods coz I think I am open-minded and should make judgement once I have all the information from all sides. I am not driven by hashtags to a point of getting emotional.
I am with you here all he way........................

you are a Chinese apologist and am calling you out.
You may. Branding doesn't change me one bit but I wish we could hear each other out without branding for that way we could both end up more enlightened.
Like the wuhan doctor said we would not be where we are.
Maybe, maybe not. What would we have done when even after we got the information some were downplaying it, saying it was just a flu ( And by the way Trump was being briefed daily by their intelligence organs?

Nisaidie na link ya this famous Wuhan doctor.

Back in the days of the David Cameron government, senior Cabinet ministers were presented with the concerns of the intelligence agencies about China. Beijing would spy on Britain, they warned, and steal our military and commercial secrets. And the Chinese would use their economic power to exert geopolitical pressure on us.

The ministers listened politely, but failed to heed the warning. As one senior attendee summed up, “China is going to do all this anyway. We might as well take their money.” And so a cynical bargain was struck. Britain would win foreign investment in its economy, but place itself at the mercy of a brutal and autocratic government. The “golden era” of relations between the two countries – as Beijing insisted on calling it – was under way.

We should insist on an independent international investigation into Covid-19, so the world can learn the truth. We should build new alliances with countries – such as Japan and South Korea – that share our scepticism about China. And we should follow Tokyo’s lead and provide financial assistance for companies bringing production and assembly work back home, or in some cases to other low-cost countries such as Malaysia, Poland and Portugal

The ccp has a case to answer. Thanks God they offended more than the timid despots they are used to compromising

Nisaidie na link ya this famous Wuhan doctor
doctor number 1
doctor number 2

It is true China has plunged us all into an unprecedented catastrophe with their penchant for consuming wildlife, on that there should be a global push for banning the consumption of wildlife not just in China but globally including right here in Africa where some of our people consume fruit bats and monkeys, we cannot afford another novel disease outbreak.

But to paint the chinese as the worst villains of our times is stretching it, Guka put it so well, all Chinaman cares for is trade and if they can rip you off they will do it but accusing them of imperialism is a pathetic bold-faced lie especially coming from a British national.

I am going to repeat it for the millionth time; the Chinese are being demonised because they are edging mzungu out, not because they are racists. There's a global geopolitical struggle going on. Thankfully, as I said before, there is nothing anybody can do to stop the rise of China.

A little history and understanding of current affairs should suffice, I would expect. Let's take Kenya for example?

How many Chinese soldiers are in Kenya currently like the British have in Nanyuki? How many bases like the Americans have in Manda? How many plantations like those tea farms built on our graves? How many freedom fighters have the Chinese killed (according to one Havard professor the British killed at least 300,000 GEMA between 1952-1960, including the likes of Kimathi. At one time the British were hanging 100 Gikuyus, A FIGURE ONLY RIVALLED BY THE NAZIS KILLING OF JEWS).

Whites have always considered Africa and Africans, and other indeginous peoples to be their play-toys, sub-humans who should just be tolerated. Or exterminated such as the aborigines, the Herero, the 'Indians' of north and south America, etc etc.

The Chinese for 2,000 years have no history of racial genocide. NONE. And yet we are now told they are the worst racists in the world.

China has been a super-power now for the last 20 years. How many countries has it invaded and destroyed? Iraq? Syria? Libya? Afghanistan?

How many regimes has it tried to depose? Yemen? Venezuela? Iran?

I consider it a severe case of racial inferiority and Stockholm Syndrome for an allegedly self-respecting African to try and demonise China, the same China that over the last 20 years has seen Africa become the fastest growing region in the world (Kenya's economy has gone from $20 billion to over $100 billion today).

Even when you consider pedestrian things like stadia (Kasarani, Nyayo), railways, roads etc, the Chinese have far outdone the hypocritical whites, who give with one hand and take with the other, and that after thousands of conditions.

If any of you were to read some history, you would know that it was China and Russia that helped liberate a third of Africa from colonial rule. when the British were calling the likes of Samora Machel, Nelson Mandela and Robert Mugabe terrorrists, it was the Chinese that were training ANC, Frelimo and Zanu guerrillas in Tanzania.

Is China perfect? No. Doesit all it does in Africa for altruistic reasons? No, self-interest as well.

BUT TO CONFUSE OR EQUATE A FEW MINOR INCIDENTS OF RACIAL TENSIONS, ON BOTH SIDES BY THE WAY, WITH THE SYSTEMATIC RAPE, LOOTING, PILLAGE AND PLUNDER OF THE AFRICAN CONTINENT BY EUROPEAN POWERS FOR OVER 500 YEARS IS BIZARRE AND STUPID.

In just one decade nearly 10 million Africans have died in the Congo because Western corporations and their Western gavaments have been fanning internecine warfare there to loot precious metals. But when a Chinese restaurant owner as much as chases out one uncouth Nigerian out of his business that is all we hear. How intelligent is that? Nikurogwa ama ni nini jameni?

Sometimes I feel so frustrated being an African..........................
You have a point, we should never get involved in their wars of supremacy. However, we cannot keep quiet and assume it is okey for them to discriminate Africans in china, because the west committed worse atrocities. Are you saying all africans should all be punished because a few Nigerians misbehaved. Is it right for African govts to dismiss the cry for help by Africans in china just to please their new master. Is it not wrong to pull that card that so and so is worse to drown the voice of the oppressed

What are the Chinese guilty of if I may ask?

Providing ripe conditions for the emergence of new diseases, they need to quit their obsession with consuming wildlife.

who was the very first person to come up with the explanation that COVID-19 was from eating the so-called "exotic" meats?

Their own scientists have conceded the virus originated fromin one of their wet markets in Wuhan and spread from there as early as November. Their own economy shrunk by 6.8% for the first time, that alone should prompt changes