One man, One shilling, One vote: Official Thread

So I am supposed to go all the way from Ndeiya to give some folks in Marsabit civic education as their gavana builds mansions in Karen with stolen loot? Or what are you saying? Whose mandate is it if not the local gavana?
You, from Ndeiya, are seven times more likely to be literate/well educated in comparison to someone from Loima. To bridge this gap, education of the people of Loima has to take place. You are much better placed to know when your governor is embezzling funds in comparison to that uneducated pastoralist.

Education is not a devolved function, but it doesn't mean the devolved unit should not have a stake in the education of its people. If anything, it should be investing in raising the literacy levels of its people, which I believe a good number of those marginalised counties have been doing.

Also, the fact that the governor is embezzling funds without consequence is not the fault of the marginalised communities. We both know where the failure stems from. It now doesn't mean because the governor is stealing, the devolved unit should be given less.

You, from Ndeiya, are seven times more likely to be literate/well educated in comparison to someone from Loima. To bridge this gap, education of the people of Loima has to take place. You are much better placed to know when your governor is embezzling funds in comparison to that uneducated pastoralist.

Education is not a devolved function, but it doesn't mean the devolved unit should not have a stake in the education of its people. If anything, it should be investing in raising the literacy levels of its people, which I believe a good number of those marginalised counties have been doing.

Also, the fact that the governor is embezzling funds without consequence is not the fault of the marginalised communities. We both know where the failure stems from. It now doesn't mean because the governor is stealing, the devolved unit should be given less.
Er, er, er, er, I hate to admit it lakini hapa nikama umeniweza. Najaribu kufikiria cumback nagonga ukuta...................nice points.................

These are people who do not know what government looks like. They have had to fend for themselves because the then formula for revenue sharing was greatly skewed against them.

Without proper education, which they were not getting in the first place, how would they know they would need to hold their leaders to account? There was a famous news feature a few years back where people in Marsabit did not even know that Kibaki had been president for quite some time. A good number still thought it was Moi.

For them to know they need to hold their leaders accountable, they would need greater amounts of civic education on their rights and responsibilities under the new dispensation.

But all this is a dream seeing how corruption is rampant in the country starting right from state house. This however doesn't mean that the amount they receive should be reduced because the government has failed to deal with corruption.
And who is supposed to ‘educate’ them? Are you willing to sacrifice yourself or your loved ones to go to NE and teach? And are we supposed to continue giving the extra to go to individuals forever?

locals especially community leaders have a role to play also. Cooporate in providing information to security forces. Agree to attend schools. Respect non locals providing essential services etc. Basically a change in attitude which has to come from within. Even others had to change and adapt to grow

And who is supposed to ‘educate’ them? Are you willing to sacrifice yourself or your loved ones to go to NE and teach?
I wouldn't attempt such foolishness, which would have long been dealt with if they were educated from the get-go. However, a teach the teacher program for natives of those lands is one way to go. I don't see how they would attack one of their own but I may be wrong. They might even be more enthusiastic if it was coming from one of their own

And are we supposed to continue giving the extra to go to individuals forever?
If the fight against corruption was genuine, this wouldn't be a problem.

There is this particular group of senators with ties bearing the National Flag's colors led by kina Sakaja and Mutula! Hao ndio?

This is something many anti-Gema people are refusing to acknowledge. Gema counties have some of the most effective governance systems in the country, thanks to scrutiny by citizens. We have already impeached Waititu, and Sweetie was only saved by her ex. Counties like Nyandarua and laikipia are winning awards for good financial management. Kiambu and Murang'a are two of only 5 counties that have met the national Covid preparedness criteria.

Meanwhile, in some counties gavanas are stealing 50% of their budgets with impunity as long as they give Caesar Babuon his cut.

Fact is, devolution which was meant to cut the knees off Gema counties is going to enhance inequity ????
Really ?

The marginalized are supposed to show that they are using atleast their equalization funds to caught up with the rest so that we can then move on from equitable to equal distribution.

But all they have to show for it is real estate in Nairobi done by their leaders. they thus expect to keep being spoon fed forever. That cannot be. A baby has to grow up and at some point
Have the laws needed to govern the equilisation fund even been passed by parliament??

BBI Luwere
TOJ
So Ruto's allies sorry baba's troops, the likes of Orengo, Malala, Mutula, Pareno, Sakaja, Weta etc are against the formula.

Kuna swali niliuliza jamaa jana .mambo mengine yanakuwaga fiche...but only skin deep.
Senate wameamua kuitisha hii
116508901_10225084866855485_6911904784397686902_n.jpg

@Field Marshal > Fact is, devolution which was meant to cut the knees off Gema counties is going to enhance inequity ????

Guka, can you explain to us non-Gemas how devolution was created as an anti-Gema initiative and not a national project to accommodate disparate regional interests. Also, Majimbo at it's core had similar undertones supported mainly by our brothers and sisters from Rift valley and Coast regions.