Not just another cup

IMG_20191231_171536.webp

Today, my afternoon tea was served in this cup. It is one of two that has been with my family for 24 years. We have so many other cups my wife has accumulated over the years...but these two hold a special place in our hearts...
But this cup only comes out occasionally..especially during those moments we need to reassure each other of our commitment to each other. I am wondering what she's trying to communicate on this eve of 2020.
In December of 1995, my wife was heavy with our firstborn and was admitted to a maternity in Nakuru town. It happened that the boy was not in a hurry to come to the world and for seven days I would make the journey from Naivasha to Nakuru full of hope only the greeting to be "bado". Eventually she had to be induced for the boy to be born. He's all grown now and about to finish college.
It happened that on the second day after admission she told me that she did not like the plastic hospital cup and sent me to go buy her a cup. I trawled the supermarket and chose two of these cups. In them we drank a lot of uji, tea, soda and water in the gardens of the hospital as we waited for our son. They are moments we like to remind each other of during those testing times in our family life.
It has been a life with its highs and (painful) lows. What always got us back together was something strong that I suppose I would call love. It is what has helped us pick the pieces and stick them together when I have been caught transgressing...(that's some sentimental shit there!)

View attachment 2929

Today, my afternoon tea was served in this cup. It is one of two that has been with my family for 24 years. We have so many other cups my wife has accumulated over the years...but these two hold a special place in our hearts...
But this cup only comes out occasionally..especially during those moments we need to reassure each other of our commitment to each other. I am wondering what she's trying to communicate on this eve of 2020.
In December of 1995, my wife was heavy with our firstborn and was admitted to a maternity in Nakuru town. It happened that the boy was not in a hurry to come to the world and for seven days I would make the journey from Naivasha to Nakuru full of hope only the greeting to be "bado". Eventually she had to be induced for the boy to be born. He's all grown now and about to finish college.
It happened that on the second day after admission she told me that she did not like the plastic hospital cup and sent me to go buy her a cup. I trawled the supermarket and chose two of these cups. In them we drank a lot of uji, tea, soda and water in the gardens of the hospital as we waited for our son. They are moments we like to remind each other of during those testing times in our family life.
It has been a life with its highs and (painful) lows. What always got us back together was something strong that I suppose I would call love. It is what has helped us pick the pieces and stick them together when I have been caught transgressing...(that's some sentimental shit there!)

Mwalimu a beautiful end-year story that should inspire our younger 'seekers' here. I am also with my SO, in a rare December without the spawn (21 & 25). I am browsing in search of live music and good food to spoil her...

View attachment 2929

Mwalimu a beautiful end-year story that should inspire our younger 'seekers' here. I am also with my SO, in a rare December without the spawn (21 & 25). I am browsing in search of live music and good food to spoil her...

Are you old geezers trying to say to us,those with youngins and those not yet hitched up,that sentimental feeling and 'love' only show up when the spawn has flown the coop?

Anyway,enjoy yourselves in 'old age'. And congrats for maintaining it that long.

Are you old geezers trying to say that us,those with youngins and those not yet htched up,that sentimental feeling and 'love' only show up when the spawn has flown the coop?

Anyway,enjoy yourselves in 'old age'. And congrats for maintaining it that long.

Scumpaka,

It must always be there in order to 'show up later'.

Mwalimu is just expressing gratitude for the journey. You will too if you can work together through the coming years.

Have a good jumping too!

Nice one mwalimu. Very inspiring. The flowers I have seen at the foreground must be the one you posted I think today or yesterday in the morning. 1995 I was in form two.
95 Jan ndio was in Nursery school...ya kitambo unaingia nursery then next year uko class one. I rem during the class one entrance exam theory was asked ati "Ngùku yanyu irutaga iria ikombe cigani hwaini?" Hehe nikasema "No thufu twa thinja" hehe

Nice one mwalimu. Very inspiring. The flowers I have seen at the foreground must be the one you posted I think today or yesterday in the morning. 1995 I was in form two.
95 Jan ndio was in Nursery school...ya kitambo unaingia nursery then next year uko class one. I rem during the class one entrance exam theory was asked ati "Ngùku yanyu irutaga iria ikombe cigani hwaini?" Hehe nikasema "No thufu twa thinja" hehe

Now see what you gone and done @Mwalimu-G & @Nattydread ?
The next nigga will say he wasn't even born in '95 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

View attachment 2929

Congratulations.

Lakini ambia mamaa ajifunze kupika chai imeshika majani sio hii "nylon". There's hope of learning yet...

mimi nilizaliwa feb 96.. @Mwalimu-G labda message ni kuwa anatarajia?
Tafutia braza yangu job huko bana..been there and promised a couple of jobs but will never desert my tsc job for fucken pounds with no peace of mind. I would not let anyone shout at me from the peak of his/her house, No! I even noted the jungus does the same to their own cuz the one whos was doing the lawns was their fellow Britton. Then anacome na kamerc zile van the all the shit anabeba apart from what they want to keep in their compost. Then when we meet fellow jungus they all want to say hi to you and beba you like a'king'from Africa. No way meeh n al tell a brother to take all shit!