Mzee Moi

What memories do you have of Mzee Moi?

unnamed (10).webp

He ordered Indians to keep off the matatu industry in favor of small investors. Today, the Industry would be featuring a different type of long-range cartels; the kind that cover all aspects of a business upstream and downstream.

One Sunday mid-morning, traveling in a motorcade a few hundred meters from his Woodley residence, he saw a group of us coming from church. He stopped his motorcade, stepped out his car and asked us "igho nini?". We told him "tumetoka kanisa." Then he said "haya turudi." We all walked back together to endure a second mass no one would have dared attend under normal circumstances. Seems like he used to take raundi mwenda when bored.

I pledge my loyalty to the President and Nation of Kenya
My readiness and duty to defend the flag of our Republic.
My devotion to the words of our national anthem.
My life and strength in the task our nation's building.
In the living spirit embodied in our national motto - Harambee!
And perpetuated in the NATIONAL philosophy of peace love and unity.
Hio line ya mwisho ndio nilikua nashout zaidi to cover up kutojua hizo zingine za hapo katikati

Maziwa ya nyayo nilimumunya sana haswa since I was a prefect sometimes I used to be given a whole box and ate with ugali moto tamu sana at home. The green Scania Nyayo buses we used to commute in them. The choral choir songs ON KBC during public holidays! nostalgia.

Not sure this is about Moi. But I heard it when he was still in power.

A presidential motorcade in great haste passed by an elderly woman farming by the roadside huko grassroots.

A few minutes later two policemen, in equal haste, having lost track of a petty thief they were pursuing from a nearby village came running, sweaty and out of breath, and demanded of the woman to tell if a thief had passed that way not long ago.

The woman, thinking they were in pursuit of Moi, offered them some water but assured them that they would never catch him while on foot.

A presidential motorcade in great haste passed by an elderly woman farming by the roadside huko grassroots.

A few minutes later two policemen, in equal haste, having lost track of a petty thief they were pursuing from a nearby village came running, sweaty and out of breath, and demanded of the woman to tell if a thief had passed that way not long ago.

The woman, thinking they were in pursuit of Moi, offered them some water but assured them that they would never catch him while on foot.
nice story

Old internet jokes kama za kabuda.