Yes and I'm sureSi wewe ulitwambia cucu wa miguongo is the Kenya power? What happened?
They can't bring the company down how foolish to kill the geese that lays the golden eggs !
Yes and I'm sureSi wewe ulitwambia cucu wa miguongo is the Kenya power? What happened?
If you try to shake the mugumo tree, only your buttocks will shakeCan somebody please explain to me, like a 6-year old, why the govt/KP cant cancel those expensive power purchase agreements with IPPs?
Contracts get cancelled all the time....
You mean lipa tax, stima ipatikane.Lipa stima tax ipatikane
Wasiafu hawakusikia.Remind us what Nabii promised about increase in power prices
You must use well over 100 units a month. I used to get about 64 units, fell to around 52, went back to 62 with the subsidy and now back down to 49 after the removal of the subsidy. I have noticed that the fluctuation is always as a result of energy prices and a strong dollar. That said, if at all we have an increase in tariff prices, something must be done about the taxation regime, VAT and levies. Otherwise punda atakufa.
What is the rationale behind increasing VAT on electricity before increasing tax on other consumables such as alcohol and cigarettes?We're in bed with IMF. VAT haiwezi guzwa. Infact I predict at some point it will be increased from. 16% to 18%
The tax on the two has been declining as antismoking campaigns succeed. Taxable alcohol sales have also been reducing as drinkers go downmarket or resort to kill me quicker makali.What is the rationale behind increasing VAT on electricity before increasing tax on other consumables such as alcohol and cigarettes?
Are you getting this data from somewhere ama it is anecdotal?The tax on the two has been declining as antismoking campaigns succeed. Taxable alcohol sales have also been reducing as drinkers go downmarket or resort to kill me quicker makali.
Just look around you. EABL itself has said more people drinking spirits. When we were growing up most people (over 80 per cent) drank lager with a few taking spirits. Today 60 per cent of people are drinking makali, most of it contraband or counterfeit which is untaxed.Are you getting this data from somewhere ama it is anecdotal?
This is anecdotal. It doesn't matter if it beer or spirits, there has always been an increment in taxes on alcohol and cigarette products, which has done very little to disrupt consumption. It is always marginal and the only thing that happens is the lower class citizens get pushed to the illicit brews. Here is a graph of consumption from 2010 to 2019.Just look around you. EABL itself has said more people drinking spirits. When we were growing up most people (over 80 per cent) drank lager with a few taking spirits. Today 60 per cent of people are drinking makali, most of it contraband or counterfeit which is untaxed.
Alcohol consumption by type of beverage in Kenya 2016
Published by
Lars Kamer
Aug 1, 2022
Beer accounted for roughly 40 percent of the alcohol consumption in Kenya as of 2016. The beverage was the most consumed among adults aged 15 years and older, followed by spirits, with a share of 21.4 percent.
Woman arrested as police impound more than 200 cartons of counterfeit alcohol
Detectives attached to the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) on Monday night arrested a woman who was in possession of more than 200 cartons of counterfeit alcoholic drinks. The suspectnairobinews.nation.africa
K24 Digital - Your News, Anytime, Anywhere
Stay updated with the latest entertainment news in Nairobi, Kenya. Get breaking stories, crime, celebrity gossip, movie reviews, music releases, and eventswww.k24tv.co.ke
And you think Kenya power finances are in shambles because of lack of enough revenue or mismanagement of revenues?we cannot continue borrowing money to keep Kenya power afloat.I'm okay with these new proposals.
Why do you have to 'poop' on people's parade....?This is anecdotal. It doesn't matter if it beer or spirits, there has always been an increment in taxes on alcohol and cigarette products, which has done very little to disrupt consumption. It is always marginal and the only thing that happens is the lower class citizens get pushed to the illicit brews. Here is a graph of consumption from 2010 to 2019.
View attachment 83791
Differences have been marginal. No wonder it is always a safe bet to tax these products. Nobody will go on the streets to protest that the price of Guinness or White Cap has gone up.
do you know how insider trading works or you want a diagram?
What is the rationale behind increasing VAT on electricity before increasing tax on other consumables such as alcohol and cigarettes?
And you think Kenya power finances are in shambles because of lack of enough revenue or mismanagement of revenues?
Ruto through that silly boy has increased his stake at kplc...do you know how insider trading works or you want a diagram?
Let's see who's more knowledgeable.You need the diagram more than me. You clearly don't know what insider trading is.
Lakini si ni facts mkuu?Why do you have to 'poop' on people's parade....?
Lakini kumbuka data can be used to explain anything depending on whose side one is.